Urban Pathways

Supporting Urban Low Carbon Plans for Urban Basic Services in the Context of the New Urban Agenda

  • Project no.251208
  • Duration 10/2017 - 10/2021

The Urban Pathways project will help delivering on the Paris Agreement and the Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs) in the context of the New Urban Agenda and the Sustainable Development Goals. It will establish a facility to support national and local governments to develop action plans and concrete implementation measures to boost low-carbon urban development. The project will develop national action plan and local implementation concepts in key emerging economies with a high mitigation potential (India, Brazil, Kenya, Viet Nam). The plans will include an assessment of the political, technological, socio-economic and financial viability of the measures. The local implementation concepts will be developed into bankable projects, focusing on the access to urban basic services to create a direct link between climate change mitigation and SDGs, mainly in the area of energy, mobility and waste management. This process will then be replicated regionally with policy development and implementation support and advice on stakeholder engagement and financing mechanisms.

The four main activities of the project are:

  • Inform:
    Factsheets on mitigation & sustainable development potential; Guidelines on implementation of low-carbon development solutions; Urban implementation action tracker to showcase good practice; Coordination with other implementation oriented programmes
  • Inspire:
    Knowledge sharing and co-creation of solutions with city officials, young professionals, urban development practitioners and NGOs as part of the "Urban Change Maker" capacity building and e-learning programme
  • Initiate:
    Set up city twinning partnerships to facilitate city-to-city exchange; Policy advice & implementation guidelines for up to 20 cities in Asia, Africa and Latin America
  • Implement:
    Feasibility studies, implementation and finance plans developed for 4 pilot countries; Analysis of the political and institutional framework and advice on policy process.

Further project information

Links

Urban Pathways

Unterstützung von Niedrigemissionsplänen für städtische Grundversorgung im Kontext der New Urban Agenda

  • Projekt-Nr.251208
  • Laufzeit 10/2017 - 10/2021

Das Projekt Global Urban Pathways unterstützt die Umsetzung des Pariser Klimaabkommens und der national festgelegten Beiträge (Nationally determined contributions, NDCs) im Rahmen der New Urban Agenda und der Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Es wird eine sogenannte Fazilität aufgebaut, um nationale und lokale Regierungen bei der Entwicklung von konkreten Aktionen und Maßnahmen zur Förderung einer emissionsarmen Stadtentwicklung zu unterstützen. In Schlüsselschwellenländern mit hohem Potenzial zur Emmissionsverringerung (Indien, Brasilien, Kenia, Vietnam) wird das Projekt nationale Pläne entwickeln und die lokale Umsetzung unterstützen. Es hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt politische, technische, sozio-ökonomische und finanzielle Machbarkeit zu analysieren und zu konkreten lokalen Projekten weiterzuentwickeln. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf einem gleichberechtigten und universellen Zugang zur kommunalen Grundversorgung, besonders im Bereich Energie, Mobilität und Ressourcenmanagement. Dieser Prozess wird dann auf regionaler Ebene über Politikentwicklung, Umsetzungsunterstützung, Akteursberatung sowie über Finanzierungsmechanismen repliziert werden.

Die vier Hauptaktivitäten des Projekts sind:

  • Informieren:
    Maßnahmenanalyse über das Potenzial der nachhaltigen Entwicklung; ein Leitfaden zur Umsetzung CO2-armer Entwicklungsstrategien; Bereitstellung eines "Urban implementation action tracker", eines nachvollziehbaren und transparenten Systems um erfolgreiche Konzepte darzustellen; Koordination mit anderen umsetzungsorientierten Programmen
  • Inspirieren:
    Wissensaustausch und Ko-Kreation von Lösungen mit Vertretern der Stadt, Stadtentwicklern, sowie junge Experten, als Teil des "Urban Change Maker" Programmes, sowie Capacity Building und die Bereitstellung einer E-Learning-Plattform
  • Initiieren:
    Gründung von Städtepartnerschaften, um den Austausch von Stadt zu Stadt zu erleichtern und einen direkten Erfahrungsaustausch zu gewährleisten; Politikberatung und Umsetzungsrichtlinien für bis zu 20 Städte in Asien, Afrika und Lateinamerika
  • Umsetzen:
    Machbarkeitsstudien, Umsetzungs- und Finanzierungspläne für vier Pilotländer; Analyse der politischen und institutionellen Rahmenbedingungen, sowie Beratung zum politischen Prozess.

Weitere Projektinformationen

Links