BusiSource

Waste from Companies as a Secondary Source

  • Project no.351562
  • Duration 01/2018 - 12/2018

Waste of Electrical and Electronic Equipment (WEEE) and obsolete Electrical and Electronic Equipment (EEE) from businesses is an interesting secondary source for metals and highly interesting for a circular economy. The collection target of WEEE is set at 45 per cent of the amount of products put on the market in 2016 and will rise to 65 per cent in 2019. The last few years several new collection schemes and methods for business waste were tested and promising results showed it would support the EU-recycling targets.

The BusiSource project objective is to spread information of these new schemes and methods in order to collect more WEEE and EEE for recycling, remanufacturing and repair (including heating, ventilating, and air conditioning-equipment (HVAC) from buildings). By learning better ways to remove WEEE, business can save money or have an income.

The scope of the project BusiSource is to compile different methods to improve collection WEEE from businesses and spread this information to the target audience. The key deliverables are a website with an overview of these methods for separate EEE/WEEE collection in businesses, workshops for at least 200 companies. The website will also be a platform for businesses to connect with each other to exchange EEE/WEEE, and to benchmark with other businesses. The main impact is to lower the costs of WEEE disposal for businesses, increase the amount of WEEE for recycling and EEE for repair and remanufacturing companies.

The project is funded by the EIT RawMaterials. TU Delft (the Netherlands) is leading this European project. Other European partners are Bay Zoltán (Hungary), Slovenian National Building and Civil Engineering Institute (ZAG) (Slovenia), and Ghent University (Belgium).


Project team

Co-ordination

Staff

Client/sponsor

BusiSource

Abfälle aus Unternehmen als Sekundärrohstoff

  • Projekt-Nr.351562
  • Laufzeit 01/2018 - 12/2018

Defekte Elektro- und Elektronik-Altgeräte (Waste of Electrical and Electronic Equipment, WEEE) und veraltete Elektro- und Elektronikgeräte (Electrical and Electronic Equipment, EEE) von Unternehmen sind eine interessante Sekundärquelle für Metalle und wiederum sehr interessant für eine funktionierende Kreislaufwirtschaft. Die derzeitig durch die Europäische Union angestrebte Recyclingquote für Altgeräte liegt bei 45 Prozent der 2016 in Verkehr gebrachten Produkte und wird bis 2019 auf 65 Prozent steigen.

In den vergangenen Jahren wurden mehrere neue Sammelsysteme und -methoden für Gewerbeabfälle getestet. Die Ergebnisse waren vielversprechend und zeigten, dass sie helfen würden, die EU-Recyclingziele zu erreichen. Ziel des Projekts BusiSource ist es, das Wissen über diese neuen Systeme und Methoden zu verbreiten, um mehr Altgeräte dem Recycling, der Wiederaufbereitung oder Reparatur zuzuführen. Je eher Unternehmen diese besseren Methoden zum Umgang mit Altgeräten einsetzen, desto eher können Unternehmen Geld sparen.

Innerhalb des Projektes BusiSource stellen die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler verschiedene Methoden zur Verbesserung der Sammlung von Elektro- und Elektronik-Altgeräten in Unternehmen zusammen und geben diese Informationen an die Zielgruppe weiter. Auch erstellen sie eine Website mit einem Überblick über die Methoden zur getrennten EEE/WEEE-Sammlung in Unternehmen und führen mehrere Workshops für insgesamt mindestens 200 Unternehmen durch. Die Website wird gleichzeitig auch als eine Plattform für Unternehmen, über die sie miteinander in Kontakt treten und Altgeräte austauschen können.

Gefördert wird das Projekt durch das EIT RawMaterials. Weitere europäische Partner sind die TU Delft (Niederlande; Projektleitung), Bay Zoltán (Ungarn), Slovenian National Building and Civil Engineering Institute (ZAG) (Slowenien) und die Universität Gent (Belgien).


EU Horizon2020
EIT RawMaterials

Projektteam

Projektleitung

Mitarbeiter/-innen

Auftraggeber/Förderer