Decarbonisation Pathways for the Port of Rotterdam Region

Measures to facilitate a profound decarbonisation of the port area

containership
  • News 24.03.2017

On behalf of the Port of Rotterdam Authority, the Wuppertal Institute developed three possible pathways for a decarbonised port of Rotterdam until 2050. The port area is home to about 80 per cent of the Netherlands' petrochemical industry and significant power plant capacities. Consequently, the port of Rotterdam has the potential of being an international leader for the global energy transition, playing an important role when it comes to reducing CO2 emissions in order to deliver on the EU's long-term climate goals.

The three decarbonisation scenarios all built on the increasing use of renewables (wind and solar power) and the adoption of the best available technologies (efficiency). The analysis focuses on power plants, refineries and the chemical industry, which together are responsible for more than 90 per cent of the port area's current CO2 emissions.

The decarbonisation scenarios describe how CO2 emissions could be reduced by 75 to 98 per cent in 2050 (compared to 2015). Depending on the scenario, different mitigation strategies are relied upon, including electrification, closure of carbon cycles or carbon capture and storage (CCS). The study includes recommendations for local companies, the Port Authority as well as policy makers. In addition, the study includes a reference scenario, which makes it clear that a "business as usual" mentality will fall well short of contributing adequately to the EU's long-term climate goals.

The study was conducted by Sascha Samadi, Stefan Lechtenböhmer, Clemens Schneider, Karin Arnold, Manfred Fischedick, Dietmar Schüwer and Andreas Pastowski (all Wuppertal Institute). The project team received external support during the course of the project from Emile Chappin and Rob Stikkelman from the Delft University of Technology.

For further information, please see the Port's press release or the project description. The study is available for free download from the Wuppertal Institute's publication server.

Klimaschutzszenarien für die Hafenregion Rotterdam

Möglichkeiten zur tiefgreifende Dekarbonisierung der Hafenregion

Containerschiff
  • News 24.03.2017

Das Wuppertal Institut entwickelte im Auftrag des Hafenbetriebs Rotterdam drei Klimaschutzszenarien zur Dekarbonisierung der Hafenregion Rotterdam bis 2050. Im größten Hafen Europas sind rund 80 Prozent der petrochemischen Industrie der Niederlande sowie große Stromerzeugungskapazitäten beheimatet. Damit hat der Hafen eine besondere Bedeutung bezüglich der Senkung der niederländischen und europäischen CO2-Emissionen. Die Szenarien zeigen Wege auf, wie die Hafenregion zur Einhaltung der Klimaschutzziele der EU beitragen und eine Vorreiterrolle in der Energiewende einnehmen kann.

Alle drei Klimaschutzszenarien setzen unter anderem auf den Ausbau der erneuerbaren Energien (Wind- und Solarenergie) sowie auf den Einsatz effizienter Technologien. Der Schwerpunkt der Analyse liegt in den Bereichen "Kraftwerke", "Raffinerien" sowie "chemische Industrien", da diese Bereiche zusammen gegenwärtig rund 90 Prozent der CO2-Emissionen des Hafengebiets verursachen. Die drei Szenarien skizzieren, wie mit unterschiedlichen Strategien wie Elektrifizierung, Schließung von Kohlenstoffkreisläufen oder Carbon Capture and Storage (CCS) bis 2050 eine CO2-Reduktion von 75 bis 98 Prozent im Vergleich zu 2015 erreicht werden könnte. Basierend auf den entwickelten Szenarien werden Handlungsempfehlungen für die Unternehmen der Hafenregion, den Hafenbetrieb sowie die niederländische und europäische Politik abgeleitet.

Ein viertes Szenario zeigt zum Vergleich eine "business as usual"-Entwicklung ohne weitgehende Bemühungen zur Dekarbonisierung auf, die den Ansprüchen der Klimaziele der EU nicht genügen würde.

Die Studie wurde von Sascha Samadi, Stefan Lechtenböhmer, Clemens Schneider, Karin Arnold, Manfred Fischedick, Dietmar Schüwer und Andreas Pastowski (alle Wuppertal Institut) erstellt. Externe Unterstützung erhielt das Team im Projektverlauf durch Emile Chappin und Rob Stikkelman von der Technischen Universität Delft.

Weitere Informationen entnehmen Sie bitte der Pressemitteilung des Rotterdamer Hafenbetriebs oder der Projektbeschreibung. Die komplette Studie finden Sie zum freien Download auf dem Publikationsserver des Wuppertal Instituts.