Waste Management in the EU: Towards a Circular Economy

How to turn waste into a resource

Municipal Waste
  • News 25.10.2017

Around 476 kilogrammes per person of municipal waste were generated in the European Union (EU) in 2015, with a significant portion – around one-third of all municipal waste in 2012 – still being disposed of in landfills. To manage waste as a resource, instead of as a problem, the waste industry will have to become a key partner of businesses operating in the circular economy. This means a transition from the "collect and dispose" method of waste management to (1) prevention and (2) maximising both the value and volume of resources within the economy. A new study published by the Scientific Foresight Unit of the European Parliament's Science and Technology Options Assessment (STOA) assesses the role of five waste streams – municipal waste, packaging waste, food waste, bio-waste and critical raw materials – in the transition towards a circular economy in the municipalities and Member States of the EU. It examines the current policy landscape, trends, technologies, employment opportunities and future policy options for the EU. The analysis shows, amongst others, that half of the 28 Member States currently landfill more than 50 per cent of their municipal waste, while six Member States have met the 2030 target of no more than 10 per cent of municipal waste landfilled.

The authors conclude that reliable, consistent and harmonised data is needed to better monitor and compare the state of waste management and progress towards a circular economy across and within EU Member States. Policy makers may provide stronger clarity on definitions as well as support further research toward development of a monitoring system including future modelling assessments taking wider social, environmental and economic indicators into account.

The STOA study "Towards a circular economy – Waste management" was published in September 2017. It was carried out by Oakdene Hollins (UK) and revised by the Circular Economy Research Unit of the Wuppertal Institute at the request of the European Parliament's STOA Panel. It is available for free download.

Abfallwirtschaft in der EU auf dem Weg zur Kreislaufwirtschaft

Wie Abfall zur Ressource wird

Stadtmüll
  • News 25.10.2017

Rund 476 Kilogramm Hausmüll fielen 2015 pro Kopf in der Europäischen Union (EU) an, wovon ein großer Teil – alleine 2012 etwa ein Drittel – noch immer in Mülldeponien entsorgt wird. Um Abfall zur Ressource statt zum Problem zu machen, müsse die Abfallindustrie zu einem entscheidenden Geschäftspartner in der Kreislaufwirtschaft werden. Dazu ist eine Abkehr von der "Sammeln und Entsorgen"-Vorgehensweise notwendig. Abfall sollte allerdings zu allererst vermieden, aber auch Wert und Volumen der Ressourcen innerhalb der Wirtschaft maximiert werden. Eine neue Studie der Scientific Foresight Unit des Science and Technology Options Assessment (STOA) des Europäischen Parlaments untersucht die Rolle von fünf Abfallströmen – Hausmüll, Verpackungsmüll, Lebensmittelabfälle, Biomüll und kritische Rohstoffe – in der Transformation hin zur Kreislaufwirtschaft in Gemeinden und Mitgliedsstaaten der EU. Dabei untersuchen die Autorinnen und Autoren die aktuelle politische Landkarte, Trends, Technologien, Arbeitsmöglichkeiten und künftige Politikoptionen in der EU. Die Analyse zeigt unter anderem, dass die Hälfte der 28 Mitgliedsstaaten mehr als 50 Prozent des Hausmülls auf Deponien entsorgen, während nur sechs Staaten die Ziele für 2030 erfüllen und erreichen, dass nur noch 10 Prozent des Hausmülls auf Deponien entsorgt wird.

Die Autorinnen und Autoren kommen zu dem Schluss, dass verlässliche, einheitliche und abgeglichene Daten notwendig sind, um die Abfallwirtschaft der verschiedenen EU-Staaten besser beobachten und vergleichen und den Fortschritt auf dem Weg zur Kreislaufwirtschaft besser bewerten zu können. Politische Entscheidungsträgerinnen und Entscheidungsträger müssten nun deutlichere Definitionen liefern sowie künftige Forschungsvorhaben zur Entwicklung von Kontrollsystemen, welche auch weitreichendere soziale, ökologische und ökonomische Indikatoren bei ihrer Modellbewertung berücksichtigen, unterstützen.

Die STOA-Studie "Towards a circular economy – Waste management" wurde im September 2017 veröffentlicht. Durchgeführt wurde sie von Oakdene Hollins (Vereinigtes Königreich) und vom Geschäftsfeld Kreislaufwirtschaft des Wuppertal Instituts auf Anfrage der Direktion des STOA-Panels des Europäischen Parlaments überarbeitet. Die Studie steht zum freien Download bereit.