Product Reuse is the Key to Waste Prevention

New EEA-report out now

Shopping
  • News 11.07.2018

Article 11 of the European Union (EU) Waste Framework Directive obliges Member States to take appropriate measures to promote reuse and preparing for reuse such as encouraging the establishment and support of reuse and repair networks. But in how far can waste prevention programmes of the EU-member states fulfil this task?

The new European Environment Agency (EEA) Report "Waste prevention in Europe — policies, status and trends in reuse in 2017" is dedicated to this question. It is the fourth report in a series of annual reviews of waste prevention programmes in Europe as stipulated in the EU Waste Framework Directive. The lead authors Dr. Henning Wilts, head of the Research Unit Circular Economy, Bettina Bahn-Walkowiak, research fellow of the same unit, and Ybele Hoogeveen of the EEA therefore assessed 33 national and regional waste prevention programmes that had been adopted by the end of 2017. The report investigates the existing programmes, looking at their scope and reuse objectives, measures and indicators, as well as the sectors and stakeholders addressed. In practical terms, key product groups – like textiles, electrical and electronic equipment, furniture, vehicles, buildings and building components – are examined in regard to their reuse status and potential.

"Reuse business and trade in products such as clothing, children's toys and furniture is growing due to better marketing channels on the Internet and in the social media. However, reuse is still a niche activity for most products. The increasing complexity of products and shorter innovation cycles, which lead to a rapid loss in value of the products, prevent the potential for reuse from being fully exploited as long as no corresponding incentives are in place", the authors say.

The EEA Report and an additional country factsheets can be downloaded for free from the page below.


Further information

Links

Wiederverwertung als Schlüssel zur Abfallvermeidung

Vierter Bericht der Europäischen Umweltagentur nun online

Einkauf
  • News 11.07.2018

Artikel 11 der European Union (EU) Waste Framework Directive verpflichtet alle Mitgliedstaaten Maßnahmen zur Wiederverwendung von Produkten und zur Förderung eines qualitativ hochwertigen Recyclings zu ergreifen. Aber inwiefern können die Abfallvermeidungsprogramme diese Pflicht erfüllen?

Der neue Bericht der Europäischen Umweltagentur (EUA) "Waste prevention in Europe — policies, status and trends in reuse in 2017" widmet sich genau dieser Frage. Er reiht sich als vierte Veröffentlichung in die Serie der jährlichen Abfallvermeidungsberichte ein. Die Hauptautoren – Dr. Henning Wilts, Leiter des Forschungsbereichs Kreislaufwirtschaft am Wuppertal Institut, Bettina Bahn-Walkowiak, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin des gleichen Forschungsbereichs, und Ybele Hoogeveen vom EUA – untersuchten dazu 33 nationale und regionale Abfallvermeidungsprogramme, die bis Ende 2017 implementiert worden waren. Der Report bezieht hierbei die Reichweite und gesetzten Ziele, Maßnahmen und Indikatoren sowie die adressierten Sektoren und Akteurinnen und Akteure mit ein. Vertieft wurden außerdem Schlüsselprodukte – wie Textilien, elektrische und elektronische Geräte, Möbel, Fahrzeuge, Gebäude und Gebäudeteile – auf die aktuelle Recyclingpraxis und zukünftiges Wiederverwertungspotential untersucht.

"Zwar nimmt das Wiederverwendungsgeschäft und der Handel mit Produkten wie Kleidung, Kinderspielzeug und Möbeln aufgrund besserer Marketingkanäle im Internet und den sozialen Netzwerken zu, insgesamt ist die Wiederverwendung aber immer noch eine Nischenaktivität für die meisten Produkte. Die zunehmende Komplexität der Ware und kürzere Innovationszyklen, die zu einem schnellen Wertverlust führen, verhindern eine Ausschöpfung der möglichen Wiederverwendungspotenziale, solange keine entsprechenden Anreize gesetzt sind", sagen die Autoren.

Der EUA-Report ist, samt der Länder-Factsheets, in englischer Sprache zum Download verfügbar.


Weitere Informationen

Links