Real-World Laboratory Wins "Transformative Science" Research Prize

Award goes to transformative project "District Future – Urban Lab"

Transformative Science Research Prize
  • Press Releases 30.11.2018
KIT future space
The "Zukunftsraum für Nachhaltigkeit und Wissenschaft" (future space for sustainability and science) is the name of the project office in Karlsruhe’s Oststadt district and has now become Karlsruhe’s sustainability hub. Source: Quartier Zukunft/KIT

How can we live sustainably in urban districts? What should our towns and cities look like in the future? How should urban change be organised to be fit for the future? To find out the answers to these questions, a team of researchers from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is working with project partners to test out new ideas in Karlsruhe’s Oststadt district. The real-world laboratory "Quartier Zukunft – Labor Stadt" (District Future – Urban Lab) aims to help improve quality of life and make it more sustainable. With its innovative real-world laboratory concept, the team headed by Dr. Oliver Parodi has won the "Transformative Science" research award and prize money of 25,000 euros. This is now the second time that the Wuppertal Institute and the Zempelin Foundation in the Donors' Association (Stifterverband) have awarded this research prize. The official award presentation will take place on 16 January 2019 as part of the Darmstadt "Tage der Transformation" (Transformation Days) at the Schader Forum.

Climate change, a shortage of resources, demographic change, indebted public finances and social inequalities call for comprehensive, sustainable development – at local and global level. In many respects, towns and cities have a central role to play on the journey towards a transformation affecting the whole of society, aiming to achieve a lifestyle that is fit for the future. But how can urban areas be transformed into sustainable living environments?

In Karlsruhe, they are taking action. With the support of partners including the "Reallabor 131: KIT findet Stadt" real-world laboratory project funded by the Baden-Württemberg Ministry for Science, Research and Art (MWK Baden-Württemberg), the real-world laboratory "Quartier Zukunft – Labor Stadt" (District Future – Urban Lab) is trialling a culture of sustainability. The transdisciplinary research and development project from KIT aims to work with local residents to make a city district an area with a future suitable for the next generation. For this purpose, the Head of Project, Dr. Oliver Parodi, and his multidisciplinary team are investigating the questions of how sustainable urban living can succeed and how European cities can be transformed into sustainable living environments.

The jury was particularly impressed by the innovative concept addressed in the real-world laboratory's approach and by its close involvement at a local level. As a result, the project is this year's recipient of the "Transformative Science" research prize. "The real-world laboratory in the Oststadt district is one of the most extensively developed real-world neighbourhood laboratories in Germany. In Karlsruhe, many innovative formats are setting an example for how fruitful the joint development of knowledge can be for the scientific community and stakeholders on the ground when it comes to future-proof urban development," says Professor Uwe Schneidewind, President of the Wuppertal Institute.

The official award presentation will begin at 2.30 p.m. on 16 January 2019 as part of the "Tage der Transformation" (Transformation Days) at the Schader Forum, Goethestraße 2, Darmstadt. With the "Tage der Transformation" in Darmstadt, the Schader Foundation has established a new format to address themes from transformative research and scientific work.

Real-world laboratory: "District Future – Urban Lab"

The urban lab is an approximately 130-year-old city district in Karlsruhe's Oststadt. The research team works closely with local people, civil society, policymakers, the council and other local stakeholders on the ground. By doing so, it links scientific expertise with local knowledge to create a collaborative experimental space: "Our society will only develop sustainably when all those involved take part in the development process," states Head of Project, Oliver Parodi, with conviction. As part of the research and development project "District Future – Urban Lab", promising technological and social innovations conceived by and with KIT will be put into practice. Parodi adds: "The range of topics extends from the transformation of the urban energy system to everyday climate-friendly behaviour and the slowing down of our way of life."
In 2017, the project was awarded the "Project Sustainability 2017" quality seal by the German Council for Sustainable Development (RNE) and recognised as one of the country’s four “transformational projects”. The quality seal highlights social initiatives that are making a special contribution towards sustainable development.
Use of the prize money

The project team intends to invest 10,000 euros as start-up capital in the society to support the planned "Karlsruhe Transformation Centre for Sustainable Futures and Cultural Change" and thereby strengthen sustainability initiatives launched by civil society. The research team plans to use 7,500 euros to support visiting scientists from abroad who want to visit the District Future or to help refugees who have a connection to transformation research and would like to develop future prospects in this field. The remaining prize money will be set aside for the microfinancing of active partners, such as an initiative supporting neighbourly relations in the Oststadt district, wild urban bees or a platform for sustainable consumption at the local level.

About the "Transformative Science" research prize

The "Transformative Science" research prize is aimed at all forms of research that inspire society, promote social change and thereby engage the civil society. Transdisciplinary research design plays an important role in this process. The award-winners receive 25,000 euros in prize money. This money goes to support the winners in implementing their project ideas in the field of transformative science. In addition to the prize money of 25,000 euros, the winning team receives a sculpture that has been forged from the steel rails of the Wuppertal suspension railway – the Schwebebahn – built in 1898. The research prize, funded by the Zempelin Foundation in the Donors’ Association (Stifterverband), is being awarded by the Wuppertal Institute for the second time this year.
The seven members of the jury are:

  • Prof. Dr. Claudia Hornberg
    from the University of Bielefeld, Faculty of Health Sciences; working group 7 Environment and Health
  • Prof. Dr. Heike Köckler
    from the Hochschule für Gesundheit (University of Applied Sciences), Dean of the Department of Community Health, Professor for social environment and physical health
  • Prof. Dr. Jasmin Mantilla-Contreras
    from the University of Hildesheim, Institute of Biology and Chemistry; working group for Ecology and Environmental Education
  • Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Marquardt
    Chairman of the Board of Directors of Forschungszentrum Jülich Research Centre
  • Dr. Volker Meyer-Guckel
    Deputy Secretary-General and member of the executive board of the Donors' Association for the Promotion of Humanities and Sciences in Germany (Stifterverband), Head of "Programmes and Funding"
  • Prof. Dr. Roland Scholz
    Chief Senior Scientist and visiting professor at the Danube University Krems
  • Dr. Steffi Ober
    Initiator and Head of the "Civil Society Platform 'Forschungswende'"

 

Joint press release

Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie gGmbH
Responsible for content: Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, Präsident
Contact: Christin Hasken, Head of Communications
Tel.: +49 202 2492-187
Fax: +49 202 2492-108
E-mail: christin.hasken@wupperinst.org 

Stifterverband
Contact: Anke Meis, Communication and Marketing
Tel.: +49 201 8401-204
E-mail: anke.meis@stifterverband.de

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
Contact: Monika Landgraf, Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Tel.: +49 721 608-21150
E-mail: monika landgraf@kit.edu

Schader-Stiftung
Contact: Peter Lonitz, Scientific Advisor
Tel.: +49 6151 1759-17
E-mail: lonitz@schader-stiftung.de


Sponsors, winners, and partners


Printable pictures

Future space for sustainability and science
The "Zukunftsraum für Nachhaltigkeit und Wissenschaft" (future space for sustainability and science) is the name of the project office in Karlsruhe's Oststadt district and has now become Karlsruhe's sustainability hub. Source: Quartier Zukunft/KIT

Interactive participation tool
The photograph shows a so-called interactive participation tool from the real-world laboratory with a map of Karlsruhe's Oststadt district to which cards can be added. This allows ideas or problems relating to sustainability to be raised, located, visualised 'live' and put up for discussion. Source: Quartier Zukunft/KIT

Sclupture
In addition to the prize money of 25,000 euros, the winning team receives a sculpture that has been forged from the steel rails of the Wuppertal suspension railway – the Schwebebahn – built in 1898. Source: Wuppertal Institute/S. Michaelis

Reallabor gewinnt Forschungspreis "Transformative Wissenschaft"

Transformatives Projekt "Quartier Zukunft - Labor Stadt" ausgezeichnet

Forschungspreis Transformative Wissenschaft
  • Pressemitteilungen 30.11.2018
KIT-Zukunftsraum
Der "Zukunftsraum für Nachhaltigkeit und Wissenschaft" ist das Projektbüro in der Karlsruher Oststadt und inzwischen die Nachhaltigkeitsadresse in Karlsruhe. Quelle: Quartier Zukunft/KIT

Wie funktioniert nachhaltiges Leben im Quartier? Wie sollten unsere Städte von morgen aussehen? Wie muss ein zukunftsfähiger urbaner Wandel gestaltet werden? Um das herauszufinden, testet ein Forscherteam des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) mit Projektpartnern neue Ideen in der Karlsruher Oststadt. Das Reallabor "Quartier Zukunft – Labor Stadt" soll helfen, die Lebensqualität zu steigern und das Leben nachhaltiger zu gestalten. Das Team unter der Leitung von Dr. Oliver Parodi gewinnt mit ihrem innovativen Reallabor-Konzept den mit 25.000 Euro dotierten Forschungspreis "Transformative Wissenschaft". Bereits zum zweiten Mal vergeben das Wuppertal Institut und die Zempelin-Stiftung im Stifterverband den Forschungspreis. Die offizielle Preisverleihung findet am 16. Januar 2019 im Rahmen der "Darmstädter Tage der Transformation" im Schader-Forum statt.

Klimawandel, Ressourcenknappheit, demografischer Wandel, verschuldete öffentliche Haushalte oder soziale Ungleichheit erfordern eine umfassende, nachhaltige Entwicklung – lokal und global. Auf dem Weg zu einem gesamtgesellschaftlichen Wandel hin zu einer zukunftsfähigen Lebensweise spielen Städte in vielerlei Hinsicht eine zentrale Rolle. Aber wie lassen sie sich in nachhaltige Lebensräume verwandeln?

In Karlsruhe tut sich etwas: Das Reallabor "Quartier Zukunft – Labor Stadt" – unter anderem mit dem durch das baden-württembergische Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst (MWK Baden-Württemberg) geförderten Projekt "Reallabor 131: KIT findet Stadt" – probt eine Kultur der Nachhaltigkeit. Das transdisziplinäre Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekt des KIT möchte ein Stadtquartier mit seinen Bewohnerinnen und Bewohnern als enkeltaugliche Zukunft verwirklichen. Dafür gehen Projektleiter Dr. Oliver Parodi und sein multidisziplinär besetztes Team den Fragen nach, wie nachhaltiges Stadtleben gelingen kann und wie europäische Städte in nachhaltige Lebensräume transformiert werden können.

Das Reallabor überzeugte die Jury besonders mit seiner innovativen konzeptionellen Herangehensweise sowie der lokalen Verankerung und erhält in diesem Jahr den Forschungspreis „Transformative Wissenschaft“.
"Das Reallabor in der Oststadt ist eines der am weitesten entwickelten Quartier-Reallabore in Deutschland. In Karlsruhe wird mit vielen innovativen Formaten vorgelebt, wie fruchtbar gemeinsame Wissensentwicklung von Wissenschaft und Akteuren vor Ort für eine zukunftsfähige Stadtentwicklung sein kann", sagt Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, Präsident des Wuppertal Instituts.

Der Preis wird im Rahmen der "Darmstädter Tage der Transformation" am 16. Januar 2019 ab 14:30 Uhr im Schader-Forum, Goethestraße 2, in Darmstadt offiziell verliehen. Mit den "Darmstädter Tagen der Transformation" etabliert die Schader-Stiftung ein neues Format zu Themen der transformativen Forschung und Wissenschaft.

Reallabor "Quartier Zukunft – Labor Stadt"

Das städtische Labor ist ein über etwa 130 Jahre altes Quartier in der Karlsruher Oststadt. Das Forscherteam arbeitet eng mit der Bürgerschaft, Zivilgesellschaft, Politik, Verwaltung und weiteren lokalen Akteuren vor Ort zusammen. Sie verknüpfen so wissenschaftliches Know-how mit lokalem Wissen und schaffen einen gemeinsamen Experimentierraum: "Unsere Gesellschaft wird sich nur nachhaltig entwickeln, wenn alle Beteiligten die Entwicklung mitgestalten", ist Projektleiter Oliver Parodi überzeugt. Innerhalb des Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekts "Quartier Zukunft – Labor Stadt" sollen in den kommenden Jahren erfolgversprechende, technische und gesellschaftliche Innovationen aus und mit dem KIT umgesetzt werden. Parodi ergänzt: „Die Bandbreite der Themen reicht dabei von der städtischen Energiewende über klimaverträgliches Alltagshandeln bis zur Entschleunigung unserer Lebenswelt.“

Das Projekt wurde bereits im Jahr 2017 vom Rat für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (RNE) mit dem Qualitätssiegel "Projekt Nachhaltigkeit 2017" und als eines von bundesweit vier "Transformationsprojekten" ausgezeichnet. Das Siegel macht Initiativen aus der Gesellschaft sichtbar, die einen besonderen Beitrag für nachhaltige Entwicklung leisten. 

Verwendung des Preisgeldes

Das Projektteam will 10.000 Euro als Startkapital für den Förderverein des geplanten "Karlsruher Transformationszentrum für nachhaltige Zukünfte und Kulturwandel" einsetzen und damit Nachhaltigkeitsinitiativen aus der Zivilgesellschaft stärken. Rund 7.500 Euro will das Forscherteam für Gastwissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler aus dem Ausland einsetzen, die das Quartier Zukunft besuchen wollen oder für Geflüchtete, die einen Bezug zur Transformationsforschung haben und sich eine Zukunftsperspektive in diesem Bereich aufbauen wollen. Das restliche Preisgeld ist für eine Mikrofinanzierung von Praxispartnern geplant, beispielsweise für eine Initiative zur Oststadt-Nachbarschaft, Wildbienen in der Stadt oder eine Plattform für lokal nachhaltigen Konsum.

Über den Forschungspreis "Transformative Wissenschaft"

Der Forschungspreis "Transformative Wissenschaft" zielt auf alle Formen der Forschung ab, die gesellschaftliche Impulse auslöst, gesellschaftlichen Wandel fördert und dabei die Zivilgesellschaft mit einbezieht. Eine bedeutende Rolle spielen dabei transdisziplinäre Forschungsdesigns. Dotiert ist der Preis mit 25.000 Euro. Dieses Geld kommt Preisträgerinnen und Preisträgern für Projektideen im Bereich ihrer transformativen Wissenschaft zugute. Neben dem Preisgeld von 25.000 Euro erhält das Gewinnerteam eine Skulptur, die aus den Stahl-Schienen der im Jahr 1898 erbauten Wuppertaler Schwebebahn geschmiedet wurde. Das Wuppertal Institut vergibt in diesem Jahr zum zweiten Mal den Forschungspreis, der von der Zempelin Stiftung im Stifterverband gefördert wird.

Zur siebenköpfigen Jury gehören:

  • Prof. Dr. Claudia Hornberg
    Universität Bielefeld, Fakultät für Gesundheitswissenschaften; AG 7 Umwelt und Gesundheit
  • Prof. Dr. Heike Köckler
    Hochschule für Gesundheit, Dekanin Department of Community Health, Professorin Sozialraum und Gesundheit
  • Prof. Dr. Jasmin Mantilla-Contreras
    Universität Hildesheim, Institut für Biologie und Chemie; AG Ökologie und Umweltbildung
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Marquardt
    Vorstandsvorsitzender des Forschungszentrums Jülich
  • Dr. Volker Meyer-Guckel
    stellvertretender Generalsekretär und Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung des Stifterverbandes, Leitung des Bereiches "Programm und Förderung"
  • Prof. Dr. Roland Scholz
    Chief Senior Scientist und Gastprofessor Donau-Universität Krems
  • Dr. Steffi Ober
    Initiatorin und Leiterin "Zivilgesellschaftliche Plattform Forschungswende"

 

Gemeinsame Pressemitteilung

Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie gGmbH
VisdP: Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, Präsident
Kontakt: Christin Hasken, Leitung Kommunikation
Tel.: +49 202 2492-187
Fax: +49 202 2492-108
E-Mail: christin.hasken@wupperinst.org 

Stifterverband
Kontakt: Anke Meis, Leiterin Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 201 8401-204
E-Mail: anke.meis@stifterverband.de

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
Kontakt: Monika Landgraf, Leiterin Gesamtkommunikation
Tel.: +49 721 608-21150
E-Mail: monika landgraf@kit.edu

Schader-Stiftung
Kontakt: Peter Lonitz, Wissenschaftlicher Referent
Tel.: +49 6151 1759-17
E-Mail: lonitz@schader-stiftung.de

 


Förderung, Gewinner und Partner


Pressebilder

Zukunftsraum für Nachhaltigkeit und Wissenschaft
Der "Zukunftsraum für Nachhaltigkeit und Wissenschaft" ist das Projektbüro in der Karlsruher Oststadt und inzwischen die Nachhaltigkeitsadresse in Karlsruhe. Quelle: Quartier Zukunft/KIT

Partizipationswerkzeug
Das Bild zeigt ein interaktives sogenanntes Partizipationswerkzeug aus dem Reallabor mit einem Stadtplan der Karlsruher Oststadt, das sich mit Kärtchen bestücken lässt. Auf diese Weise können etwa Nachhaltigkeitsideen oder -probleme erfragt, verortet, live sichtbar gemacht und zur Diskussion gestellt werden. Quelle: Quartier Zukunft/KIT

Forschungspreis-Skulptur
Neben dem Preisgeld von 25.000 Euro erhält das Gewinnerteam eine Skulptur, die aus den Stahl-Schienen der im Jahr 1898 erbauten Wuppertaler Schwebebahn geschmiedet wurde. Quelle: Wuppertal Institut/S. Michaelis