Design of Strategy Processes for Ambitious National Climate Protection

Article published on findings from the Deep Decarbonization Pathways network

Emissions
  • News 09.04.2019

Every country in the world should have a long-term strategy for climate protection, otherwise the Paris pledges will come to nothing. The network "Deep Decarbonization Pathways (DDP)" now proposes a handbook to develop such long-term climate protection strategies in individual countries.

The DDP network publishes a paper in Nature Climate Change showing how the research it has undertaken can help organize cross-society debates about climate change, take decisions to align countries' actions with climate science, and build public support for the policies and measures needed.
The DDP network is a group of research teams formed in 2014 to build and discuss national long-term strategies compatible with ambitious climate objectives. It operates today in almost 40 countries, under the coordination of the Institute for Sustainable Development and International Relations (IDDRI).

The Wuppertal Institute is part of the DDP network and produced the DDP country report for Germany in 2015. Two authors of this country report, Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick, Vice President of the Wuppertal Institute and Dr. Sascha Samadi, Research Fellow in the Research Unit Sectors and Technologies in the Division Future Energy and Industry Systems, are also co-authors of the newly published article. The findings from work carried out within the DDP network, which are presented in the article, can help countries worldwide to develop long-term and ambitious national climate protection pathways that take into account country-specific characteristics. The proposed process for the development of such climate protection paths can also promote social consensus building.

Gestaltung von Strategieprozessen für ambitionierten nationalen Klimaschutz

Fachartikel zu Erkenntnissen aus dem Deep Decarbonization Pathways-Projekt veröffentlicht

Emissionen
  • News 09.04.2019

Jedes Land der Welt benötigt eine langfristige Strategie für Klimaschutz, sonst werden die im Klimaschutzabkommen von Paris formulierten Ziele ins Leere laufen. Das Netzwerk "Deep Decarbonization Pathways (DDP)" schlägt nun in einem Fachartikel ein Vorgehen vor, um solche langfristigen Klimaschutzstrategien in Ländern aufzubauen.

Der Artikel in der Zeitschrift "Nature Climate Change" zeigt, wie der in den vergangenen Jahren im Rahmen des DDP-Projekts durchgeführte Forschungsrahmen dazu beitragen kann, gesellschaftliche Debatten über den Klimawandel zu organisieren, Entscheidungen zu treffen und eine ausreichende öffentliche Unterstützung für die erforderlichen Politikmaßnahmen aufzubauen.
Das DDP-Netzwerk ist eine 2014 gegründete Gruppe von Forschungsteams, die das Ziel verfolgt, langfristige nationale Strategien zu entwickeln und zu diskutieren, die mit ehrgeizigen Klimazielen vereinbar sind. Das Netzwerk ist heute in fast 40 Ländern tätig und wird vom französischen Institut IDDRI koordiniert.

Das Wuppertal Institut ist Teil des DDP-Netzwerks und hat im Jahr 2015 den DDP-Länderbericht für Deutschland erstellt. Mit Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick, Vizepräsident des Wuppertal Instituts, und Dr. Sascha Samadi, Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Forschungsbereich Sektoren und Technologien in der Abteilung Zukünftige Energie- und Industriesysteme, sind zwei Autoren dieses Länderberichts auch Mitautoren des nun vorgelegten Fachartikels. Die im Artikel aufbereiteten Erkenntnisse aus den bisherigen Arbeiten des DDP-Netzwerks können Ländern weltweit dabei helfen, langfristige und ambitionierte nationale Klimaschutzpfade zu entwickeln und dabei die landesspezifischen Besonderheiten berücksichtigen. Der vorgeschlagene Prozess zur Entwicklung solcher Klimaschutzpfade kann zudem die gesellschaftliche Konsensbildung befördern.