New Research Structure and Dual Scientific Leadership for the Wuppertal Institute

A strong team: Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind and Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick to provide joint scientific management for 13 new research units in four divisions

mircophone
  • Press Releases 29.11.2019
Chairman of the Supervisory Board of the Wuppertal Institute and State Secretary in the Ministry of Economic Affairs, Innovation, Digitalisation and Energy of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia, Christoph Dammermann, meeting with Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, Brigitte Mutert-Breidbach and Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick at the Wuppertal Institute on 28 November. Source: Wuppertal Institute

With a new research structure and dual scientific leadership, the Wuppertal Institute is positioning itself to face the challenges of the years ahead. In 2019, the strategic further development of the Wuppertal Institute's organisational structure was successfully implemented and now consists of 13 research units, each with a clearly outlined scope, within four divisions. By expanding its scientific leadership, the institute is now taking a further step towards strengthening its management. From 1 January 2020, Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick, up until now the Vice-President of the Wuppertal Institute, will take on its joint scientific management alongside Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind as co-directors of the institute.

A situation that has already been established practice at the Wuppertal Institute for ten years will soon be official – Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick, who has until now held the position of Vice-President, is set to become a Scientific Managing Director of the institute, on equal standing with Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind. The decision to adopt dual leadership of the workforce of over 230 is also a response to the growing complexity of the institute's work in terms of both content and organisation as well as to the development of complex transformation processes.
As Uwe Schneidewind emphasises, "The fact that the management of the institute, which I have shared on an equal footing with Brigitte Mutert-Breidbach and Manfred Fischedick for almost ten years, has now been formalised is another important boost for the institute's management and positioning."

Manfred Fischedick is looking forward to the new role and "working to address today's great variety of current transformational challenges and contributing towards the translation of profound scientific findings into practical action on a political and industrial level in collaboration with a strong team at the Wuppertal Institute."
Christoph Dammermann, State Secretary in the Ministry of Economic Affairs, Innovation, Digitalisation and Energy of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia (MWIDE) and Chairman of the Supervisory Board of the Wuppertal Institute, explains: "With their outstanding reputation, the two scientists will establish the Wuppertal Institute in a leading position in the national and international research landscape and actively support the federal state of North Rhine-Westphalia in overcoming the challenges of the transformation."

New research structure

Over the course of this year, 13 new research units began their work within the institute’s four divisions. The aim of the new research structure is to take account of the growth of the institute and the associated increase in its management complexity as well as presenting the Wuppertal Institute’s research fields more clearly from an external perspective.

About Manfred Fischedick

Energy and climate researcher Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick studied process engineering at the University of Dortmund between 1985 and 1991. He then earned his doctorate in energy technology at the University of Stuttgart in 1995. Following his move to Wuppertal, Manfred Fischedick became the Director of the "Future Energy and Mobility Structures" research group, a position that he held for many years. In June 2006, he took on the role of Vice-President of the Wuppertal Institute and has been its authorised representative since 2010. In 2008, he was appointed Supernumerary Professor at the University of Wuppertal's Schumpeter School of Business and Economics (Faculty of Management and Economics).
Manfred Fischedick's work focuses in particular on the systems-based analysis of transformation processes in the fields of energy, transport and industry; the derivation of practical CO2 reduction strategies; research into innovation dynamics and the market development of innovative technologies as well as national and international energy and climate policy. Manfred Fischedick is a member of numerous national and international scientific bodies, a coordinating lead author of reports for the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and the author of more than 100 peer-reviewed articles in prestigious journals. He also advises decision makers in the political and industrial spheres at state, national, European and international level on the practical implementation of complex transformation processes.

 

Press release

Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie gGmbH

Responsible for content: Professor Uwe Schneidewind, President

Contact: Christin Hasken, Head of Communications and Public Relations

Tel.: +49 202 2492-187

Fax: +49 202 2492-108
E-mail: christin.hasken@wupperinst.org


Printable pictures

A visit to the Wuppertal Institute
Chairman of the Supervisory Board of the Wuppertal Institute and State Secretary in the Ministry of Economic Affairs, Innovation, Digitalisation and Energy of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia, Christoph Dammermann, meeting with Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, Brigitte Mutert-Breidbach and Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick at the Wuppertal Institute on 28 November. Source: Wuppertal Institute

Dual scientific leadership of the Wuppertal Institute
Christoph Dammermann (centre) met the Wuppertal Institute's Scientific Managing Directors, Uwe Schneidewind (left) and Manfred Fischedick (right), on 28 November 2019. Source: Wuppertal Institute

Christoph Dammermann and Manfred Fischedick

Neue Forschungsstruktur und wissenschaftliche Doppelspitze für das Wuppertal Institut

Starkes Team: Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind und Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick als gemeinsame wissenschaftliche Leitung von 13 neuen Forschungsbereichen in vier Abteilungen

Mikrophon
  • Pressemitteilungen 29.11.2019
Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender des Wuppertal Instituts und Staatssekretär im Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen Christoph Dammermann beim Treffen mit Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, Brigitte Mutert-Breidbach und Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick am 28. November am Wuppertal Institut. Quelle: Wuppertal Institut

Mit neuer Forschungsstruktur und wissenschaftlicher Doppelspitze stellt sich das Wuppertal Institut den Herausforderungen der kommenden Jahre. Die strategische Weiterentwicklung der Organisationsstruktur des Wuppertal Instituts mit 13 inhaltlich klar profilierten Forschungsbereichen innerhalb von vier Abteilungen wurde 2019 erfolgreich umgesetzt. Mit der Erweiterung der wissenschaftlichen Institutsleitung geht das Institut jetzt einen weiteren Schritt zur Stärkung der Führungsebene. Ab 1. Januar 2020 übernimmt Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick, bisheriger Vizepräsident des Wuppertal Instituts, gemeinsam mit Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind die wissenschaftliche Führung des Instituts als gemeinsame Institutsleitung.

Das, was bereits seit zehn Jahren gelebte Praxis am Institut ist, wird nun offiziell: Der bisherige Vizepräsident Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick wird gleichberechtigter wissenschaftlicher Geschäftsführer des Instituts. Die Doppelspitze für die mehr als 230 Mitarbeitenden ist dabei auch eine Antwort auf die gewachsene inhaltliche und organisatorische Komplexität der Institutsarbeit und die Gestaltung komplexer Transformationsprozesse.

Uwe Schneidewind betont: "Dass die seit knapp zehn Jahren gleichberechtigte Führung des Institutes zusammen mit Brigitte Mutert-Breidbach und Manfred Fischedick jetzt auch ihren formalen Ausdruck findet, ist für die Führung und Positionierung des Instituts eine weitere wichtige Stärkung."
Manfred Fischedick freut sich auf die neue Aufgabe "zusammen mit einem starken Team im Wuppertal Institut an den vielfältigen aktuellen Transformationsherausforderungen zu arbeiten und mitzuhelfen, profunde wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse in praktisches Handeln in Politik und Wirtschaft einzubringen."

Christoph Dammermann, Staatssekretär im Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen (MWIDE) sowie Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender des Wuppertal Instituts, erklärt: "Mit ihrem herausragenden Renommee positionieren die beiden Wissenschaftler das Wuppertal Institut in der nationalen und internationalen Forschungslandschaft an führender Stelle und unterstützen das Land Nordrhein-Westfalen tatkräftig dabei, die Herausforderungen der Transformation zu meistern."

Neue Forschungsstruktur

Im Laufe dieses Jahres nahmen 13 neue Forschungsbereiche innerhalb der vier Institutsabteilungen ihre Arbeit auf. Ziel der neuen Forschungsstruktur ist es, sowohl dem Wachstum des Instituts und der damit höheren Führungskomplexität Rechnung zu tragen als auch die Forschungsfelder des Wuppertaler Instituts noch klarer nach außen zu positionieren.

Über Manfred Fischedick

Der Energie- und Klimaforscher Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischdick studierte von 1985 bis 1991 Verfahrenstechnik an der Universität Dortmund. Anschließend promovierte er 1995 im Bereich Energietechnik an der Universität Stuttgart. Nach seinem Wechsel nach Wuppertal leitete er über viele Jahre die Forschungsgruppe "Zukünftige Energie- und Mobilitätsstrukturen". Im Juni 2006 übernahm er die Funktion des Vizepräsidenten des Wuppertal Instituts und hat seit 2010 Prokura. 2008 wurde Manfred Fischedick zum außerplanmäßigen Professor an der Schumpeter School of Business and Economics der Bergischen Universität Wuppertal (Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften) berufen.
Seine Arbeitsschwerpunkte liegen insbesondere in der systemanalytischen Beschäftigung mit Transformationsprozessen in den Bereichen Energie, Verkehr und Industrie, der Ableitung von konkreten CO2-Reduktion-Strategien, der Erforschung von Innovationsdynamiken und Marktentwicklung innovativer Technologien sowie in der nationalen und internationalen Energie- und Klimapolitik. Manfred Fischedick ist Mitglied in vielen nationalen und internationalen wissenschaftlichen Gremien, koordinierender Leitautor von Berichten des Weltklimarates (IPCC) und Autor von mehr als 100 referierten Artikeln in renommierten Zeitschriften. Er ist zudem auf Landes-, Bundes-, europäischer und internationaler Ebene für Entscheidungsträgerinnen und -träger in Politik und Wirtschaft beratend tätig bei der realen Umsetzung von komplexen Transformationsprozessen.

 

Pressemitteilung

Wuppertal Instituts für Klima, Umwelt, Energie gGmbH

VisdP: Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, Präsident

Kontakt: Christin Hasken, Leitung Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 202 2492-187

Fax: +49 202 2492-108

E-Mail: christin.hasken@wupperinst.org


Pressebilder

Zu Gast am Wuppertal Institut
Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender des Wuppertal Instituts und Staatssekretär im Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen Christoph Dammermann beim Treffen mit Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, Brigitte Mutert-Breidbach und Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick am 28. November am Wuppertal Institut. Quelle: Wuppertal Institut

Wissenschaftliche Doppelspitze des Wuppertal Instituts
Christoph Dammermann (Mitte) traf sich mit den wissenschaftlichen Geschäftsführern des Wuppertal Instituts, Uwe Schneidewind (links) und Manfred Fischedick (rechts), am 28. November 2019. Quelle: Wuppertal Institut

Christoph Dammermann und Manfred Fischedick

Forschungsorganisation des Wuppertal Instituts
Die Grafik zeigt die Forschungsorganisation des Wuppertal Instituts. Quelle: Wuppertal Institut