Sustainable Transport Concepts in European Cities

Article analyses the benchmarks of the "European Green Capitals" for sustainable urban transport

cycleway
  • News 03.04.2020

Sustainable urban transport policy and planning are more important today than ever. Therefore, it is useful to analyse what standard (benchmark) European frontrunner cities represent for an environment-friendly and climate-friendly urban passenger transport. This is what Research Fellow Miriam Müller and Co-Head of the Mobility and Transport Policy Research Unit Prof. Dr. Oscar Reutter, both from the Energy, Transport and Climate Policy Division at the Wuppertal Institute analyse in their research paper about the transport concepts of the European Green Capitals.
Since 2010, the European Commission has been awarding the "European Green Capital Award" to European cities, which develop in a particularly sustainable and environmentally friendly way. In the city competition, European cities present their environment-oriented urban development in twelve topic areas. Over the past ten years, a total of eleven European cities have received the European Green Capital Award for their pioneering role in environmentally friendly urban development, including the German cities of Hamburg (2011) and Essen (2017).

In the article "Benchmark: Climate and environmentally friendly urban passenger transport – the concepts of the European Green Capitals 2010-2020", the author team evaluates the strategies and measures of the winning cities based on the city applications. They also take into account past developments and the cities' future goals. The study demonstrates that the cities successfully pursue policy approaches to avoid traffic, to shift car traffic to public transport, cycling and walking and to improve transport efficiency. Examples are: expanded cycling networks, more bus and tram services, 30 km/h speed limits, increased parking fees and the introduction of a city toll. "The cities not only make transport more climate and environmentally friendly, but also their cities more liveable," Miriam Müller reflects upon the study result and adds "the cities provide good examples that other cities can follow."

The scientific article was published in English in March 2020 in "World Transport Policy and Practice" (Volume 26.2) and is part of a publication-based dissertation project of Miriam Müller. The paper is available under the following link.

Klimaschonender Verkehr in europäischen Umwelthauptstädten

Fachartikel zu europäischem Benchmark der "European Green Capitals" für mehr Nachhaltigkeit im Stadtverkehr

Fahrradweg
  • News 03.04.2020

Nachhaltigkeitsorientierte, urbane Verkehrspolitik und -planung sind heute wichtiger denn je. Daher ist es sinnvoll zu analysieren, welchen Maßstab (Benchmark) europäische Vorreiterstädte für einen umwelt- und klimaschonenden Personenverkehr in Städten markieren. Das untersuchen die wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin Miriam Müller und der Co-Leiter Prof. Dr.-Ing. Oscar Reutter, beide aus dem Forschungsbereich Mobilität und Verkehrspolitik in der Abteilung Energie-, Verkehrs- und Klimapolitik am Wuppertal Institut, in ihrem Artikel über die Verkehrskonzepte der europäischen Umwelthauptstädte.
Seit 2010 vergibt die Europäische Kommission den "European Green Capital Award" an europäische Städte, die sich besonders nachhaltig und umweltfreundlich entwickeln. In dem europaweiten Städtewettbewerb stellen die teilnehmenden Städte ihre umweltorientierte Stadtentwicklung in zwölf Themenfeldern dar. In den vergangenen zehn Jahren erhielten elf europäische Städte die Auszeichnung als europäische Umwelthauptstadt, darunter auch die deutschen Großstädte Hamburg (2011) und Essen (2017).

Im Artikel "Benchmark: Climate and environmentally friendly urban passenger transport – the concepts of the European Green Capitals 2010-2020" untersucht das Autorenteam die Verkehrskonzepte der bisherigen elf Sieger-Städte. Dafür wertet es auf Grundlage der Städtebewerbungen die Strategien und Maßnahmen der Städte für mehr Nachhaltigkeit im Stadtverkehr aus. Auch die erreichten Entwicklungen und die Ziele für künftige Verbesserungen werden berücksichtigt. Die Studie zeigt, dass die untersuchten Städte erfolgreiche Strategien verfolgen, um Verkehr zu vermeiden, den Autoverkehr auf den öffentlichen Verkehr, das Fahrrad und das zu Fuß gehen zu verlagern und den Verkehr technisch umweltfreundlicher abzuwickeln. Beispiele dafür sind die Ausweitung des Radwegenetzes, mehr Angebote mit Bus und Bahn, Tempo-30-Limits, höhere Parkgebühren und die Einführung einer City-Maut. "Die Städte machen den Verkehr nicht nur klima- und umweltverträglicher, sondern ihre Stadt auch lebenswerter", resümiert Miriam Müller das Ergebnis der Untersuchung und fügt hinzu: "Die Städte verfolgen gute Ansätze, denen andere Städte folgen können."

Der referierte Fachartikel erschien im März 2020 in englischer Sprache im Journal "World Transport Policy and Practice" (Volume 26.2) und ist Bestandteil eines publikationsbasierten Dissertationsvorhabens von Miriam Müller. Der Artikel ist unter dem nachfolgenden Link abrufbar.