The Expansion of Renewables at Competitive Electricity Prices

Position paper "Shaping industry's future consistently" by IN4climate.NRW

wind parc
  • News 29.07.2020

The energy revolution is a decisive key on the way to a climate-neutral future. The transformation of energy-intensive basic industries in particular requires large amounts of electricity from renewable sources. To promote the development of a climate-neutral industry, the expansion of renewable energies must therefore be promoted – at competitive electricity prices. This is the conclusion reached in the position paper published by the state initiative IN4climate.NRW, "Shaping industry's future consistently". The paper was signed by numerous companies in the energy-intensive industry, including BASF, BP, LANXESS, Shell, thyssenkrupp and Uniper.

"Particularly in times of the Corona pandemic, it is extremely important that the industry remains on course for climate protection and sets itself high targets. However, the framework conditions must be right and the prerequisites must be met for their implementation. This applies in particular to the sufficient availability and affordability of electricity from renewable energies," emphasises Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick, Scientific Managing Director of the Wuppertal Institute und head of the innovation teams at IN4climate.NRW.

Electricity from renewable energies forms the basis for many innovative technologies that help to shape a climate-neutral industry. They replace conventional processes based on the use of fossil fuels. For the IN4climate.NRW partners, three conditions are crucial to ensure that the transformation of the industry succeeds and the climate targets are met:

  • Meeting the high industrial demand for electricity from renewable energies by accelerating the expansion in Germany and importing electricity and electricity-based energy sources.
  • Ensuring security of supply and system stability by expanding grids, storage facilities and sector coupling, making electricity demand more flexible and removing barriers to flexibility.
  • Competitive electricity and energy prices, for example, by maintaining the relief for energy-intensive companies and in the use of their own electricity.

The paper was developed within the working group Political Framework Conditions at IN4climate.NRW. The aim of the position paper is to identify measures necessary to promote the use of greenhouse gas-neutral processes and procedures. IN4climate.NRW supports this as a platform, which as a state initiative brings together partners from industry, science and politics to work together on projects and strategies for an innovative climate-friendly transformation of the industrial sector.
It is supported by the companies Air Liquide, BASF, BP, Currenta, Kabel Premium Pulp & Paper, LANXESS, Lhoist, RHM, Shell, thyssenkrupp Steel, TRIMET and Uniper as well as the research institute Fraunhofer UMSICHT, the Association of German Cement Works, the German Lime Industry Association and the German Steel Federation.

About SCI4climate.NRW

IN4climate is supported by the state-funded scientific competence centre SCI4climate.NRW. Researchers are investigating the development possibilities and organisational options for setting energy-intensive industry in North Rhine-Westphalia on a climate neutral, sustainable footing. SCI4climate.NRW is a research project involving six institutions and coordinated by the Wuppertal Institute. The partners are the Fraunhofer Institute for Environmental, Safety, and Energy Technology (UMSICHT), the German Economic Institute (IW), RWTH Aachen University, the VDEh Institute for Applied Research (BFI) and German cement manufacturers’ association, VDZ gGmbH.

Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien zu wettbewerbsfähigen Strompreisen

IN4climate.NRW veröffentlicht Positionspapier "Industriezukunft konsequent gestalten"

Windpark
  • News 29.07.2020

Die Energiewende ist ein entscheidender Schlüssel auf dem Weg in eine klimaneutrale Zukunft. Insbesondere die Transformation der energieintensiven Grundstoffindustrie erfordert große Mengen an Strom aus regenerativen Quellen. Um die Entwicklung einer klimaneutralen Industrie zu fördern, muss daher der Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien vorangetrieben werden – zu wettbewerbsfähigen Strompreisen. Zu diesem Schluss kommt das von der Landesinitiative IN4climate.NRW veröffentlichte Positionspapier "Industriezukunft konsequent gestalten". Unterzeichner des Papiers sind zahlreiche Unternehmen der energieintensiven Industrie, darunter BASF, BP, LANXESS, Shell, thyssenkrupp und Uniper.

"Gerade in Zeiten der Corona-Pandemie ist es extrem wichtig, dass die Industrie auf Klimaschutzkurs bleibt und sich hohe Ziele setzt. Für deren Umsetzung müssen aber die Rahmenbedingungen stimmen und die Voraussetzungen erfüllt werden. Dies gilt insbesondere für die hinreichende Verfügbarkeit und Bezahlbarkeit von Strom aus erneuerbaren Energien", betont Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick, wissenschaftlicher Geschäftsführer des Wuppertal Instituts und Leiter der Innovationsteams bei IN4climate.NRW.

Strom aus erneuerbaren Energien bildet die Grundlage vieler innovativer Technologien, die der Gestaltung einer klimaneutralen Industrie dienen. Sie ersetzen konventionelle Verfahren, die auf dem Einsatz fossiler Energieträger beruhen. Damit die Transformation der Industrie gelingt und die Klimaziele erreicht werden, sind für die IN4climate.NRW-Partner drei Voraussetzungen ausschlaggebend:

  • Deckung der hohen industriellen Nachfrage nach Strom aus erneuerbaren Energien durch Beschleunigung des Ausbaus in Deutschland und Importe von Strom und strombasierten Energieträgern.
  • Gewährleistung von Versorgungssicherheit und Systemstabilität durch Ausbau von Netzen, Speichern und Sektorenkopplung, Flexibilisierung der Strom-nachfrage und Abbau von Flexibilitätshemmnissen.
  • Wettbewerbsfähige Strom- bzw. Energiepreise zum Beispieldurch den Erhalt der Entlastung für energieintensive Unternehmen und bei der Eigenstromnutzung.

Erarbeitet wurde das Papier innerhalb der Arbeitsgruppe Politische Rahmenbedingungen bei IN4climate.NRW. Ziel ist, mit dem Positionspapier notwendige Maßnahmen aufzuzeigen, um den Einsatz treibhausgasneutraler Prozesse und Verfahren voranzutreiben. Dabei unterstützt IN4climate.NRW als Plattform, die als Landesinitiative Partner aus Industrie, Wissenschaft und Politik zusammenbringt, um gemeinsam konkret an Projekten und Strategien für eine innovative klimagerechte Transformation des Industriesektors zu arbeiten.
Mitgetragen wird es von den Unternehmen Air Liquide, BASF, BP, Currenta, Kabel Premium Pulp & Paper, LANXESS, Lhoist, RHM, Shell, thyssenkrupp Steel, TRIMET und Uniper sowie der Forschungsinstitution Fraunhofer UMSICHT, dem Verein Deutscher Zementwerke, dem Bundesverband der Deutschen Kalkindustrie und der Wirtschaftsvereinigung Stahl.

Über SCI4climate.NRW

IN4climate wird durch das vom Land geförderte wissenschaftliche Kompetenzzentrum SCI4climate.NRW begleitet. Die Forscher untersuchen hier die Entwicklungs- und Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten einer klimaneutralen und zukunftsfähigen Aufstellung der energieintensiven Industrie in Nordrhein-Westfalen. SCI4climate.NRW ist ein Forschungsprojekt von sechs Instituten, das vom Wuppertal Institut koordiniert wird. Weitere Partner sind das Fraunhofer-Institut für Umwelt-, Sicherheits- und Energietechnik UMSICHT, das Institut der Deutschen Wirtschaft (IW), die RWTH Aachen, das VDEh-Betriebsforschungsinstitut GmbH (BFI) und der Verein Deutscher Zementwerke (VDZ gGmbH).