Jana Zscheischler Receives Research Prize "Transformative Science"

Transformative research concept for sustainable land management convinces jury

Prize award
  • Press Releases 18.09.2020
Jana Zscheischler
Dr. Jana Zscheischler, project manager at the Leibniz-Centre for Agricultural Landscape Research (ZALF) e. V., wins the research award "Transformative Science" 2020, endowed with 25,000 Euros. Source: Katharina Richter/ZALF

The 25,000 Euro research prize "Transformative Science" of the Wuppertal Institute and the Zempelin Foundation in the Donors' Association for the Promotion of Humanities and Sciences in Germany (Stifterverband) is awarded for the fourth time this year. Dr. Jana Zscheischler, project manager at the Leibniz-Centre for Agricultural Landscape Research (ZALF) e. V., convinced the jury with her distinctive transdisciplinary and transformative profile and her research concept for sustainable land management. The award ceremony will take place on 6 October 2020 during the "Darmstadt Days of Transformation" at the Schader Forum and will be streamed live.

Transformative science sees itself as a science that uses inter- and transdisciplinary methods to trigger social impulses, provides scientific support for them and involves civil society. This year's research award focused on scientists and research teams who use their scientific work to research climate protection and climate adaptation and include stakeholders in their research.

The "Transformative Science" Research Award 2020 in the amount of 25,000 euros is awarded to Dr. Jana Zscheischler, who convinced the jury with her impressive transdisciplinary and transformative profile, her academic successes and her theoretically sound research, which she implements methodically and practically. She has worked continuously, consistently and in a very critical manner on the borderline between observation/analysis and action in the field of transdisciplinary methodology and has published on this subject. Her work on future potentials in sustainable land management is particularly noteworthy.

Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick, Scientific Managing Director of the Wuppertal Institute, congratulates: "Many sustainability problems, such as climate change and climate protection, depend on how the resource land is used. Therefore, we are pleased that the jury has selected a scientist whose research will further develop the potential for sustainable land use".

The scientist from the Leibniz Centre for Agricultural Landscape Research (ZALF) e. V. is co-head of the BMBF-funded junior research group "BioKum – Cumultative effects of bio-economic strategies for a more sustainable agriculture". They investigate bioeconomic strategies for a more sustainable agriculture, develop solutions and innovations and take into account the complex interrelationships, opportunities and conflicts of bioeconomic transformation processes on the way to more sustainable land use.

Selection criteria and use of the prize money  

The jury put emphasis on the social relevance of the topic, the quality and innovativeness of the research design, as well as the exemplary character due to its critical examination of the challenges of transformative research, especially in the field of agriculture, and the integration and discussion of its actors. The jury agreed that the work of Jana Zscheischler is an outstanding example of a transdisciplinary research project in the context of sustainable agriculture.
Jana Zscheischler: "I am really very pleased about this award. I will probably use the prize money to support a transdisciplinary process for the socially responsible use of digital data in agriculture".

On October 6, 2020, the "Transformative Science" research award will be officially presented at the "Darmstadt Days of Transformation" at 4 p.m. at the Schader Forum, Goethestrasse 2, in Darmstadt. Virtual participation is also possible. With the "Darmstadt Days of Transformation", the Schader Foundation has established a format on topics of transformative research and science.

About the award winner Jana Zscheischler

The scientist studied communication sciences (M.A.) at the Technical University of Berlin and environmental protection (M.Sc.) at the University of Rostock. She completed her doctorate on "Transdisciplinary Research in the Field of Land Use Science" at the Albrecht Daniel Thaer Institute for Agricultural and Horticultural Sciences at the Humboldt University of Berlin with summa cum laude and is currently working on her habilitation on "Innovations for Sustainable Land Management". As spokesperson for the Early Career Scientists in Future Earth, she is also committed to the structural strengthening of transformative sustainability research at the academic level. The scientist has been working at the Leibniz Centre for Agricultural Landscape Research (ZALF) e. V. since 2010 and is co-head of the BMBF-funded junior research group "BioKum".

The seven jury members

  • Prof. Dr. Claudia Hornberg University of Bielefeld, Faculty of Health Sciences; Environment and Health
  • Prof. Dr. Heike Köckler Hochschule für Gesundheit (University of Applied Sciences), Dean of the Department of Community Health, Professor for Social Environment and Health
  • Prof. Dr. Jasmin Mantilla-Contreras University of Hildesheim, Institute of Biology and Chemistry; Ecology and Environmental Education
  • Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Marquardt Chairman of the Board of Directors of Forschungszentrum Jülich Research Centre
  • Dr. Volker Meyer-Guckel Donors' Association for the Promotion of Humanities and Sciences in Germany (Stifterverband), Deputy Secretary-General and member of the executive board, Head of Programmes and Funding
  • Prof. Dr. Roland Scholz Danube University Krems, Chief Senior Scientist and visiting professor in the Department for Knowledge and Communication Management
  • Dr. Steffi Ober Initiator and Head of the Forschungswende civil society platform

About the research prize

The Transformative Science research prize focuses on all forms of research that inspire social impetus and promote social change, thereby engaging civil society. Transdisciplinary research design plays an important role in this process. The research prize is endowed with 25,000 euros. The money goes to support the winners in implementing their project ideas in the field of transformative science. In addition to the prize money, the winning team also receives a sculpture forged from the steel rails of the Wuppertal suspension railway – the Schwebebahn – constructed in 1898.

 

Joint press release

Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie gGmbH
Responsible for content: Professor Manfred Fischedick, Scientific Managing Director
Contact: Christin Hasken, Head of Communications and Public Relations
Tel.: +49 202 2492-187
Fax: +49 202 2492-108
E-mail: christin.hasken@wupperinst.org

Deutsches Stiftungszentrum im Stifterverband
Contact: Anke Meis, Head of Communications
Tel.: +49 201 8401-204
E-mail: anke.meis@stifterverband.de

Leibniz-Zentrum für Agrarlandschaftsforschung (ZALF) e. V.
Contact: Hendrik Schneider, Head of Public Relations
Tel.: +49 33432 82-405
E-mail: public.relations@zalf.de

Schader-Stiftung
Contact: Peter Lonitz, Public Relations
Tel.: +49 6151 1759-17
E-mail: Lonitz@schader-stiftung.de


Printable pictures

Winner
Dr. Jana Zscheischler, project manager at the Leibniz-Centre for Agricultural Landscape Research (ZALF) e. V., wins the research award "Transformative Science" 2020, endowed with 25,000 Euros. Source: Katharina Richter/ZALF

Monofunctional agricultural landscape
The photo shows a monofunctional agricultural landscape characterized by intensive pasture farming with a large water requirement, which is irrigated by machines.Source: Jana Zscheischler/ZALF

Sculpture
In addition to the 25,000-euro prize money, the winner also receives a sculpture forged from the steel rails of the Wuppertal suspension railway – the Schwebebahn – constructed in 1898. Source: Wuppertal Institute/S. Michaelis

Dr. Jana Zscheischler erhält Forschungspreis "Transformative Wissenschaft"

Transformatives Forschungskonzept für nachhaltiges Landmanagement überzeugt Jury

Skulptur Forschungspreis
  • Pressemitteilungen 18.09.2020
Jana Zscheischler
Dr. Jana Zscheischler, Projektleiterin am Leibniz-Zentrum für Agrarlandschaftsforschung (ZALF) e. V., gewinnt den mit 25.000 Euro dotierten Forschungspreis "Transformative Wissenschaft" 2020. Quelle: Katharina Richter/ZALF

Der mit 25.000 Euro dotierte Forschungspreis „Transformative Wissenschaft“ des Wuppertal Instituts und der Zempelin-Stiftung im Stifterverband wird in diesem Jahr zum vierten Mal verliehen. Dr. Jana Zscheischler, Projektleiterin am Leibniz-Zentrum für Agrarlandschaftsforschung (ZALF) e. V., überzeugte die Jury mit ihrem ausgeprägten transdisziplinären und transformativen Profil und ihrem Forschungskonzept für nachhaltiges Landmanagement. Die Preisverleihung findet am 6. Oktober 2020 im Rahmen der "Darmstädter Tage der Transformation" im Schader-Forum statt und wird live gestreamt.

Transformative Wissenschaft versteht sich als Wissenschaft, die mit inter- und transdisziplinären Methoden gesellschaftliche Impulse auslöst, diese wissenschaftlich begleitet und die Zivilgesellschaft mit einbezieht. Der Fokus des diesjährigen Forschungspreises lag auf Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern und Forschungsteams, die mit ihren wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten zum Klimaschutz und zur Klimaanpassung forschen sowie gesellschaftliche Akteure in ihre Forschung integrieren.

Den Forschungspreis "Transformative Wissenschaft" 2020 in Höhe von 25.000 Euro erhält Dr. Jana Zscheischler, die die Jury mit ihrem eindrucksvollen transdisziplinären und transformativen Profil, ihren bisherigen akademischen Erfolgen sowie mit ihrer theoretisch fundierten Forschung überzeugte, die sie methodisch und praxisnah umsetzt. Sie hat kontinuierlich, konsequent und in sehr kritischer Form, an der Grenze zwischen Betrachtung/Analyse und Handeln im Bereich der transdisziplinären Methodik gearbeitet und hierzu publiziert. Besonders hervorzuheben ist ihre Arbeit zu zukünftigen Potenzialen im nachhaltigen Landmanagement.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick, wissenschaftlicher Geschäftsführer des Wuppertal Instituts, gratuliert: "Viele Nachhaltigkeitsprobleme, wie der Klimawandel und der Klimaschutz, hängen davon ab, wie die Ressource Land genutzt wird. Daher freuen wir uns, dass die Jury eine Wissenschaftlerin ausgewählt hat, die mit ihrer Forschung das Potenzial für die nachhaltige Landnutzung weiter ausbaut."

Die Wissenschaftlerin vom Leibniz-Zentrum für Agrarlandschaftsforschung (ZALF) e. V. ist Co-Leiterin der BMBF-finanzierten Nachwuchsforschergruppe "BioKum – Kumulative Wirkungen bioökonomischer Strategien für eine nachhaltigere Landwirtschaft". Die Nachwuchsgruppe untersucht bioökonomische Strategien für eine nachhaltigere Landwirtschaft. Sie entwickeln dafür Lösungen und Innovationen und berücksichtigen die komplexen Zusammenhänge, Chancen und Konflikte bioökonomischer Transformationsprozesse auf dem Weg hin zu einer nachhaltigeren Landnutzung.

Auswahlkriterien und Verwendung des Preisgeldes

Die Jury legte großen Wert auf die gesellschaftliche Relevanz des Themas, auf die Qualität und Innovativität des Forschungsdesigns sowie den Vorbildcharakter aufgrund ihrer kritischen Auseinandersetzung mit den Herausforderungen der transformativen Forschung insbesondere im Bereich der Landwirtschaft und der Einbindung und Auseinandersetzung mit ihren Akteuren. Die Jury war sich einig, dass die Arbeit von Jana Zscheischler ein herausragendes Beispiel für ein transdisziplinäres Forschungsprojekt im Kontext der nachhaltigen Landwirtschaft ist.

Jana Zscheischler: "Über diese Auszeichnung freue ich mich wirklich außerordentlich. Das Preisgeld möchte ich voraussichtlich dafür nutzen, um einen transdisziplinären Prozess zum sozial-verantwortlichen Umgang mit digitalen Daten in der Landwirtschaft zu unterstützen."

Am 6. Oktober 2020 wird der Forschungspreis "Transformative Wissenschaft" im Rahmen der "Darmstädter Tage der Transformation" um 16:00 Uhr im Schader-Forum, Goethestraße 2, in Darmstadt offiziell verliehen. Die Teilnahme ist auch virtuell möglich. Mit den "Darmstädter Tagen der Transformation" hat die Schader-Stiftung ein Format zu Themen der transformativen Forschung und Wissenschaft etabliert.

Über die Preisträgerin Jana Zscheischler

Die Wissenschaftlerin studierte Kommunikationswissenschaften (M.A.) an der Technischen Universität Berlin und Umweltschutz (M.Sc.) an der Universität Rostock. Sie hat ihre Promotion zum Thema „Transdisciplinary Research in the Field of Land Use Science“ am Albrecht Daniel Thaer-Institut für Agrar- und Gartenbauwissenschaften der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin mit summa cum laude abgeschlossen und habilitiert aktuell zum Thema "Innovations for Sustainable Land Management". Als Sprecherin der Early Career Scientists in Future Earth setzt sie sich zudem auf akademischer Ebene für eine strukturelle Stärkung der transformativen Nachhaltigkeitsforschung ein. Die Wissenschaftlerin arbeitet seit 2010 am Leibniz-Zentrum für Agrarlandschaftsforschung (ZALF) e. V. und ist dort Co-Leiterin der BMBF-finanzierten Nachwuchsforschergruppe "BioKum".

Die siebenköpfige Jury

  • Prof. Dr. Claudia Hornberg Universität Bielefeld, Professorin Fakultät für Gesundheitswissenschaften; Umwelt und Gesundheit
  • Prof. Dr. Heike Köckler Hochschule für Gesundheit, Dekanin Department of Community Health, Professorin Sozialraum und Gesundheit
  • Prof. Dr. Jasmin Mantilla-Contreras Universität Hildesheim, Professorin am Institut für Biologie und Chemie; AG Ökologie und Umweltbildung
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Marquardt Vorstandsvorsitzender des Forschungszentrums Jülich
  • Dr. Volker Meyer-Guckel Stifterverband, stellvertretender Generalsekretär und Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung, Leiter des Bereichs Programm und Förderung
  • Prof. Dr. Roland Scholz Donau-Universität Krems, Chief Senior Scientist und Gastprofessor
  • Dr. Steffi Ober Initiatorin und Leiterin der zivilgesellschaftlichen Plattform Forschungswende

Über den Forschungspreis

Der Forschungspreis "Transformative Wissenschaft" zielt auf alle Formen der Forschung ab, die gesellschaftliche Impulse auslöst, gesellschaftlichen Wandel fördert und dabei die Zivilgesellschaft mit einbezieht. Eine bedeutende Rolle spielen dabei transdisziplinäre Forschungsdesigns. Dotiert ist der Preis mit 25.000 Euro. Dieses Geld kommt Preisträgerinnen und Preisträgern für Projektideen im Bereich ihrer transformativen Wissenschaft zugute. Neben dem Preisgeld erhält das Gewinnerteam eine Skulptur, die aus den Stahl-Schienen der im Jahr 1898 erbauten Wuppertaler Schwebebahn geschmiedet wurde.

 

Gemeinsame Pressemitteilung

Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie gGmbH
VisdP: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick, wissenschaftlicher Geschäftsführer
Kontakt: Christin Hasken, Leitung Kommunikation
Tel.: +49 202 2492-187
Fax: +49 202 2492-108
E-Mail: christin.hasken@wupperinst.org

Deutsches Stiftungszentrum im Stifterverband
Kontakt: Anke Meis, Leiterin Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 201 8401-204
E-Mail: anke.meis@stifterverband.de

Leibniz-Zentrum für Agrarlandschaftsforschung (ZALF) e. V.
Kontakt: Hendrik Schneider, Leiter Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Tel.: +49 33432 82-405
E-Mail: public.relations@zalf.de

Schader-Stiftung
Kontakt: Peter Lonitz, Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Tel.: +49 6151 1759-17
E-Mail: Lonitz@schader-stiftung.de


Pressebilder

Gewinnerin
Dr. Jana Zscheischler, Projektleiterin am Leibniz-Zentrum für Agrarlandschaftsforschung (ZALF) e. V., gewinnt den mit 25.000 Euro dotierten Forschungspreis "Transformative Wissenschaft" 2020. ?Quelle: Katharina Richter/ZALF

Monofunktionale Agrarlandschaft
Das Foto zeigt eine durch intensive Weidewirtschaft geprägte, monofunktionale Agrarlandschaft mit großem Wasserbedarf, die maschinell bewässert wird.? Quelle: Jana Zscheischler/ZALF

Skulptur aus Stahlschienen
Neben dem Preisgeld von 25.000 Euro erhält die Gewinnerin eine Skulptur, die aus den Stahl-Schienen der im Jahr 1898 erbauten Wuppertaler Schwebebahn geschmiedet wurde. ?Quelle: Wuppertal Institut/S. Michaelis