Consumer Preferences of Online Stores with Circular Economy background

The ideal web presence of companies with circular business models takes consumer experiences into account

Publication
  • News 22.09.2020

Online shopping was already popular before the COVID-19 pandemic. During the pandemic, the trend intensified and it seemed safer to have packages delivered to your home and avoid stores. Despite more packaging and logistics, this can also be an advantage for recycling companies - provided they know how to best use their websites.
Business models adhering to Circular Economy principles vary from vacation rental marketplace "Airbnb" to fashion rental giant "Rent-The-Runway" and also include recycling and upcycling aactivities. Some companies in these fields operate exclusively online,. Insights and data on online user behavior in the context of Circular Economy remains scarce. This is why Nicole Stein, Researcher in the Research Unit Material Loops in the Circular Economy Division at the Wuppertal Institute, Stefan Spinler from the WHU Otto Beisheim School of Management, Helga Vanthournout from Wealth of Flows Consulting Ltd and Vered Blass from the Porter School of the Environment and Earth Sciences, Tel Aviv University, investigated the issue. In their article "Consumer Perception of Online Attributes in Circular Economy Activities" they look at what customers experience with circular economy activities and business models and how they are influenced by corporate web shops.
For example, customer certifications and customer ratings are particularly relevant when choosing online stores. People who have no previous knowledge of circular economy would like more information about this business model. "It is recommended to consider the target group’s prior experiences and touchpoints with circular activities – or lack thereof – when planning online activities.", adds  Nicole Stein.
The peer-reviewed article "Consumer Perception of Online Attributes in Circular Economy Activities" was published in the MDPI Open Access journal "Sustainability" (Volume 12, Issue 5) and is available under the link below.

Verbraucherpräferenzen bei Online-Shops

Die ideale Webpräsenz für Unternehmen aus der Kreislaufwirtschaft muss Konsumentenerfahrungen einbeziehen

Publikation
  • News 22.09.2020

Bereits vor der Corona-Pandemie war Online-Shopping beliebt. Während der Pandemie verstärkte sich der Trend zusätzlich und es schien sicherer, sich die Pakete nach Hause liefern zu lassen und Ladengeschäfte zu meiden. Trotz mehr Verpackung und Logistik, kann dies für kreislaufwirtschaftlich arbeitende Unternehmen auch ein Vorteil sein – vorausgesetzt, sie wissen, wie sie ihre Websites am besten nutzen.

Zu kreislaufwirtschaftlichen Business Modellen zählen neben Sharing Economy Giganten wie "Airbnb" oder Verleihmodellen wie "Rent-The-Runway" auch Unternehmensaktivitäten, die sich mit Produkten oder Services im Bereich Recycling und Upcycling bewegen. Einige der Unternehmen agieren nur online, bislang wurde zu solchen kreislaufwirtschaftlichen Modellen und ihren Besonderheiten allerdings wenig geforscht. Daher untersuchten Nicole Stein, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Forschungsbereich Stoffkreisläufe in der Abteilung Kreislaufwirtschaft am Wuppertal Institut, Stefan Spinler von der WHU Otto Beisheim School of Management, Helga Vanthournout von der Wealth of Flows Consulting Ltd und Vered Blass von der Porter School of the Environment and Earth Sciences der Tel Aviv University in ihrem Artikel "Consumer Perception of Online Attributes in Circular Economy Activities", ob Erfahrungen mit kreislaufwirtschaftlichen Aktivitäten wie Verleihen, Teilen, Recyclen und Upcycling die Wahrnehmungen und Präferenzen im Aufbau einer Website beeinflussen. Hierbei wurden neun Attribute von Onlinepräsenzen zur Auswahl gestellt und ein Ranking in Relation zueinander erstellt.
Beispielsweise empfinden Kundinnen und Kunden Zertifizierungen sowie Kundenbewertungen als besonders relevant bei der Auswahl von Online-Shops. Zudem wünschen sich Personen, die keine Vorkenntnisse im Bereich Kreislaufwirtschaft haben, mehr Informationen zu diesem Geschäftsmodell. "Daher empfiehlt sich, neben einer produktbasierten Ausrichtung der Zielgruppe auch Vorerfahrungen – oder das Fehlen eben jener – im Kontext kreislaufwirtschaftlicher Modelle in Onlineaktivitäten einzubeziehen", sagt Nicole Stein.

Der referierte Artikel "Consumer Perception of Online Attributes in Circular Economy Activities" ist im MDPI Open-Access-Journal "Sustainability" (Volume 12, Issue 5) erschienen und im nachfolgenden Link verfügbar.