Quantification of Public Transport's Contribution to Climate Protection in Osnabrück

  • Project no.1236

On behalf of the public services of the city of Osnabrück, the Wuppertal Institute quantified public transport's contribution to climate protection in the city of Osnabrück and worked out a prognosis about the future development trends.
The analysis focused on the substitution of optional public transport ridership for car rides. Optional public transport ridership refers to those passengers, who make use of the public transport system in spite of owning a car. In order to determine the number of car rides saved via public transport usage, the public services of Osnabrück in consultation with the Wuppertal Institute conducted a comprehensive survey. The results of the survey in conjunction with methodological preconsiderations served as the basis for the calculation of CO2 reduction to be attributed to the public transport system in Osnabrück. In total, the CO2 reductions in 2008 with 253 working days and 52 Saturdays as well as Sundays amount to 9,176 tons.
The prognosis about possible future CO2 reductions through public transport shows that its contribution to climate protection pales slightly in comparison to car travel but public transport will remain by far the more climate friendly mode of travel.


Cookie Settings

Cookies help us to constantly improve the website for you. By clicking on the "Allow cookies" button, you agree to the use of cookies. For further information on the use of cookies or to change your settings, please click on More about the use and rejection of cookies.

Quantifizierung des Beitrags des ÖPNV in Osnabrück zum Klimaschutz

  • Projekt-Nr.1236
  • Laufzeit 06/2008 - 06/2009

Das Wuppertal Institut hat den Beitrag des von den Stadtwerken Osnabrück betriebenen ÖPNV zum Klimaschutz quantifiziert und eine Prognose zu seinem zukünftigen Beitrag aufgestellt.
Im Fokus der Untersuchung stand die Substitution von Autofahrten durch wahlfreie Fahrgäste, also diejenigen Fahrgäste, die trotz Pkw-Verfügbarkeit den ÖPNV nutzen. Dafür haben die Stadtwerke Osnabrück mit Beratung des Wuppertal Instituts eine umfangreiche Fahrgastbefragung zur Ermittlung der durch den ÖPNV substituierten Autofahrten durchgeführt. Die Berechnung der CO2-Reduktionen, die auf die Bereitstellung des ÖPNV-Angebots in Osnabrück zurückzuführen sind, erfolgte anhand methodischer Vorüberlegungen und auf Basis der Auswertung der Fahrgastbefragung. Insgesamt ergibt sich für das Jahr 2008 bei 253 Werktagen sowie jeweils 52 Samstagen und Sonntagen eine Einsparung von 9.176 Tonnen CO2.
Die Prognose über den Umfang möglicher zukünftiger CO2-Einsparungen durch den ÖPNV zeigt, dass der Klimaschutzbeitrag des ÖPNV im Vergleich zu dem des Pkw etwas zurückgehen wird, der ÖPNV jedoch auch zukünftig das deutlich klimaschonendere Verkehrsmittel bleibt.


Weitere Projektinformationen

Links


Cookie-Einstellungen

Cookies helfen uns, die Website für Sie ständig zu verbessern. Mit dem Klick auf den Button "Zustimmen" erklären Sie sich mit der Verwendung von Cookies einverstanden. Für weitere Informationen über die Nutzung von Cookies oder für die Änderung Ihrer Einstellungen klicken Sie bitte auf Mehr über die Verwendung und Ablehnung von Cookies.