The Future of Car-Sharing in Germany

  • Project no.3101

About fifteen years after its modest beginning, car-sharing in Germany not only makes up an important share of the transport market, it has also become firmly anchored in the sustainability concepts for the transport sector. At the same time, different signs indicate Germany's car-sharing to have reached a turning point. New techniques, new forms of offers and organisation, and the development of new groups of users might be followed by a change in the way it is used and in the emissions of car-sharing affecting the climate. This holds true both for the dominant sector of private customers as well as for company car-sharing, the line of business which is increasingly being focused on. At the end of 2001, according to the Federal Association of Car-sharing (BCS), company users made up 10 % of all users. In future many of the new private customers may see car-sharing not just as an alternative to owning a car but discover it as an opportunity to cover their desire for additional mobility. On the other hand, increased use of car-sharing by companies and organisations could make them reflect on their mobility.

Therefore, the future perspectives of car-sharing in Germany have to be reconsidered, not only regarding its market opportunities but also its climate effects. Car-sharing is not ecological as such regarding its climate effects, rather only under certain conditions.

The target of the research is an empirically based estimation of the medium-term perspectives (2020) of car-sharing in Germany for both sectors of car-sharing for private customers and for companies, its possible contribution to climate protection and its role in a sustainability strategy for transport.

Leading questions are:

  • What future does car-sharing as a mobility service have on the German transport market? How far and under which conditions would a diffusion be probable?
  • Which traffic-related and ecological effects are connected to car-sharing in the medium term? Will the ecological effects (on balance) more likely be positive (as before) or negative?
  • Will the traffic-related and ecological effects of car-sharing in the future reach an important level according to the medium-term development of the German car fleet and the total output of motorised private transport?
  • How should car-sharing be designed to increase the number of users while also ensuring that users' behaviour (on balance) remains ecological? Which frame conditions could support a process in this direction?

This project, lasting until mid-2005, concentrates on conurbations. It is being undertaken together with partners from different universities. The research team is accompanied by a council of representatives from the ministries of traffic and research, car-sharing suppliers and different associations.



Cookie Settings

Cookies help us to constantly improve the website for you. By clicking on the "Allow cookies" button, you agree to the use of cookies. For further information on the use of cookies or to change your settings, please click on More about the use and rejection of cookies.

Zukunft des Car-Sharing in Deutschland

  • Projekt-Nr.3101
  • Laufzeit 01/2003 - 06/2006

Nach bescheidenen Anfängen Ende der 1980er Jahre ist Car-Sharing in Deutschland nicht nur zu einem ernst zu nehmenden Bestandteil des Verkehrsmarktes geworden, sondern hat sich auch in den Nachhaltigkeitskonzepten für den Verkehrsbereich einen festen Platz erobert. Gleichzeitig deuten verschiedene Anzeichen darauf hin, dass Car-Sharing in Deutschland am Beginn einer Umbruchphase steht. Neue Techniken, Angebots- und Organisationsformen und die Erschließung neuer Nutzergruppen könnten Veränderungen der Nutzungsweisen und in der Folge auch der klimawirksamen Emissionen von Car-Sharing nach sich ziehen. Dies gilt sowohl für das dominierende Car-Sharing für Privatkunden wie auch für das Car-Sharing für Betriebe, auf das neuerdings in der Branche zunehmend gesetzt wird. Ende 2001 lag der Anteil der Nutzungsberechtigten aus dem betrieblichen Bereich nach Angaben des Bundesverbandes Car-Sharing noch bei rund 10 Prozent der Nutzungsberechtigten insgesamt. Zukünftig könnten viele der neuen Privatkunden Car-Sharing nicht mehr wie bisher als Alternative zum eigenen Auto sehen, sondern für sich als Möglichkeit entdecken, Wünsche nach zusätzlicher Automobilität zu befriedigen. Auf der anderen Seite könnte die vermehrte Nutzung von Car-Sharing Unternehmen und Organisationen dazu veranlassen, ihre betriebliche Mobilität stärker zu reflektieren.

Die Frage nach den Zukunftsperspektiven von Car-Sharing in Deutschland stellt sich daher neu, nicht nur im Hinblick auf die Marktchancen, sondern auch in Bezug auf die Klimawirksamkeit. Car-Sharing ist - hier bezogen auf die klimarelevanten Effekte - nicht per se ökologisch, sondern nur unter bestimmten Bedingungen.

Ziel der Untersuchung ist eine empirisch begründete Einschätzung der mittelfristigen Perspektiven (2020) von Car-Sharing in Deutschland in den beiden Bereichen Car-Sharing für Privatkunden und Car-Sharing für Betriebe, der mögliche Beitrag zum Klimaschutz und damit seine Rolle innerhalb einer Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie im Verkehr.

Leitfragen des Vorhabens sind:

  • Welche Zukunft hat die Mobilitätsdienstleistung Car-Sharing auf dem deutschen Verkehrsmarkt? Inwieweit und unter welchen Bedingungen ist eine Diffusion wahrscheinlich?
  • Welche verkehrlichen und ökologischen Effekte sind mittelfristig mit Car-Sharing verbunden? Inwieweit sind die ökologischen Effekte (im Saldo) eher (wie bisher) positiv oder eher negativ?
  • Bewegen sich, bezogen auf die mittelfristige Entwicklung der deutschen Pkw-Flotte und die Gesamtverkehrsleistungen im motorisierten Individualverkehr, die verkehrlichen und ökologischen Effekte von Car-Sharing zukünftig in einer bedeutenden Größenordnung?
  • Wie müsste Car-Sharing gestaltet sein, damit die Nutzerzahlen steigen, das Nutzerverhalten jedoch (im Saldo) ökologisch bleibt? Welche Rahmenbedingungen könnten einen in diese Richtung gehenden Prozess unterstützen?

Das bis Juni 2006 laufende Projekt, das sich auf die städtischen Verdichtungsräume konzentriert, wird zusammen mit Partnern von verschiedenen Universitäten bearbeitet. Dem Forschungsteam ist ein Beirat aus Vertreterinnen und Vertretern von Forschungs- und Verkehrsministerium, Car-Sharing-Anbietern und verschiedener Verbände zur Seite gestellt.