Green Logistics

  • Project no.3132
  • Duration 06/2010 - 03/2015

Green Logistics is one of the more than 30 joint projects that form part "EffizienzCluster LogistikRuhr" (Research Cluster for Efficiency - Logistics Ruhr) financially supported by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research within its "Leading-Edge Cluster" Programme.

In the domain of logistics there are substantial potentials that allow for contributing to the objectives for climate protection set by the German federal government. In order to develop strategies for emission reduction as well as products and services of green logistics, it is of key importance to assess emissions based on a common methodology that allows for identifying the best strategies as well as to evaluate their implementation.

The joint project "Green Logistics" aims at eco-efficient products and services in logistics through developing concise methodologies for inquiry and assessment up to certification. Further to this, development and trial of selected practice-oriented strategies for optimisation play an important role within the project.

An important objective is to establish a dataset for all relevant environmental effects of logistics processes and systems covering buildings used, stationary equipment for intra-logistics and external transport. Target groups are logistics service providers, developer and operator of logistics buildings and supplier of equipment for intra-logistics.

Significant innovations to be achieved by Green Logistics are environmental data from logistics service providers that are based on a common methodology and, therefore, comparable. Further to this eco-efficient solutions along the logistics chain will be demonstrated.

Eleven partners team together to develop the methodological basis for environmentally friendly products, services and logistics systems. Special areas of interest are a CO2-neutral hub for air transport and eco-efficient last-mile-logistics.

The Wuppertal Institute will focus on contributing to the common task of developing the conceptual and methodological basis for the quantitative tools and to the case studies that deal with transportation of goods. Moreover it plays a vital role in the co-ordination of the participation of stakeholders.

Green Logistics

  • Projekt-Nr.3132
  • Laufzeit 06/2010 - 03/2015

Green Logistics ist eines der mehr als 30 Verbundprojekte des "EffizienzClusters LogistikRuhr", im Rahmen des vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderten Spitzencluster-Programms.

Im Bereich der Logistik bestehen beträchtliche Potenziale zur Erreichung der Klimaschutzziele der Bundesregierung beizutragen. Für die Ableitung von Strategien zur Emissionsminderung sowie die Entwicklung von Produkten und Dienstleistungen einer "grünen Logistik" ist es erforderlich, die von den logistischen Systemen und Prozessen verursachten Emissionen standardisiert zu bestimmen, emissionssenkende Strategien zu identifizieren und die Auswirkungen ihrer Umsetzung zu bewerten.

Das Verbundprojekt Green Logistics zielt auf ökoeffiziente Logistik-Produkte und Dienstleistungen und deren Analyse mittels geeigneter Erhebungs- und Bewertungsmethoden bis hin zur Zertifizierung ab. Zudem steht die Entwicklung und Erprobung ausgewählter anwendungsorientierter Optimierungsstrategien im Fokus.

Ziel ist die verursachungsgerechte Bestimmung der ökologischen Auswirkungen von logistischen Prozessen und Systemen für die Bereiche Logistikimmobilie, Intralogistik und Transport. Zielgruppen sind neben den Logistik-Dienstleistern auch Entwickler und Betreiber von Logistik-Immobilien sowie Lieferanten von Einrichtungen der Intralogistik.

Wichtige Innovationen bei Green Logistics sind die Vergleichbarkeit der quantitativ ermittelten ökologischen Wirkungen der logistischen Leistungserstellung und der Nachweis der Existenz ökoeffizienter Lösungen entlang der gesamten Logistikkette.

Elf Projektpartner konzipieren die methodischen Grundlagen für ökoeffiziente Produkte, Dienstleistungen und Logistiksysteme. Sie entwickeln beispielhaft u. a. einen klimaneutralen Luftfrachthub sowie öko-effiziente Last-Mile-Logistik.

Inhaltliche Schwerpunkte des Wuppertal Institut sind - neben der Mitwirkung bei der Konzeption und Methodenentwicklung der quantitativen Werkzeuge - die auf den Transport fokussierten Fallstudien und Optimierungsansätze. Zudem hat das Wuppertal Institut eine koordinierende Rolle bei der Beteiligung von Stakeholdern.