Phasing-Out Coal, Reinventing European Regions

  • Project no. 251269
  • Duration 07/2017 - 12/2017

The Paris Agreement has reinforced the 2°C-limit and set out a new goal of limiting global warming to 1.5°C. Achieving this goal requires to phase out fossil fuel production and consumption as soon as possible, first and foremost the phase-out of coal.

At the same time, a number of European regions are still dependent on coal mining, not only economically but also culturally as their regional cultural identities are closely linked to their mining legacy. Phasing out coal will therefore require deep structural changes. It can only be successful if structural policies prepare pre-emptively and accompany the required changes in order to avoid social and economic hardship in the respective regions.

The project investigates the utilisation of existing funding instruments of the European Union in four regions. The research team will analyse to what extend the usage reinforces or even creates new structural path dependencies, or whether the funding is used to overcome those dependencies and prepare for the imminent structural changes in a constructive way. The four case study regions are Lusatia (Germany), Silesia (Poland), Ptolemais-Amynteo/Kozani (Greece) und Aragon (Spain).

Based on the case studies, the project will develop recommendations for how to apply existing EU instruments more effectively to support the phase-out of coal mining and/or whether additional instruments may be required.

Kohleausstieg: Europäische Regionen erfinden sich neu

  • Projekt-Nr.251269
  • Laufzeit 07/2017 - 12/2017

Das Pariser Klimaschutzabkommen hat noch einmal das 2 °C-Limit bekräftigt und sogar 1,5 °C als neues Ziel ausgerufen. Das ist gleichbedeutend mit dem schnellstmöglichen Ausstieg aus der Förderung und Nutzung fossiler Energieträger, allen voran der Kohle.

Eine Reihe von europäischen Regionen sind in hohem Maße wirtschaftlich abhängig vom Kohlebergbau. Vielfach ist darüber hinaus die regionale kulturelle Identität eng mit dem Bergbau verbunden. Der Ausstieg aus der Kohleförderung ist für diese Regionen mit tiefgreifenden strukturellen Veränderungen verbunden und kann nur gelingen, wenn der Kohleausstieg strukturpolitisch vorbereitet und begleitet wird, um die schlimmsten ökonomischen und sozialen Verwerfungen abzufangen und neue Perspektiven für die betroffenen Regionen zu entwickeln.

Dieses Projekt untersucht für vier betroffene Regionen, wie Mittel aus Förderinstrumenten der Europäischen Union verwendet werden und ob deren Verwendung strukturelle Pfadabhängigkeiten verfestigt oder neu schafft - oder im Gegenteil im Sinne präventiver Strukturpolitik zu überwinden hilft. Die untersuchten Regionen sind die Lausitz (Deutschland), Schlesien (Polen), Ptolemais-Amynteo/Kozani (Griechenland) und Aragon (Spanien).

Basierend auf den Ergebnissen dieser vier Fallstudien werden Empfehlungen entwickelt, wie die bestehenden Förderinstrumente der EU zur Gestaltung des mit dem Kohleausstieg verbundenen Strukturwandels effektiv eingesetzt werden können, bzw. ob es Bedarf für neue, ergänzende Instrumente gibt.