Capacity Building for Decentralised Energy Supply Actors in Japan - Bilateral Networking and Development of a Consulting Concept for the Formation of Municipal Utilities within Elevant System Conditions

  • Project no.251373
  • Duration 09/2017 - 09/2018

Germany has gained extensive experience in terms of decentralising the energy supply in the last few years. Examples are citizen-financed power plants based on renewable energies, the establishment of energy cooperatives and municipal public utilities as well as the realisation of so-called bioenergy villages ("Bioenergiedörfer").

The project "Capacity Building for Decentralised Energy Supply Actors in Japan" aims to use the experiences made and the insights gained in Germany to prepare a consulting kit for Japanese municipalities. Through a structured and intensive exchange of information and the development of communication and advisory structures, Japanese municipalities and regional energy suppliers are to be enabled to make a similarly important contribution to energy transition and thus to climate protection as municipal utilities and municipalities in Germany.

In addition to the Wuppertal Institute, Hennicke Consult and ECOS Consult also belong to the working consortium. On the German side, the German Association of Local Utilities (VKU) as well as the municipal utilities of Osnabrück and Wuppertal are also involved in the project as partners in practice. On the Japanese side, the practice partners are NTT DATA IMC (a Japanese service provider for municipalities) and Miyama Smart Energy as the local electricity supplier of the municipality of Miyama.

The client is the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety. The project is also supported by the Japanese Ministry of Economy (MoEJ).

Capacity Building für dezentrale Akteure der Energieversorgung in Japan - Bilaterale Vernetzung und Entwicklung eines Beratungskonzeptes für den Aufbau von Stadtwerken im Rahmen relevanter Systembedingungen

  • Projekt-Nr.251373
  • Laufzeit 09/2017 - 09/2018

Deutschland hat in den vergangenen Jahren im Bereich der Dezentralisierung des Energieangebots umfangreiche Erfahrungen gesammelt. Beispiele hierfür sind bürgerfinanzierte Anlagen auf Basis erneuerbarer Energien, die Gründung von Energiegenossenschaften und kommunalen Stadtwerken sowie die Realisierung von sogenannten Bioenergiedörfern.

Im Projekt "Capacity Building für dezentrale Akteure der Energieversorgung in Japan" geht es darum, die in Deutschland gemachten Erfahrungen für japanische Kommunen in einem Beratungsbaukasten aufzubereiten. Durch einen strukturierten und intensiven Informationsaustausch sowie den Aufbau von Kommunikations- und Beratungsstrukturen sollen japanische Kommunen und regionale Energieversorger in die Lage zu versetzt werden, einen ähnlich entscheidenden Beitrag zur Energiewende – und damit zum Klimaschutz – zu leisten, wie Stadtwerke und Kommunen in Deutschland.

Neben dem Wuppertal Institut gehören Hennicke Consult und ECOS Consult zum bearbeitenden Konsortium. Als Praxispartner sind zudem auf deutscher Seite der Verband Kommunaler Unternehmen (VKU) sowie die Stadtwerke Osnabrück und Wuppertal in das Projekt eingebunden. Auf japanischer Seite sind das Unternehmen NTT DATA IMC (ein japanischer Dienstleister für Kommunen) und Miyama Smart Energy als lokaler Stromversorger der Kommune Miyama eingebunden.

Auftraggeber ist das Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU). Unterstützt wird das Projekt zudem vom japanischen Wirtschaftsministerium, dem Ministry of Economy, Japan (MoEJ).