CIRCTER

CIRCular TERritories: Accelerating the Transition towards a Circular Economy at Regional and Local Levels in Europe

  • Project no.351311
  • Duration 10/2017 - 04/2019

The current economy operates mainly on a "take-make-dispose" model – a linear model where every product is bound to reach its "end of life". This leads to a growing pressure of production and consumption on the world’s resources and environment. A circular economy model strives towards using and re-using our resources in a more resource efficient through preserving and enhancing natural capital, optimising natural resource yields by circulating products, components and materials, as well as fostering effective waste management and minimising detrimental practices.
The main objective of this service on Circular Economy is to provide evidence on the territorial dimension of the transition towards a Circular Economy and to provide evidence on local and regional patterns and flows of materials, including primary materials and waste. The analysis of the territorial dimension aims to cover changes in resource use, design, production, distribution, consumption, and waste management. In addition, it aims to provide input to European regions and cities on their potential for implementing steps towards a circular economy.
Political relevant questions in context of the project:

  • What does the circular economy mean from a territorial perspective, what territorial factors influence the development towards a circular economy and what territorial characteristics make regions and cities more or less optimal to support the circular economy?
  • How do the approaches used to implement a circular economy, such as industrial symbiosis, clustering, territorial connectivity, energy efficiency and smart logistics, but also the sharing economy, affect different types of European regions and cities (i.e. capital cities, secondary growth poles, small and medium sized towns)?
  • What do material patterns and flows, including primary materials and waste, look like in European regions and cities and how have they changed over the past 10 years in the different types of European regions and cities (i.e. capital cities, secondary growth poles, small and medium sized towns)?
  • What is the potential for implementing the circular economy in European regions and cities and what kind of action/policy is needed in what type of region/city to ensure a smooth transition to circular economy/lifestyle?

The Wuppertal Institute primarily develops and analyses the indicators for assessing the state of a circular economy in European regions and cities as well as processing one of the case studies.

CIRCTER

CIRCular TERritories: Accelerating the Transition towards a Circular Economy at Regional and Local Levels in Europe

  • Projekt-Nr.351311
  • Laufzeit 10/2017 - 04/2019

Die derzeitige Wirtschaft arbeitet hauptsächlich nach einem "Take-Make-Dispose"-Modell – einem linearen Modell, bei dem jedes Produkt auf sein Lebensende begrenzt ist. Dieses Produktion- und Konsummodell führt zu einem wachsenden Druck auf den globalen Ressourcenbedarf und die Umweltsituation. Das Kreislaufwirtschaftsmodell zielt dagegen darauf ab, Ressourcen effizienter zu nutzen und wiederzuverwenden. Das geschieht, indem das Naturkapital erhalten und verbessert wird, die Erträge natürlicher Ressourcen durch zirkulierende Produkte, Komponenten und Materialien optimiert, eine effektive Abfallwirtschaft gefördert sowie schädliche Praktiken minimiert werden.
Das Hauptziel dieses Projekts besteht darin, die territoriale Dimension des Übergangs zu einer Kreislaufwirtschaft zu untersuchen und lokale und regionale Muster über Materialflüsse, einschließlich der von Primärmaterial und Abfällen, zu identifizieren. Diese Analyse zielt darauf ab, Veränderungen in den Bereichen Ressourcennutzung, Gestaltung, Produktion, Verteilung, Verbrauch und Abfallentsorgung abzudecken. Darüber hinaus soll diese Projekt die europäischen Regionen und Städte bei der Umsetzung von Schritten in Richtung einer Kreislaufwirtschaft unterstützen.
Politische relevante Fragen im Rahmen des Projekts:

  • Was bedeutet die Kreislaufwirtschaft aus einer territorialen Perspektive, welche territorialen Faktoren beeinflussen die Entwicklung hin zu einer Kreislaufwirtschaft und welche territorialen Charakteristika befähigen Regionen und Städte für eine mehr oder weniger optimale Unterstützung der Kreislaufwirtschaft?
  • Wie wirken sich die zur Umsetzung einer Kreislaufwirtschaft verwendeten Ansätze wie Industriesymbiose, Clusterbildung, territoriale Vernetzung, Energieeffizienz und intelligente Logistik, aber auch die Sharing Economy, auf verschiedene Typen europäischer Regionen und Städte aus – also in Hauptstädten, sekundäre Wachstumspolen, kleinen und mittelgroßen Städten?
  • Wie sehen Materialmuster und -flüsse, einschließlich die von Primärmaterial und Abfall, in europäischen Regionen und Städten aus und wie haben sie sich in den vergangenen zehn Jahren in den verschiedenen Typen von europäischen Regionen und Städten (Hauptstädte, sekundäre Wachstumspole, kleine und mittelgroße Städte) verändert?
  • Wie hoch ist das Potenzial für die Umsetzung der Kreislaufwirtschaft in europäischen Regionen und Städten? Welche Art von Maßnahmen beziehungsweise Politik ist in welcher Art von Region oder Stadt erforderlich, um einen reibungslosen Übergang zu Kreislaufwirtschaft oder zirkulärem Lebensstil zu gewährleisten?

Das Wuppertal Institut entwickelt und analysiert vor allem die Indikatoren zur Bewertung des Standes einer Circular Economy in den europäischen Regionen und Städten und bearbeitet eine der vorgesehenen Fallbeispiele.