KUBA

Sustainable Plastics Value Chain: Pilot case Plastics in Construction and Buildings Plastics in Construction

  • Project no.351686
  • Duration 12/2018 - 05/2020

While recycling systems already exist for certain products, material recycling for contaminated plastics is often no longer technically or economically viable. Until now, these plastics have often been thermally recycled. Instead, these plastics could also be recycled as raw materials, broken down into petrochemical raw materials by pyrolysis, for example, and then processed into new products.

The aim of the KUBA collaborative project is to develop a concept for the sustainable use of plastics from the construction sector and for the recycling of a considerable proportion of the carbon in construction plastics.

The aim is to collect and evaluate basic data on plastics in existing buildings, material flows from the construction industry, process chains for the collection, recycling logistics, sorting, processing and conversion of mixed construction waste for raw material recycling, which have not yet been collected, as well as fundamental aspects of sustainability and economic feasibility. The resulting improved data basis is intended, for example, to support industrial companies in their decisions regarding their involvement in future research projects.

In KUBA, the establishment of cooperation and exchange between the various actors in the value chain is also important.

The objectives and tasks of the Wuppertal Institute sub-project are the life cycle-wide ecological and economic evaluation of recycling routes for plastics in the construction sector. In addition, the Wuppertal Institute will help to determine key figures on the quantities and qualities of plastics currently stored in Germany in the construction sector.

KUBA

Nachhaltige Kunststoffwertschöpfungskette: Pilotfall Kunststoffe in Bauwirtschaft und Gebäuden Kunststoffe im Baubereich

  • Projekt-Nr.351686
  • Laufzeit 12/2018 - 05/2020

Während für bestimmte Produkte bereits Recyclingsysteme existieren, ist ein werkstoffliches Recycling für verschmutzte Kunststoffe technisch oder ökonomisch häufig nicht mehr sinnvoll. Bisher werden diese Kunststoffe häufig thermisch verwertet. Stattdessen ließen sich diese Kunststoffe auch rohstofflich verwerten und zum Beispiel über Pyrolyse in petrochemische Grundstoffe zerlegen und anschließend zu neuen Produkten verarbeiten.

Das Ziel des Verbundvorhabens KUBA ist die Entwicklung eines Konzeptes für die nachhaltige Nutzung von Kunststoffen aus dem Baubereich und für die Kreislaufführung eines erheblichen Teils des Kohlenstoffs der Baukunststoffe.

Hierzu sollen bisher nicht erfasste, grundlegende Daten zu Kunststoff im Baubestand, Stoffströmen aus der Bauwirtschaft, zu Prozessketten zur Erfassung/Sammlung, Rückführlogistik, Sortierung, Aufbereitung und Konversion zur rohstofflichen Verwertung gemischter Bauabfälle erhoben und bewertet werden, auch bezüglich grundsätzlicher Aspekte zur Nachhaltigkeit und der wirtschaftlichen Umsetzbarkeit. Die dadurch verbesserte Datengrundlage soll zum Beispiel Industrieunternehmen bei Entscheidungen bezüglich des Engagements in künftigen Forschungsprojekten unterstützen.

Von Bedeutung ist in KUBA darüber hinaus die Etablierung einer Zusammenarbeit und eines Austauschs zwischen den verschiedenen Akteuren der Wertschöpfungskette.

Wesentliche Ziele und Aufgaben des Teilvorhabens des Wuppertal Instituts ist die lebenszyklusweite ökologische und ökonomische Bewertung von Verwertungswegen für Kunststoffe im Baubereich. Daneben wird das Wuppertal Institut bei der Ermittlung von Kennzahlen über die aktuell in Deutschland eingelagerten Kunststoffmengen und -qualitäten im Baubereich mitarbeiten.