COMPETE4SECAP

Energy Management Competition for Local Authorities for Uptake and Enhancement of Sustainable Energy and Climate Action Plans

  • Project no.251016
  • Duration 10/2017 - 09/2020

The project COMPETE4SECAP, funded by the European Commission within the Horizon 2020 programme, supports municipalities in implementing and enhancing their energy and climate policy. The consortium consists of ten organisations from various European countries. During the project, the project partners work together with municipalities from eight European Union member countries from Croatia, Cyprus, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia and Spain. Every cooperating municipality had already developed a Sustainable Energy Action Plan (SEAP) before the start of the project.

The project facilitates the implementation and further development of these action plans in three ways. First, energy competitions are carried out in selected buildings belonging to the participating municipalities. In each building an energy team is set up, which implements measures to reduce energy consumption and motivates employees to help save energy. Particularly successful teams will be rewarded. Secondly, municipalities are to be supported in establishing an energy management system. The project's third pillar is improving existing action plans towards Sustainable Energy and Climate Action Plan (SECAP) by including measures to adapt to climate change.

Wuppertal Institute is responsible for evaluating the energy competition and the implementation of municipal energy management systems. To do this, the researchers will conduct several surveys among employees and energy teams of the participating municipalities.

This project has received funding from the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 754162.


EU flag

COMPETE4SECAP

Energiemanagementwettbewerb für Kommunalverwaltungen zur Übernahme und Verbesserung von Aktionsplänen für nachhaltige Energie und Klimaschutz

  • Projekt-Nr.251016
  • Laufzeit 10/2017 - 09/2020

Das im Rahmen des Forschungsförderprogramm Horizont 2020 durch die Europäische Kommission finanzierte Projekt "Compete4SECAP" unterstützt Kommunen bei der Umsetzung und Weiterentwicklung ihrer Energie- und Klimapolitik. Das Projektkonsortium besteht aus zehn Partnern aus verschiedenen europäischen Ländern. Die Projektpartner arbeiten mit Kommunen aus acht europäischen Ländern zusammen: Deutschland, Frankreich, Italien, Kroatien, Lettland, Spanien, Ungarn und Zypern.

Während des Projekts sollen kommunale Klimaschutzpläne auf drei Wegen unterstützt, weiterentwickelt und umgesetzt werden. Erstens führen die Projektpartner in ausgewählten Gebäuden der teilnehmenden Kommunen einen Energiesparwettbewerb durch. Ein Energieteam aus den teilnehmenden Gebäuden ist dafür verantwortlich, Maßnahmen umzusetzen, die den Energieverbrauch reduzieren und die Beschäftigten zu energiesparendem Verhalten motivieren. Die erfolgreichsten Teams werden nach Abschluss des Wettbewerbs ausgezeichnet. Zweitens unterstützt das Projekt die beteiligten Kommunen bei der Einführung eines Energiemanagementsystems. Schließlich entwickeln  die Projektpartner bereits erstellte kommunale Aktionspläne zu einem sogenannten Sustainable Energy and Climate Action Plan (SECAP) weiter und beziehen Maßnahmen zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel mit ein.

Das Wuppertal Institut ist für die Evaluation und Begleitforschung des Energiesparwettbewerbs und der Einführung des Energiemanagementsystems verantwortlich. Dazu führen die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler unter anderem mehrere Befragungen zu den Erfahrungen mit den Beschäftigten der beteiligten Kommunen durch.