EcoRefCon

Ecodesign Preparatory Study Analysing the Technical, Economic, Environmental, Market and Societal Aspects of Refrigerated Containers with a View to Developing Adequate Policy Approaches

  • Project no.251910
  • Duration 03/2019 - 03/2021

The European Commission has launched a product-specific preparatory study analysing the technical, economic, environmental, market and societal aspects of refrigerated containers with a view to developing adequate policy approaches.

Refrigerated containers have integrated refrigeration units that require an external power supply either e.g. on board of a ship (through the connection to the ship's power supply or to an extra power pack such as a diesel generator); or on land (through the connection to the terminal power system or a generator set). Today very few regulations - if any - are addressing the environmental impacts of refrigerated containers. The original preparatory study for the ecodesign working plan 2016-2019 has identified several environmental impacts of refrigerated containers: Energy consumption; Direct emissions to air; Use of F-gases; Durability; Water consumption (for water cooled condensers); Use of critical raw materials; Presence of flame retardants; Presence of plasticisers; or End-of-life aspects. The study shows that for most of the environmental impacts there is a significant improvement potential, energy efficiency being the front runner with an estimated primary annual energy saving of 17 petajoules (PJ) in 2020 and 21 PJ in 2030. Refrigerated containers do not fall under the strict category of "means of transport", as they can be used on ships, but also stationary in ports and as modular and temporary cold storage rooms. As such they are "energy-related products" under ecodesign and energy labelling. For these reasons, the working plan 2016-2019 listed refrigerated containers as one of the new products groups for which a dedicated preparatory study is to be launched.

The product-specific preparatory study is carried out by Viegand Maagøe A/S, Armines and the Wuppertal Institute for the European Commission, DG Energy. Contract manager is VITO NV. The study started in March 2019 and is expected to be finished in the spring of 2021.


Further project information

Links


Project team

Co-ordination

Staff

Client/sponsor

Project partner

EcoRefCon

Ökodesign-Vorstudie zur Analyse der technischen, wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Aspekte von Kühlcontainern in Hinblick auf die Entwicklung adäquater Politikansätze

  • Projekt-Nr.251910
  • Laufzeit 03/2019 - 03/2021

Die Europäische Kommission hat eine produkt-spezifische Ökodesign-Vorstudie in Auftrag gegeben, in der die technischen, wirtschaftlichen, umweltbezogenen, marktbezogenen und gesellschaftlichen Aspekte von Kühlcontainern analysiert werden, um angemessene politische Konzepte zu entwickeln.

Kühlcontainer verfügen über integrierte Kühleinheiten, die eine externe Stromversorgung zum Beispiel an Bord des Schiffes (über die Bordstromversorgung oder einen zusätzlichen Generator) oder an Land (über den Anschluss an das Stromnetz des Terminals oder ebenfalls einen separaten Generator) erfordern. Aktuell regeln nur sehr wenige Vorschriften die Umweltauswirkungen von Kühlcontainern. In der ursprünglichen Vorstudie zum Ökodesign-Arbeitsplan 2016-2019 wurden mehrere Umweltauswirkungen von Kühlcontainern ermittelt: Energieverbrauch; Direkte Emissionen in die Luft; Verwendung von F-Gasen; Haltbarkeit; Wasserverbrauch (für wassergekühlte Kondensatoren); Verwendung kritischer Rohstoffe; Vorhandensein von Flammschutzmitteln; Anwesenheit von Weichmachern; oder Aspekte der Entsorgung. Die Studie zeigt, dass für die meisten Umweltauswirkungen ein erhebliches Verbesserungspotenzial besteht, wobei die Energieeffizienz mit einer geschätzten jährlichen Primärenergieeinsparung von 17 Petajoule (PJ) im Jahr 2020 und 21 PJ im Jahr 2030 der Spitzenreiter ist. Kühlcontainer fallen nicht unter die strikte Kategorie von "Transportmitteln", da sie zum Beispiel auf Schiffen eingesetzt werden können, aber auch stationär in Häfen und als modulare und temporäre Kühlräume. Als solche handelt es sich um "energiebezogene Produkte", die unter die EU-Ökodesign- und Energiekennzeichnungsrichtlinien fallen. Aus diesen Gründen wurden im Ökodesign-Arbeitsplan 2016-2019 Kühlcontainer als eine der neuen Produktgruppen aufgeführt, für die eine spezielle vorbereitende Studie gestartet werden soll.

Die produkt-spezifische Vorstudie führen Viegand Maagøe A/S, Armines und das Wuppertal Institut für die Europäische Kommission (Generaldirektion Energie) durch. Vertragsmanager ist die VITO NV. Die Studie begann im März 2019 und soll im Frühjahr 2021 abgeschlossen sein.


Weitere Projektinformationen

Links


Projektteam

Projektleitung

Mitarbeiter/-innen

Auftraggeber/Förderer

Projektpartner