SOLUTIONSplus

Integrated Urban Eletric Mobility Solutions in the Context of the Paris Agreement, the Sustainable Development Goals and the New Urban Agenda

  • Project no.251889
  • Duration 01/2020 - 12/2023

SOLUTIONSplus is an international flagship project to support the global transition to sustainable mobility. In the context of the EU-funded SOLUTIONSplus project 45 partners and over 100 associated partners work together on transformative change towards sustainable urban mobility through innovative and integrated electric mobility solutions. The team of local authorities, knowledge and finance partners, industry, networks and international organizations will help boosting the availability of public and shared electric vehicles, foster the efficiency of operations and support the integration of different types of e-mobility in urban areas that meet the needs users and local conditions in Europe, Asia, Africa and Latin America. The project will implement e-mobility solutions for the first and last mile (electric two and three-wheelers), electric buses and minibuses, innovative charging solutions and multimodal journey planners in the partner cities.

The project brings together some of the leading networks, industry actors, knowledge and implementation organisations and highly motivated cities to test innovative e-mobility solutions that can help addressing these challenges. The consortium will develop, test and replicate innovative, intermodal e-mobility solutions to address the increased demand for personal and freight transport and the related challenges. The focus for the project will be on shaping energy use, providing access for all, creating business opportunities and developing concepts that can make a direct contribution to a low-carbon development through e-mobility. The emphasis on shared and public transport fleets of the project will also help address, among other things, urban congestion, access to jobs and services, and influence land use. A core element of the implementation concepts to be developed will be an integrated and balanced approach that addresses social, economic and environmental issues.

The project will work on the adaptation and integration of different solutions three key areas of urban mobility:

  • Vehicles: The demonstration actions support the introduction and integration of electric buses, mini-buses, taxis, 2- and 3-wheelers in partner cities. The key focus for the international cooperation aspects will be on the collaboration between European industries and local companies, with a particular focus on last-mile connectivity. but also testing the viability of e-logistics options.
  • Operation: The demonstration actions will also focus on e-mobility operations, including conventional and wireless, innovative charging solutions for different types of vehicles. The key focus for the international cooperation aspects will be on the provision and adaptation of innovative European charging solutions for different use-cases in the partner cities.
  • Integration: The demonstration actions will foster intermodal route planning, eco-routing, ticketing, trip planning, navigation, demand-responsive service and dispatching and will provide a white-label app for the adaptation to the local contexts.

The project encompasses city level demonstrations to test different types of innovative and integrated e-mobility solutions, complemented by a comprehensive toolbox, capacity development and replication activities. Demonstration actions will be launched in Hanoi (Vietnam), Pasig (Philippines), Lalitpur/Kathmandu (Nepal), Nanjing (China), Kigali (Rwanda), Dar es Salaam (Tanzania), Quito (Ecuador), Montevideo (Uruguay), Madrid (Spain) and Hamburg (Germany) and replicated in twenty additional cities.

This project builds on the Urban Electric Mobility Initiative, which was launched by UN-Habitat and the Wuppertal Institute at the UN Climate Summit 2014. It also closely cooperates with a sister project funded by the Global Environment Facility (GEF) and managed by the International Energy Agency (IEA) and UN Environment. Together the two projects create a joint global urban e-mobility programme that will significantly boost the development of innovative solutions, their replication and scale-up. Through the regional training platforms, global working groups and local city support teams, the partners will develop highly effective and innovative approaches to urban e-mobility ensuring that mobility systems and interventions deliver on the Paris Agreement, meet the Sustainable Development Goals and address the New Urban Agenda.

This project has received funding from the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No H2020 LC-GV-05-2019.


EU flag

Project partner

SOLUTIONSplus

Integrierte städtische Elektromobilitätslösungen im Kontext des Pariser Abkommens, der UN-Nachhaltigkeitsziele und der New Urban Agenda

  • Projekt-Nr.251889
  • Laufzeit 01/2020 - 12/2023

SOLUTIONSplus ist ein internationales Flaggschiff-Projekt, welches die Transformation zu einer nachhaltigen Mobilität im internationalen Kontext unterstützen soll. Im Rahmen des von der Europäischen Union (EU) geförderten Projekts arbeiten 45 Partner sowie über 100 assoziierte Partner gemeinsam an diesem transformativen Wandel mithilfe von innovativen und integrierten Elektromobilitätslösungen. Das Projektteam besteht aus lokalen Behörden, Wissens- und Finanzpartnern, Industrie, Netzwerken und internationalen Organisationen. Die Projektbeteiligten verfolgen das Ziel, die Verfügbarkeit öffentlicher und gemeinsam genutzter Elektrofahrzeuge zu erhöhen. Außerdem arbeitet das Projekt an Effizienzverbesserungen und unterstützt die Integration verschiedener Arten von Elektromobilität in städtischen Gebieten, die den Bedürfnissen der Nutzenden und den lokalen Bedingungen in Europa, Asien, Afrika und Lateinamerika entsprechen. Das Projekt implementiert unter anderen Elektromobilitätslösungen für die erste und letzte Meile (elektrische Zwei- und Dreiräder), elektrische Busse und Minibusse, innovative Ladelösungen und multimodale Routenplaner in den Partnerstädten.

Das Projekt bringt einige der führenden Netzwerke, Branchenakteure, Wissens- und Implementierungsorganisationen sowie hochmotivierte Städte zusammen, um innovative Lösungen für die Elektromobilität zu testen, wodurch diese Herausforderungen umsetzbar sind. Das Konsortium entwickelt dafür innovative, intermodale E-Mobilitätslösungen, testet und repliziert diese, um der gestiegenen Nachfrage nach Personen- und Güterverkehr und den damit verbundenen Herausforderungen gerecht zu werden. Der Schwerpunkt des Projekts liegt auf der Steuerung des Energieverbrauchs, des Zugangs zu Mobilitätslösungenfür alle, der Entwicklung von Geschäftsmodellen und Konzepten die einen direkten Beitrag zu einer kohlenstoffarmen Entwicklung leisten können. Die Betonung der geteilten und öffentlichen Verkehrsflotten des Projekts wird auch dazu beitragen, unter Stau zu vermeiden, den Zugang zu Arbeitsplätzen und Dienstleistungen und die Landnutzung positiv zu beeinflussen. Ein Kernelement der zu entwickelnden Umsetzungskonzepte wird ein integrierter Ansatz sein, der sich mit einer Balance zwischen sozialen, wirtschaftlichen und ökologischen Fragen befasst.

Das Projekt befasst sich mit der Anpassung und Integration verschiedener Lösungen in drei Schlüsselbereichen der städtischen Mobilität:

  • Fahrzeuge: Die Demonstrationsprojekte unterstützen die Einführung und Integration von Elektrobussen, Minibussen, Taxis, Zwei- und Dreirädern in Partnerstädten. Das Hauptaugenmerk für die Aspekte der internationalen Zusammenarbeit wird auf der Zusammenarbeit zwischen europäischen Industrien und lokalen Unternehmen liegen, wobei ein besonderer Schwerpunkt auf der Konnektivität auf der letzten Meile liegt. sondern auch die Prüfung der Realisierbarkeit von e-Logistik-Optionen.
  • Betrieb: Die Demonstrationsprojekte konzentrieren sich auch auf den Betrieb von Elektromobilität, einschließlich konventioneller und drahtloser innovativer Ladelösungen für verschiedene Fahrzeugtypen. Der Schwerpunkt der Aspekte der internationalen Zusammenarbeit wird auf der Bereitstellung und Anpassung innovativer europäischer Ladelösungen für verschiedene Anwendungsfälle in den Partnerstädten liegen.
  • Integration: Die Demonstrationsaktionen fördern die intermodale Routenplanung, das Eco-Routing, das Ticketing, die Routenplanung, die Navigation, den bedarfsgerechten Service und den Versand und bieten eine White-Label-App für die Anpassung an die lokalen Kontexte.

Das Projekt umfasst Demonstrationen auf städtischer Ebene, um verschiedene Arten von innovativen und integrierten Elektromobilitätslösungen zu testen, ergänzt durch eine umfassende Toolbox, Kapazitätsentwicklung und Replikationsaktivitäten. Die Demonstrationsmaßnahmen werden in Hanoi (Vietnam), Pasig (Philippinen), Lalitpur/Kathmandu (Nepal), Nanjing (China), Kigali (Ruanda), Dar es Salaam (Tansania), Quito (Ecuador), Montevideo (Uruguay), Madrid (Spanien) und Hamburg (Deutschland) durchgeführt und in zwanzig weiteren Städten repliziert.

Das Projekt baut auf der Urban Electric Mobility Initiative (UEMI) auf, die UN-Habitat und das Wuppertal Institut auf dem UN-Klimagipfel 2014 ins Leben riefen. Die Projektbeteiligten von SOLUTIONSplus arbeiten außerdem eng mit einem Schwesterprojekt zusammen, das von der Globalen Umweltfazilität (GEF) finanziert und von der Internationalen Energieagentur (IEA) und der UN-Umweltorganisation koordiniert wird. Beide Projekte bilden zusammen ein gemeinsames globales Programm für urbane Elektromobilität, welches die Entwicklung innovativer Lösungen, ihre Replikation und ihr Scale-up deutlich vorantreiben soll. Über die regionalen Trainingslattformen, globalen Arbeitsgruppen und lokalen Teams entwickeln die Partner hocheffiziente und innovative Konzepte für die urbane Elektromobilität. Dies soll gewährleisten, dass urbane Mobilitätssysteme ihren Beitrag zur Erreichung der Ziele des Pariser Klimaabkommens, der Nachhaltigkeitsziele (SDGs) und der New Urban Agenda leisten.


Projektpartner