VorAB

Acting Preventively – Avant-Garde Bridging Approaches for Sustainable Regional Development

  • Project no.151697
  • Duration 02/2020 - 01/2025

The project "Acting Preventively – Avant-Garde Bridging Approaches for Sustainable Regional Development" identifies justice, democracy and evaluation problems in urban-rural relations. It researches blockades as well as precautionary action practices and designs structural innovations for fair and resilient land and resource use in the Lübeck region. Together with avant-garde actors, transformative and regional economic practices for the region as well as networks and cooperations beyond the region are developed. VorAB works with inter- and transdisciplinary methods such as constellation analysis or qualitative interviews.

The region is characterised by growth trends in Lübeck and the western and southern districts as well as shrinking trends in the eastern district. The project identifies structural obstacles to intermunicipal cooperation and explores the potential of avant-garde approaches to sustainable regional development. The sub-project-specific goal of the Wuppertal Institute (joint project management) is to make tensions such as those between persistence and transformation or between political control and regional self-organisation visible and thus accessible for political processing. Problems of justice, democracy and valuation are also examined in the research process and modified based on the results.

Expected results of the joint project are

  • status quo analysis of blockades and potentials for regional transformation processes in the fields of energy, agriculture and forestry (structures, actors, interactions, understanding of nature, power constellations) (potential analysis)
  • indicators and innovations for fair and resilient urban-rural conditions in the region (innovation concept)
  • strategic approaches and concrete measures for the further development of the region (regional action plan) and adjacent areas (transfer concept)

VorAB

Vorsorgend handeln – Avantgardistische Brückenansätze für nachhaltige Regionalentwicklung

  • Projekt-Nr.151697
  • Laufzeit 02/2020 - 01/2025

Das Projekt "Vorsorgend handeln – Avantgardistische Brückenansätze für nachhaltige Regionalentwicklung" (VorAB) identifiziert Gerechtigkeits-, Demokratie- und Bewertungsprobleme in den Stadt-Land-Beziehungen. Es erforscht Blockaden sowie vorsorgende Handlungspraktiken und entwirft Strukturinnovationen für faire und resiliente Land- und Ressourcennutzung in der Region Lübeck. Die Projektbeteiligten bauen gemeinsam mit avantgardistischen Akteurinnen und Akteuren transformative und regionalwirtschaftliche Praktiken für die Region sowie Vernetzungen und Kooperationen über die Region hinaus auf. VorAB arbeitet mit inter- und transdisziplinären Methoden, wie der Konstellationsanalyse oder qualitativen Interviews.

Die Region ist von Wachstumsentwicklungen in Lübeck und den westlich und südlich gelegenen Kreisen wie auch Schrumpfungsentwicklungen im östlich gelegenen Landkreis geprägt. Das Projekt VorAB identifiziert daher strukturelle Hindernisse einer interkommunalen Zusammenarbeit und erforscht Potenziale avantgardistischer Ansätze für nachhaltige Regionalentwicklung. Teilvorhabenspezifisches Ziel des Wuppertal Instituts (Verbundleitung) ist es, Spannungsverhältnisse, wie die zwischen Beharrung und Transformation oder zwischen politischer Steuerung und regionaler Selbstorganisation, sichtbar und damit der politischen Bearbeitung zugänglich zu machen. Auch werden Gerechtigkeits-, Demokratie- und Bewertungsproblematiken im Forschungsprozess überprüft und anhand der Ergebnisse modifiziert.

Erwartete Ergebnisse des Verbundprojektes sind:

  • Status-Quo-Analyse zu Blockaden und Potenzialen für regionale Transformationsprozesse in den Handlungsfeldern Energie-, Land-, Waldwirtschaft (Strukturen, Akteure, Interaktionen, Naturverständnisse, Machtkonstellationen) (Potenzialanalyse)
  • Indikatoren und Innovationen für faire und resiliente Stadt-Land-Verhältnisse in der Region (Innovationskonzept)
  • strategische Ansatzpunkte und konkrete Maßnahmen zur Weiterentwicklung der Region (regionaler Aktionsplan) und angrenzender Räume (Transferkonzept).