City Loops

Circular Economy Business Innovation in Cities

  • Project no.352178

The requirements of the "Circular Economy" cause an increasing pressure to act amongst businesses of all sectors. However, companies often lack the markets and business opportunities to implement circular solutions successfully.

The project City Loops concentrates on this exact barrier. City Loops is an innovation project from EIT Climate-KIC, that aims to strengthen and develop high-value local business opportunities for companies in urban agglomerations. The program rests on innovative and thoroughly tested methods to develop strategies to

  • close material flows,
  • intensify value creation,
  • develop viable business models for "circular solutions",
  • identify and create business opportunities (in the region), and
  • develop impactful innovation partnerships.

The objective of the project is to develop a structure for highly effective and replicable innovation networks, which – regardless the economic structure of the region – can continue to develop economically viable "circular solutions". These innovation spaces shall enable business and municipalities to develop and establish these "circular solutions" as well as business opportunities, and level playing fields.
To develop the innovation spaces, the researchers are implementing the City Loops program, initially in the cities of Berlin, Frankfurt, Wuppertal, Edinburgh and Sofia.


EIT Climate-KIC

Cookie Settings

Cookies help us to constantly improve the website for you. By clicking on the "Allow cookies" button, you agree to the use of cookies. For further information on the use of cookies or to change your settings, please click on More about the use and rejection of cookies.

City Loops

Unternehmerische Chancen durch "Circular Economy" in Ballungsräumen

  • Projekt-Nr.352178
  • Laufzeit 01/2020 - 12/2020

Die Anforderungen der "Circular Ecconomy" erzeugen zunehmenden Handlungsdruck bei Unternehmen in allen Sektoren. Diesen fehlen – bei aller Bereitschaft zur Lösungsentwicklung – in der Realität jedoch häufig die Märkte und Geschäftsmöglichkeiten (Business Opportunities), um zirkuläre Lösungen (Circular Solutions) erfolgreich umzusetzen.

Auf dieses Problem konzentriert sich das Projekt "City Loops". Dabei handelt es sich um ein Innovationsprojekt von EIT Climate-KIC, mit dem Ziel, wirtschaftliche Chancen der Kreislaufwirtschaft für Unternehmen in Ballungsräumen zu entwickeln und zu stärken. Das Programm basiert auf innovativen und erprobten Methoden zur Entwicklung von Strategien für die

  • Schließung von Stoffkreisläufen,
  • Intensivierung der Wertschöpfung,
  • Gestaltung innovativer Geschäftsmodelle für "Circular Solutions",
  • Identifizierung und Schaffung von Geschäftsmöglichkeiten (in der Region) und
  • Entwicklung von outputstarken Innovationspartnerschaften.

Ziel des Projektes ist eine Struktur für hochwertige und replizierbare Innovationsnetzwerke auszubilden, in denen kontinuierlich wirtschaftlich tragfähige "Circular Solutions" entwickelt werden – unabhängig von der Struktur des Ballungsraums. Durch diese Innovationsräume sollen Unternehmen in die Lage versetzt werden, selbständig wirtschaftlich attraktive "Circular Solutions" sowie entsprechende Märkte zu generieren.
Für die Entwicklung der Innovationsräume implementieren die Forschenden das Programm von City Loops zunächst in in den Städten Berlin, Frankfurt, Wuppertal, Edinburgh und Sofia.


EIT Climate-KIC