German Chancellor Fellow to Research Recycling

Wuppertal Institute will be a host in the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation's sponsorship programme for the international leaders of tomorrow

construction waste
  • Press Releases 13.09.2018

Vivek Jaisree Mohandas from South India has been awarded one of the prestigious German Chancellor Fellowships offered by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. Starting in November 2018, he will spend just under a year at the Wuppertal Institute to conduct research into the subject of construction and demolition waste recycling.

Each year, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation's German Chancellor Fellowship for Prospective Leaders gives up to 50 highly talented future leaders from the United States, Russia, China, Brazil and India – ten per country – the opportunity to spend a year in Germany. Together with their German hosts, they carry out a project of their own choice. The programme, which is under the patronage of Dr. Angela Merkel, Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany, aims to enable aspiring decision makers, multipliers and pacesetters from various professional fields – including politics, public administration, business, society and culture – to network with other prospective leaders from around the world and to seek new answers to the global questions of our times.

"I'm looking forward to discovering the green city of Wuppertal and the cultural and scientific experiences that lie ahead. I closely want to examine the issues of climate protection and sustainability during my stay and develop realistic strategies for achieving these objectives. Together with the Wuppertal Institute, I'm looking forward to stimulating dialogue between Germany and India," says Vivek Jaisree Mohandas on the subject of the fellowship and future cooperation.
During their stay in Germany, the fellows will carry out independently developed, research-based projects at host institutions. They will be supervised by hosts in Germany, who they have selected themselves and who have the necessary expertise in the individual project topics. At the same time, the fellows will be able to gain an in-depth understanding of Germany’s social, cultural, economic and historical background through joint programme events.

Vivek Jaisree Mohandas has been attending an intensive German language course in Bonn since the start of July. This course, which runs until October 2018, is also part of the fellowship programme. A four-week introductory seminar will then begin in Bonn and Berlin in October, giving the fellows an opportunity to gain their first insights into German society, politics, business and culture as well as establishing contact with multipliers and partners. During this time, the group will also be greeted personally by the German Federal Chancellor, Dr. Angela Merkel.
Mohandas will embark upon his research project at the Wuppertal Institute in November. Dr. Henning Wilts, Director of the Division Circular Economy, is delighted to welcome this talented young man from India: "I think we have an exciting year ahead, and I'm very pleased to be able to work with Vivek Jaisree Mohandas to drive forward German-Indian cooperation in the field of sustainability research and the circular economy."

Vivek Jaisree Mohandas earned his Master’s degree at the Indian Institute of Technology Bombay (IITB) in the Centre for Environmental Science and Engineering. His main areas of activity and involvement are waste recovery and recycling in India. Amongst his other interests, he works for GMS Leadership, the world's largest ship recycling company, which plays a pioneering role in the sustainability-focused Green Ship Recycling Program (GSRP). Here, Mohandas has been carrying out research in the field of engineering, construction waste and resources: knowledge that he will transfer to the Division Circular Economy at the Wuppertal Institute.

Press release

Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie gGmbH

Responsible for content: Professor Uwe Schneidewind, President

Contact: Christin Hasken, Head of Communications and Public Relations

Tel.: +49 202 2492-187

Fax: +49 202 2492-108

E-mail: christin.hasken@wupperinst.org  


Printable pictures

German Chancellor Fellow
Fellow Vivek Jaisree Mohandas will embark upon his research project at the Wuppertal Institute in November 2018. Source: Bavens Studio

Bundeskanzler-Stipendiat forscht zu Kreislaufführung

Wuppertal Institut ist Gastgeber im Förderprogramm für internationale Führungskräfte von morgen der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung

Bauabfälle und Ziegelsteine
  • Pressemitteilungen 13.09.2018

Vivek Jaisree Mohandas aus Süd-Indien erhielt eines der renommierten Bundeskanzler-Stipendien der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung. Ab November 2018 wird er für knapp ein Jahr am Wuppertal Institut zum Thema Kreislaufführung von Bau- und Abbruchabfällen forschen.

Mit dem Bundeskanzler-Stipendium für angehende Führungskräfte der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung erhalten jährlich bis zu 50 hochtalentierte Nachwuchsführungskräfte aus den USA, Russland, China, Brasilien und Indien – jeweils zehn pro Nation – die Möglichkeit, ein Jahr in Deutschland zu verbringen. Zusammen mit deutschen Gastgeberinnen und Gastgebern realisieren sie ein selbstgewähltes Projekt. Das Programm steht unter der Schirmherrschaft von Dr. Angela Merkel, Bundeskanzlerin der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, und zielt darauf ab, dass sich angehende Entscheidungsträgerinnen und -träger, Multiplikatoren und Impulsgebern aus verschiedenen Arbeitsbereichen – etwa aus Politik, öffentliche Verwaltung, Wirtschaft, Gesellschaft und Kultur – mit anderen internationalen Nachwuchsführungskräften vernetzen und nach neuen Antworten auf die globalen Fragen unserer Zeit suchen.

"Ich freue mich auf die grüne Stadt Wuppertal sowie die kulturellen und wissenschaftlichen Erfahrungen, die vor mir liegen. Ich möchte mich während meines Aufenthalts tiefgehend mit den Themen Klimaschutz und Nachhaltigkeit auseinandersetzen und realistische Strategien entwickeln, wie diese Ziele gelingen können. Zusammen mit dem Wuppertal Institut freue ich mich den Austausch zwischen Deutschland und Indien anzuregen", sagt Vivek Jaisree Mohandas über die Verleihung des Stipendiums und die künftige Zusammenarbeit.
Während des Deutschlandaufenthalts führen die Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten eigenständig entwickelte, forschungsnahe Projektvorhaben an Gastinstitutionen durch. Dabei werden sie von selbstgewählten Gastgeberinnen und Gastgebern in Deutschland betreut, die eine erforderliche Expertise für die jeweiligen Projektthemen besitzen. Gleichzeitig können sie sich im Rahmen gemeinsamer Programmveranstaltungen intensiv mit den sozialen, kulturellen, wirtschaftlichen und historischen Gegebenheiten in Deutschland vertraut machen.

Vivek Jaisree Mohandas besucht seit Anfang Juli bis Oktober 2018 einen Intensivdeutschkurs in Bonn, der ebenfalls Teil des Stipendiums ist. Ab Oktober findet dann ein vierwöchiges Einführungsseminar in Bonn und Berlin statt, bei dem die Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung den Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten die Möglichkeit gibt, einen ersten Einblick in Gesellschaft und Politik, Wirtschaft und Kultur Deutschlands zu gewinnen und Kontakte mit Multiplikatoren und Partnern zu knüpfen. Auch eine persönliche Begrüßung der deutschen Bundeskanzlerin, Dr. Angela Merkel, ist in diesem Zeitraum vorgesehen.
Ab November nimmt Mohandas seine Forschung am Wuppertal Institut auf. Dr. Henning Wilts, Leiter der Abteilung Kreislaufwirtschaft, freut sich, das indische Nachwuchstalent in Empfang zu nehmen: "Ich denke, es liegt ein spannendes Jahr vor uns und ich freue mich, zusammen mit Vivek Jaisree Mohandas die deutsch-indische Zusammenarbeit innerhalb der Nachhaltigkeitsforschung und Kreislaufwirtschaft vorantreiben zu können."

Vivek Jaisree Mohandas erzielte seinen Masterabschluss am Indian Institute of Technology – Bombay (IIT-B) im Bereich Umweltwissenschaften und Ingenieurwesen. Aktivität und Engagement zeigt er vor allem in den Bereichen Abfallverwertung und -wiederaufbereitung in Indien. Unter anderem arbeitet er für GMS Leadership, dem international, größten Schiffrecyclingunternehmen, welches Vorreiter für das Green Ship Recycling Program (GSRP), also der nachhaltigen Verwertung von Schiffen, ist. Mohandas forscht dort im Bereich Ingenieurswesen, Bauabfall und Ressourcen und wird in Zukunft sein Wissen in der Abteilung Kreislaufwirtschaft am Wuppertal Institut einfließen lassen.

 

Pressemitteilung

Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie gGmbH

VisdP: Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, Präsident

Kontakt: Christin Hasken, Leitung Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 202 2492-187

Fax: +49 202 2492-108

E-Mail: christin.hasken@wupperinst.org   


Pressebilder

Bundeskanzler-Stipendiat
Ab November 2018 nimmt der Stipendiat Vivek Jaisree Mohandas seine Forschung am Wuppertal Institut auf. Quelle: Bavens Studio