Taking Transformative Pathways

Policy brief advances a sectoral perspective

Flags
  • News 29.10.2018

The Paris Climate Agreement provides for states to renew and tighten up their reduction commitments every five years. This is urgently necessary, because so far the states are far from achieving their self-imposed goals of limiting global warming to well below 2 degrees Celsius. A first increase in ambition should at best take place before 2020, when the first so-called Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs) will have to be implemented.
To this end, a process has been initiated called the Talanoa Dialogue. The process was introduced by the Fijian government, which had taken over the leadership of last year's UN climate conference. The dialogue thus follows a Pacific custom of conflict resolution and social exchange. Three questions guide the discussion: Where are we? Where do we want to go? And how do we get there?

The authors of the policy letter "A sectoral perspective to embark on transformative pathways", which has now been submitted as a contribution to the Talanoa Dialogue, addresses the same questions. The paper summarizes the main results of the COP21:RIPPLES research project, in which the Wuppertal Institute has a major share. "A delay in climate protection means a threefold burden: more will have to be done later, we will be worse prepared and costs will rise considerably," writes the team of authors. In addition, the fundamental question arises as to how the reduction targets of the Paris Agreement can be achieved: "Increasing ambition for the first NDC phase from 2020 onwards will enable a less radical and more realistic transformation. Otherwise, extreme decarbonisation rates and climate protection contributions from individual sectors would be required. This would not only be extremely challenging technically, but would most likely also lead to considerable acceptance problems," the authors continue. In addition, higher short-term targets would make it possible to reduce the overall costs of the transition through "learning by doing" and avoid costly disinvestment.

The authors argue that a consistent focus on specific sectors can help to increase ambition of climate action. To enable this increase of ambition, international governance institutions and mechanisms should also be more consistently aligned to sectoral transformation challenges.

The policy letter "A sectoral perspective to embark on transformative pathways" with the individual scenarios and studies can be downloaded in the following link.

Transformative Wege einschlagen

Policy Brief entwirft eine sektorale Perspektive

Fahnen
  • News 29.10.2018

Das Pariser Klimaabkommen sieht vor, dass die Staaten alle fünf Jahre ihre Minderungsverpflichtungen erneuern und verschärfen. Das ist auch dringend nötig, denn bisher sind die Staaten weit davon entfernt ihre selbstgesteckten Ziele, die Begrenzung der Erderwärmung auf deutlich unter 2 Grad Celsius, zu erreichen. Eine erste Erhöhung der Ambition sollte bestenfalls schon vor 2020 erfolgen, wenn die ersten sogenannten Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs) umgesetzt werden müssen.
Dafür wurde ein Prozess ins Leben gerufen: der sogenannte Talanoa-Dialog. Eingeführt hat die Regierung von Fidschi diesen Prozess, die die Leitung der letztjährigen UN-Klimakonferenz übernommen hat. So folgt der Dialog einem pazifischen Brauch zur Lösung von Konflikten und zum gesellschaftlichen Austausch. Dabei leiten stets drei Fragen die Diskussion: Wo sind wir? Wo wollen wir hin? Und wie kommen wir dahin?

Diesen Fragen widmen sich auch die Autorinnen und Autoren des Policy Briefs "A sectoral perspective to embark on transformative pathways", das nun als Beitrag zum Talanoa-Dialog eingereicht wurde. Das Papier fasst die wesentlichen Forschungsergebnisse des Projekts COP21:RIPPLES, an dem auch das Wuppertal Institut maßgeblich beteiligt ist, zusammen. "Eine Verzögerung des Klimaschutzes bedeutet eine dreifache Belastung: Es muss später mehr getan werden, wir werden schlechter vorbereitet sein und die Kosten steigen erheblich", schreibt das Autorenteam. Zudem stellt sich die grundlegende Frage, wie sich die Minderungsziele des Pariser Abkommens erreichen lassen. "Die Erhöhung der Ambitionen bereits für die erste NDC-Phase ab 2020 ermöglicht eine weniger radikale realistischere Transformation. Andernfalls drohen extreme Dekarbonisierungsraten und Klimaschutzbeiträge von einzelnen Sektoren, die kaum zu schaffen scheinen und zumindest erhebliche Akzeptanzprobleme erwarten lassen", schreiben die Autorinnen und Autoren weiter. Außerdem böten kurzfristig höhere Ziele die Möglichkeit, die Gesamtkosten des Übergangs durch "learning by doing" zu senken und kostspielige Fehlinvestitionen zu vermeiden.

Die Autorinnen und Autoren argumentieren, dass ein konsequenter Fokus auf spezifische Sektoren helfen kann, die Klimaschutzambition zu steigern. Begleitet und unterstützt werden könnte dies, indem auch internationale Governance-Institutionen und -Mechanismen konsequent auf sektorale Transformationsherausforderungen ausgerichtet werden.

Das Policy Brief "A sectoral perspective to embark on transformative pathways" mit den einzelnen Szenarien und Untersuchungen kann im nachfolgenden Link heruntergeladen werden.