Biomass CHP-Technology has Promising Emission Saving Potentials

Conference article on HiEff-BioPower project published

wood chips
  • News 29.08.2019

In the peer-reviewed article "First stage environmental impact assessment of a new highly efficient and fuel flexible medium-scale CHP technology based on fixed-bed updraft biomass gasification and a SOFC" the project partners describe the results of the environmental and overall impact assessment for the HiEff-BioPower system after the first phase of the project. The Wuppertal Institute is responsible as lead partner for this work package.

In the course of the Horizon 2020 project HiEff-BioPower scientists are developing a new, fuel flexible and highly efficient medium-scale biomass CHP technology. It consists of a fuel-flexible fixed-bed updraft gasifier, a novel compact gas cleaning system, and a solid oxide fuel cell (SOFC). The system can utilise diverse residual biomass fuels, such as wood pellets, wood chips, short rotation coppice (SRC) or selected agricultural fuels (such as agro-pellets, fruit stones and nutshells). Despite the challenging fuels, the system achieves high gross electrical efficiencies of up to 40 per cent and overall efficiencies of up to 90 per cent. At the same time the system is characterised by extremely low levels of gaseous and particulate emissions.

Based on the preliminary impact assessment results after the first half of the project, the new HiEff-BioPower technology scenarios show promising and significant technical emission saving potentials compared to equivalent state-of-the-art conventional biomass boilers and gas engine CHP systems.

The complete article "First stage environmental impact assessment of a new efficient and fuel flexible medium-scale CHP technology based on fixed-bed updraft biomass gasification and a SOFC" with the comprehensive first results and further information on HiEff-BioPower project are available using the following links.

Biomasse-Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung hat vielversprechendes Einsparpotenzial

Konferenzartikel zum Projekt HiEff-BioPower erschienen

Holzreste
  • News 29.08.2019

Im Artikel "First stage environmental impact assessment of a new highly efficient and fuel flexible medium-scale CHP technology based on fixed-bed updraft biomass gasification and a SOFC" beschreiben die Projektpartner die Ergebnisse der Umwelt- und Gesamtwirkungsanalyse nach der ersten Projektphase von HiEff-BioPower, für die das Wuppertal Institut federführend verantwortlich ist.

Innerhalb des Horizon-2020-Projekts HiEff-BioPower entwickeln Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler eine neue hocheffiziente Biomasse-Kraft-Wärme-Kopplungs(KWK)-Technologie für den Leistungsbereich von ein bis zehn Megawatt. Diese besteht aus einem brennstoff-flexiblen Festbettvergaser, einer kompakten Gasreinigungsanlage und einer Festoxid-Brennstoffzelle (solid oxide fuel cell, SOFC). Das System kann verschiedenste Brennstoffe aus Biomasse-Reststoffen verwerten, wie etwa Holzpellets und Hackschnitzel oder ausgewählte Agrarbrennstoffe, darunter fallen beispielsweise Agro-Pellets, Fruchtkerne oder die Schalen von Nüssen. Das System erreicht trotz der prozesstechnisch teilweise sehr anspruchsvollen Brennstoffe hohe elektrische Bruttowirkungsgrade von bis zu 40 Prozent und Gesamtwirkungsgrade bis zu 90 Prozent. Zugleich zeichnet sich das System durch extrem geringe Emissionen in Form von gas- und partikelförmigen Substanzen aus.

Basierend auf den Ergebnissen der vorläufigen Umweltwirkungsanalyse nach der ersten Projekthälfte zeigen die Szenarien für die neue HiEff-BioPower-Technologie vielversprechende und signifikante technische Emissions-Einsparpotenziale gegenüber vergleichbaren konventionellen Biomasseheizkesseln und Gasmotor-KWK-Systemen.

Der vollständige Konferenzartikel "First stage environmental impact assessment of a new efficient and fuel flexible medium-scale CHP technology based on fixed-bed updraft biomass gasification and a SOFC" mit den ersten Ergebnissen der Umweltwirkungsanalyse sowie weitere Informationen zum HiEff-BioPower Projekt sind unter den nachfolgenden Links zu finden.