Maximising the Impact of the Global Stocktake under the Paris Climate Agreement

Launch of the discussion series "iGST Designing a Robust Stocktake Discussion Series"

Publication
  • News 02.12.2019

The five-yearly Global Stocktake (GST) is one of the key features of the Paris Climate Agreement. The purpose of the GST is to review the implementation of the Paris Agreement in order to assess the collective progress towards achieving the purpose of the Agreement and its long-term goals. The outcome of the GST shall inform parties in updating and enhancing their climate actions.

The Global Climate Governance Research Unit of the Wuppertal Institute has been involved in two research projects analysing the potential and limitations of the Global Stocktake and developing design options for its implementation. The research was lead by Lukas Hermwille, Project Co-ordinator, and Wolfgang Obergassel, Co-Head of the Research Unit Global Climate Governance in the Energy, Transport and Climate Policy Division at the Wuppertal Institute.

The first project "The Global Stocktake under the Paris Agreement: Design, Methodology and Process" has been carried out on behalf of the German Federal Environment Agency (Umweltbundesamt in German) together with partners from the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, the Öko-Institute and the NewClimate Institute. The new publication "Tackling the Challenges of Assessing Collective Progress for an Effective Global Stocktake – Executive Summary" syntheses key findings of the two-year project and provides an advance preview of the comprehensive project report to be published early in 2020.

Building on these insights and further contextualising them, the team contributed to the independent Global Stocktake (iGST) initiative. For its "iGST Designing a Robust Stocktake Discussion Series" Wolfgang Obergassel, Lukas Hermwille, Anne Siemons and Hannah Förster prepared the report "Success Factors for the Global Stocktake under the Paris Agreement" which discusses options for how to maximise the potential impact of the GST. The report proposes three specific functions by which the GST may foster enhanced action:

  • The GST may provide guidance and signal by further specifying the objectives laid down in the Paris Agreement.
  • The GST may contribute to providing transparency and accountability.
  • The GST may foster knowledge and learning on how to effectively achieve the objectives of the Paris Agreement.

As part of the iGST initiative, three further papers on the GST are being published in parallel by the NewClimate Institute, the Overseas Development Institute (ODI), and the Climate Equity Reference Project:

  • The paper by the NewClimate Institute elaborates a set of questions that would be important to assess during the GST and assesses to what extent these questions can be answered from existing research.
  • The paper by ODI focuses on how finance for climate action can be considered during the GST.
  • The paper by the Climate Equity Reference Project elaborates how equity considerations can be integrated into all elements of the GST.

The iGST is a data and advocacy initiative that brings together climate researchers, modelers, campaigners and advocates to support the Paris Agreement. The iGST's objective is to support the official Global Stocktake and to increase its accuracy, transparency, and accountability.  

The initiative is now launching the "iGST Designing a Robust Stocktake Discussion Series". This series of discussion papers envisions the contours of an ideal Global Stocktake and suggests ways in which the independent community can help to achieve that vision. The papers are part of a multi-part research effort organised by the ClimateWorks Foundation and undertaken by seven partner organisations, each of whom are publishing their findings as a discussion series paper.

Globale Bestandsaufnahme unter dem Pariser Klimaabkommen ausgestalten

Start der Diskussionsreihe "iGST Designing a Robust Stocktake Discussion Series"

Publikation
  • News 02.12.2019

Die fünfjährliche Globale Bestandsaufnahme (engl. Global Stocktake, GST) ist eines der Hauptelemente des Pariser Klimaabkommens. Der Zweck des GST ist, die Umsetzung des Pariser Abkommens zu überprüfen, um den kollektiven Fortschritt bei der Erreichung dessen Ziele zu bewerten. Das Ergebnis des GST soll den Vertragsstaaten als Grundlage dienen, um ihre Klimaschutzanstrengungen zu aktualisieren und zu verstärken.
Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Wuppertal Instituts sind derzeit an zwei Forschungsprojekten beteiligt, die das Potenzial und die Grenzen des GST untersuchen sowie Design-Optionen für seine Umsetzung entwickeln. Die beiden Projekte wurden geleitet von Lukas Hermwille, Projektleiter im Forschungsbereich Internationale Klimapolitik, sowie von Wolfgang Obergassel, Co-Leiter des Forschungsbereichs.

Das erste Projekt "Der Global Stocktake unter dem Übereinkommen von Paris" wurde im Auftrag des Umweltbundesamts gemeinsam mit dem Potsdam-Institut für Klimafolgenforschung, dem Öko-Institut sowie dem NewClimate Institute durchgeführt. Die neue Veröffentlichung "Tackling the Challenges of Assessing Collective Progress for an Effective Global Stocktake – Executive Summary" fasst die Hauptergebnisse des zweijährigen Projekts zusammen und bietet eine Vorausschau auf den umfassenden Projektbericht, der Anfang 2020 veröffentlicht werden soll.
In einer Weiterentwicklung dieser Ergebnisse trug das Team zudem zur Initiative für einen unabhängigen Global Stocktake (independent Global Stocktake, iGST) bei. Als Teil der Reihe "iGST Designing a Robust Stocktake" diskutieren Wolfgang Obergassel, Lukas Hermwille, Anne Siemons und Hannah Förster in ihrem Bericht "Success Factors for the Global Stocktake under the Paris Agreement" Optionen, wie sich der potentielle Nutzen des GST maximieren lässt. Der Bericht schlägt drei spezifische Funktionen vor, wie der GST verstärkte Maßnahmen fördern kann:

  • Der GST kann Leitlinien und Signal senden, indem er die Ziele des Pariser Abkommens weiter konkretisiert.
  • Der GST kann zu Transparenz und Verantwortlichkeit beitragen.
  • Der GST kann Wissen und Lernen dazu fördern, wie die Ziele des Pariser Abkommens effektiv erreicht werden können.

Als Teil der iGST-Initiative werden gleichzeitig drei weitere Papiere des NewClimate Institute, Overseas Development Institute (ODI) sowie des Climate Equity Reference Project veröffentlicht:

  • Das Papier des NewClimate Institute entwickelt eine Liste von Fragen zum aktuellen Stand des globalen Klimaschutz, die im Rahmen des GST untersucht werden sollten, und untersucht, in welchem Maße diese Fragen auf Grundlage aktueller Forschung beantwortet werden können.
  • Der Artikel von ODI konzentriert sich darauf, wie Fragen der Finanzierung von Klimaschutzmaßnahmen im Rahmen des GST behandelt werden können.
  • Der Artikel des Climate Equity Reference Project diskutiert, wie Gerechtigkeitsfragen in alle Bestandteile des GST integriert werden können.

Der iGST ist eine Initiative zu Forschung und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, die Klimaforschende, Modellierende und Aktivistinnen und Aktivisten zusammenbringt, um das Pariser Abkommen zu unterstützen. Das Ziel des iGST ist es, den offiziellen Global Stocktake zu unterstützen und seine Genauigkeit, Transparenz und Verantwortlichkeit zu stärken.

Die Initiative startet nun die "iGST Designing a Robust Stocktake Discussion Series". Diese Reihe entwickelt Konturen für einen idealen GST und schlägt Wege vor, wie unabhängige Akteure helfen können, diese Vision zu verwirklichen. Die Papiere sind Teil einer mehrteiligen Forschungsanstrengung, die von der ClimateWorks Foundation organisiert und von sieben Partnerorganisationen durchgeführt wird. Jeder der Partner veröffentlicht seine Ergebnisse als ein Artikel im Rahmen der Diskussionspapiere.