Extracting CO2 Directly from the Air

High potential "Direct Air Capture": the result of a multidimensional analysis

Publication
  • News 27.01.2020

Direct Air Capture (DAC) is a process of capturing carbon dioxide (CO2) directly from the ambient air (as opposed to capturing from point sources, such as a cement factory or biomass power plant) and generating a concentrated stream of CO2 for sequestration or utilisation. The air flows through a filter where CO2 is removed. Then, the obtained pure CO2 can be used for various purposes, e.g. to promote plant growth in greenhouses, in the medium term to replace fossil fuels with synthetic fuels or in the long term to store them deep underground ("negative emissions").

Since the decisions of the Paris Agreement 2015 require a comprehensive and rapid transformation with a significant reduction in greenhouse gas emissions, in future, DAC technologies may be a further alternative for achieving the targets of the Agreement. In autumn 2019, Dr. Peter Viebahn, Head of the Sectors and Technologies Research Unit in the Future Energy and Industry Systems Division at the Wuppertal Institute, together with the Research Fellows Alexander Scholz and Ole Zelt released the paper "The Potential Role of Direct Air Capture in the German Energy Research Program – Results of a Multi-Dimensional Analysis" published in MDPI. In the analysis, the authors examine the status of Direct Air Capture from various perspectives, e.g. with regard to its costs, energy consumption, land use or the activities of research and companies in Germany. The authors also look at possible applications and their technical potential in Germany.

At the end of the past year, another short article was published in the magazine "Energiewirtschaftliche Tagesfragen" in German language in which, in addition to the multidimensional analysis, the possible role of German industry in this future market is presented. Further information can be found under the links below.

CO2 direkt aus der Luft abscheiden

Potenzial von Direct Air Capture: Ergebnis einer multidimensionalen Analyse

Publikation
  • News 27.01.2020

Direct Air Capture (DAC) ist ein Verfahren zur Gewinnung von Kohlenstoffdioxid (CO2) direkt aus der Umgebungsluft – also eine Technologie zur Abscheidung von Kohlendioxid aus der Atmosphäre. Grundprinzip ist, dass Umgebungsluft durch einen Filter strömt, der einen Teil des CO2 entzieht. Das gewonnene reine CO2 lässt sich anschließend für verschiedene Zwecke verwenden, wie etwa zur Förderung des Pflanzenwachstums in Treibhäusern, mittelfristig fossile durch synthetische Kraftstoffe zu ersetzen oder langfristig zum Speichern im tiefen Untergrund, also als "negative Emissionen".

Da die Beschlüsse des Pariser Klimaabkommens aus 2015 eine umfassende und schnelle Transformation mit einer deutlichen Reduzierung der Treibhausgasemissionen fordern, könnten DAC-Technologien künftig eine weitere Alternative sein, die Zielvorgaben des Abkommens zu erreichen. Dr. Peter Viebahn, Leiter des Forschungsbereichs Sektoren und Technologien in der Abteilung Zukünftige Energie- und Industriesysteme am Wuppertal Institut, veröffentlichte im Herbst 2019 zusammen mit den beiden wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitern Alexander Scholz und Ole Zelt zu diesem Thema den Artikel "The Potential Role of Direct Air Capture in the German Energy Research Program – Results of a Multi-Dimensional Analysis", der in MDPI in englischer Sprache erschienen ist. Die Autoren beleuchten in einer multidimensionalen Analyse den Stand von Direct Air Capture, etwa hinsichtlich der Kosten, des Energie- und Flächenverbrauchs oder auch die Aktivitäten von Forschung und Unternehmen in Deutschland. Zudem gehen die Autoren auf mögliche Anwendungen und ihr technisches Potenzial in Deutschland ein.

Ende des vergangenen Jahres erschien ein weiterer kurzer Artikel in deutscher Sprache im Magazin "Energiewirtschaftliche Tagesfragen", in dem neben der multidimensionalen Analyse auch die mögliche Rolle der deutschen Industrie in diesem Zukunftsmarkt dargestellt wird. Weitere Informationen sind in den nachfolgenden Links zu finden.