Chemical Plastics Recycling Offers Many Opportunities for Climate Protection

An analysis from IN4climate.NRW shows potentials of the circular economy

Plastic waste
  • News 16.07.2020

More than six million tonnes of plastic waste are produced in Germany every year, only slightly less than half of which can be used for materials and raw materials, the rest is thermally recycled (pyrolysis), or incinerated. Mixed plastics in particular make recycling more difficult. This is where chemical recycling comes in. In this process, the substances are disintegrated at high temperatures and broken down into smaller molecules. These can be converted into new plastics or chemical base materials for recycling purposes. An estimated up to two million tonnes of plastic waste could be recycled using this method each year.

Using pyrolysis for mixed plastic waste can make the chemical industry and waste management more climate-friendly, as demonstrated by the discussion paper "Chemical Plastics Recycling" now published by the IN4climate.NRW state-based initiative. In the paper, the authors point out potentials and development perspectives for North Rhine-Westphalia – with the aim of creating a scientific foundation for investment decisions and project development in line with the circular economy. "The various technological options must now be further evaluated. This requires a comprehensive approach that takes into account that the basic conditions of the energy system are changing. This especially applies to the increasing share of renewable energies, which has a positive effect on the climate balance," says Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick, Scientific Managing Director of the Wuppertal Institute and Innovation Team Leader at IN4climate.NRW.
The aim is to develop and analyse the strategic projections of a pilot plant for thermochemical recycling of plastic waste in NRW in a follow-up study in cooperation between science and industry. To this end, IN4climate.NRW, a state-based initiative, provides a platform that brings together partners from industry, science and politics to work together on projects and strategies for an innovative climate-friendly transformation of the industrial sector.

The paper was developed by the Circular Economy working group at IN4climate.NRW, which is committed to promoting the circular economy. The publication was endorsed by the companies Lanxess, Rain Carbon, and RHM as well as the research institutes Fraunhofer UMSICHT, RWTH Aachen, Verein Deutscher Zementwerke ("Association of German Cement Manufacturers") and Wuppertal Institute.

The discussion paper and further information can be found under the links below.

Chemisches Kunststoffrecycling bietet viele Chancen für den Klimaschutz

Analyse von IN4climate.NRW zeigt Potenziale der Kreislaufwirtschaft

Plastikabfall
  • News 16.07.2020

Mehr als sechs Millionen Tonnen Kunststoffabfälle fallen in Deutschland jährlich an, nur etwas weniger als die Hälfte kann werk- und rohstofflich genutzt werden, der Rest wird verbrannt. Gerade gemischte Kunststoffarten erschweren das Recycling. Hier bietet sich das chemische Recycling (Pyrolyse) an. Bei diesem Verfahren werden die Stoffe durch hohe Temperaturen zersetzt und in kleinere Moleküle aufgespalten. Diese lassen sich im Sinne der Kreislaufwirtschaft in neue Kunststoffe oder chemische Grundstoffe überführen. Die Schätzungen gehen von bis zu zwei Millionen Tonnen Kunststoffabfall jährlich aus, der auf diese Weise wiederverwendet werden könnte.

Das nun veröffentlichte Diskussionspapier "Chemisches Kunststoffrecycling" der Landesinitiative IN4climate.NRW zeigt, dass Pyrolyse von gemischten Kunststoffabfällen die chemische Industrie sowie die Abfallwirtschaft klimafreundlicher gestalten kann. Im Papier geht das Autorenteam auf die Potenziale und Entwicklungsperspektiven für Nordrhein-Westfalen ein mit dem Ziel, wissenschaftliche Grundlagen für Investitionsentscheidungen und Projektentwicklung im Sinne der Kreislaufwirtschaft zu schaffen. "Die verschiedenen technologischen Optionen müssen nun weitergehend bewertet werden. Dabei kommt es auf eine ganzheitliche Betrachtung an, die berücksichtigt, dass sich die Rahmenbedingungen des Energiesystems verändern. Dies gilt vor allem für den steigenden Anteil erneuerbarer Energien, der sich positiv auf die Klimabilanz auswirkt", sagt Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick, wissenschaftlicher Geschäftsführer des Wuppertal Instituts und Innovationsteamleiter bei IN4climate.NRW.
Ziel ist, in einer Folgestudie in Kooperation von Wissenschaft und Industrie die strategischen Perspektiven einer Demonstrationsanlage zum thermochemischen Recycling von Kunststoffabfällen in NRW zu erarbeiteten und zu analysieren. Dabei unterstützt IN4climate.NRW als Plattform, die als Landesinitiative Partner aus Industrie, Wissenschaft und Politik zusammenbringt, um gemeinsam an konkreten Projekten und Strategien für eine innovative klimagerechte Transformation des Industriesektors zu arbeiten.

Erarbeitet wurde das Papier innerhalb der AG Circular Economy bei IN4climate.NRW, die sich insbesondere für die Förderung der Kreislaufwirtschaft einsetzt. Hinter der Veröffentlichung des Papiers stehen die Unternehmen Lanxess, Rain Carbon und RHM sowie die Forschungsinstitutionen Fraunhofer UMSICHT, RWTH Aachen, der Verein Deutscher Zementwerke und das Wuppertal Institut.

Weiterführende Informationen sowie das Diskussionspapier sind in den nachfolgenden Links zu finden.