Elimination of Technical, Legal and Economic Restraints for the Feed-in of Biogenous Gases into the Gas Network with the Aim of Reducing Climate Relevant Emissions by Means of Developing and Applying a Georeferenced Database

  • Project no.3111
  • Duration 11/2006 - 03/2008

The utilisation of biomass is increasingly gaining in importance due to receding fossil resources, commitments concerning climate protection, need for security of supply and a necessary diversification in energy supply. One major problem, however, is the integration of biomass into existing energy systems. Thus, the central objective of the joint project "biogas feed-in" is to extend the possibilities for the energetic utilisation of biomass by overcoming restraints in the generation, feed-in and distribution of biogas (biomethane) via the gas network.

A central part of the project is the development of a georeferenced database system for examining the possibilities of combining biogas production and feed-in into the gas network by the example of selected model regions. One aim of this database is the calculation of optimal plant locations and entry points as well as of the entire biogas feed-in potential. Apart from that, socio-economic, economic and ecologic effects are included as well.

Within the framework of the joint project the Wuppertal Institute leads the work packages on the issues of the analysis of dynamic different biomass applications, analysis of the overall energy system and the integration of biogas, optimisation of ecological and energy economical impacts and the competition of different biomass utilisation pathways regarding the maximum contribution to climate protection issues.

Furthermore, the transfer of results from the model regions to a country-wide estimation of effects is in the responsibility of the Wuppertal Institute. Apart from the evaluation of ecological and technical possibilities and obstacles, socio-economics, regional and technology policy issues are being considered, as well.

Beseitigung technischer Hemmnisse bei der Einspeisung biogener Gase in das Erdgasnetz zur Reduzierung der CO2-Emissionen, Strategieentwicklung zur technisch-wirtschaftlichen Umsetzung

  • Projekt-Nr.3111
  • Laufzeit 11/2006 - 03/2008

Vor dem Hintergrund knapper werdender fossiler Ressourcen, Klimaschutzverpflichtungen, Versorgungssicherheit und einer gebotenen Diversifizierung im Bereich der Energieversorgung erhält die Nutzung von Biomasse immer größere Bedeutung. Ein grundlegendes Problem ist hierbei jedoch die energiewirtschaftliche Integration von Biomasse. Hier setzt das Verbundprojekt Biogaseinspeisung an. Zentrales Ziel ist es, die Möglichkeiten der energetischen Biomassenutzung zu erweitern, indem Hemmnisse für die Erzeugung, Einspeisung und Verteilung von Biogas (Biomethan) über das Erdgasnetz identifiziert und überwunden werden.

Zentraler Bestandteil des Projektes sind Entwicklung und Aufbau eines georeferenzierten Informationsdatenbanksystems, mit dessen Hilfe für ausgewählte Modellregionen die Möglichkeiten der Verknüpfung von Biogaserzeugung und -einspeisung in das Erdgasnetz untersucht werden. Ziel ist u. a. die Berechnung von für die Modellregionen optimalen Anlagenstandorten und Einspeisepunkten sowie des gesamten Biogaseinspeise-Potenzials. Darüber hinaus werden auch sozioökonomische, wirtschaftliche und ökologische Wirkungen mit erfasst.

Das Wuppertal Institut übernimmt im Rahmen des Verbundprojektes "Biogaseinspeisung" die Leitung und Durchführung verschiedener Arbeitspakete. Diese basieren auf der dynamischen Analyse der Einsatzgebiete für Biogas, der Systemanalyse zur ökologischen und energiewirtschaftlichen Optimierung sowie dem Vergleich von Biomasserouten mit Quantifizierung hinsichtlich des Klimaschutzbeitrages.

Eine weitere Aufgabe besteht in der Übertragung von Erfahrungen aus den Modellregionen auf die Abschätzung bundesweiter Effekte. Dabei werden neben der Bewertung ökologischer und technischer Möglichkeiten und Hindernisse auch sozio-ökonomische, regional- und technologiepolitische Auswirkungen betrachtet.