NeW

Sustainable and Successful Management: The Analysis, Measurement and Control of the Sustainability of a Company using Sustainable Value Approach

  • Project no.2411
  • Duration 01/2007 - 08/2008

This project did apply and implement the newly developed Sustainable Value Approach (Figge/Hahn) to German companies in an extensive way. The Sustainable Value Approach enables an integrated valuation of the use of economic, ecological and social resources in a company. It is possible to aggregate these (factors) into a monetary, sustainable key performance indicator (e.g. Euro).
The methodical closeness of the Sustainable Value to established approaches in controlling ensures an access and builds upon existing and well proven controlling implements. For small and medium enterprises (SME) this issue is very important. Usually, they have not enough resources and manpower in their management and finance departments to develop specific controlling processes for their company. The aggregation to a monetary sustainable figure assures an expansion of existing controlling implements without significant financial or personnel expenses.
The project particularly emphasised the analysis of chances by the implementation of the Sustainable Value Approach for SME. The concrete possibilities of its usage and the success factors for a permanent usage in the controlling of finance and production were determined. Within a practice-oriented publication this new approach was allocated and classified in relation to already existing and established controlling implements. Consequently, it was possible to present links and chances for the usage of the Sustainable Value.
Subsequent to this practical work package the results of this study and the experiences of its implementation have been published and transferred to representatives of SMU in terms of workshops and manuals.


Further project information

Links

NeW

Nachhaltig erfolgreich Wirtschaften: Analyse, Messung und Steuerung der Nachhaltigkeit von Unternehmen mit dem Sustainable Value Ansatz

  • Projekt-Nr.2411
  • Laufzeit 01/2007 - 08/2008

In diesem Projekt wurde der neu entwickelte Sustainable-Value-Ansatz erstmals in der Breite auf deutsche Unternehmen angewandt und in der unternehmerischen Praxis umgesetzt. Der Sustainable-Value-Ansatz (Figge/Hahn) nimmt eine integrierte Bewertung des Einsatzes von ökonomischen, ökologischen und sozialen Ressourcen in Unternehmen vor. Er ermöglicht eine Aggregation in eine monetäre Nachhaltigkeitskennzahl (z. B. Euro).
Aufgrund der großen methodischen Nähe des Sustainable Value zu etablierten Controllingansätzen, konnte so auch auf bestehende und praxiserprobte Steuerungsinstrumente aufgebaut und zurückgegriffen werden. Dieser Sachverhalt ist insbesondere für KMU von Bedeutung, da diese zumeist nicht über genügend Ressourcen in der Geschäftsleitung und Finanz- bzw. Controllingabteilung verfügen, um unternehmensspezifische Controllingprozesse und -instrumente zu entwickeln. Die Aggregierung zu einer monetären Nachhaltigkeitszahl ermöglicht dem entgegen eine Erweiterung bestehender Steuerungsinstrumente ohne größeren finanziellen oder personellen Aufwand.
Innerhalb des Projektes lag der Schwerpunkt auf der Analyse der Möglichkeiten, die sich insbesondere bei KMU durch den Einsatz des Sustainable-Value-Ansatzes bieten. Es wurden die konkreten Einsatzmöglichkeiten eruiert und Erfolgsfaktoren für einen dauerhaften Einsatz im Finanz- und Produktionscontrolling ermittelt. Im Rahmen einer praxisorientierten Publikation erfolgte eine Verortung dieses neuen Ansatzes zu bereits bestehenden und etablierten Controllinginstrumenten, sodass Voraussetzungen, Anknüpfungspunkte und Chancen für den Einsatz des Sustainable Value genannt werden können.
Die Ergebnisse der Studie und die Erfahrungen aus der praktischen Umsetzung wurden publiziert und in Transfer-Workshops und einem Praxishandbuch an Interessenten aus KMU vermittelt.


Weitere Projektinformationen

Links