Greenhouse Gas Mitigation in Industry in Developing Countries

  • Project no.1231
  • Duration 07/2008 - 09/2008

This short project realised on behalf of the "Deutsche Gesellschaft für Technische Zusammenarbeit" (GTZ) analysed the most important and the technically most likly feasible emission mitigation potentials in the industry sector; it identified their implementation costs as well as first approaches for adequate policy measures.
The focus of this short study was on developing countries and economies in transition. As the industry sector is very broad and diverse a number of sub-sectors in the field of production and processing were selected: iron and steel, cement, mineral raw material, aluminium, pulp and paper, refrigerants, and ammonia. This selection covered the key industries with the highest mitigation potentials. However, it has to be added that for certain countries other industry sub-sectors may be more relevant.
Main sources used for the analysis were the IPCC reports, studies of various research institutes and consultants, as well as own sources. In the run of the project it became more and more apparent, that data regarding the mitigation potential of certain industry sub-sectors in developing countries and economies in transition is rare and that a sufficient data basis to calculate concrete mitigation potentials is missing. Therefore, and due to the limited scope of the study, it was mostly just possible to present some trends and rough estimates.
The project outcome will provide a basis for GTZ recommendations to be developed with regard to a possible role of German Development Cooperation in this context.

Greenhouse Gas Mitigation in Industry in Developing Countries

  • Projekt-Nr.1231
  • Laufzeit 07/2008 - 09/2008

In diesem Kurzprojekt wurden die wichtigsten und die technisch am ehesten realisierbaren Emissionsminderungspotenziale im Industriesektor untersucht. Es wurden die Kosten ihrer Nutzung ermittelt und Ansätze zu entsprechenden Politikmaßnahmen identifiziert.
Der Fokus der Kurzstudie lag dabei auf Entwicklungs- und Transformationsländern. Da der Industriesektor sehr breit gefächert ist und in sich sehr stark divergiert, wurde eine Anzahl von Sub-Sektoren in den Bereichen Herstellung und Verarbeitung ausgewählt: Eisen und Stahl, Zement, mineralische Rohstoffe, Aluminium, Papier und Zellstoff, Kältemittel, sowie Ammoniak. Diese Auswahl deckt die wichtigen Industriebereiche mit den größten Minderungspotenzialen ab, mit der Einschränkung, dass in einigen Ländern auch andere Sub-Sektoren von hoher Relevanz sein können.
Wesentliche Quellen für die Analyse stellten die IPCC-Berichte dar, Studien verschiedener Forschungsinstitute und Consultants, sowie eigene Studien. Im Laufe des Projekts wurde zunehmend deutlich, dass Daten zu Minderungspotenzialen in verschiedenen Sub-Sektoren der Industrie in Entwicklungs-und Schwellenländern rar sind und eine geeignete Datenbasis zur Kalkulation konkreter Minderungspotenziale nicht gegeben ist. Aus diesem Grund, sowie durch den begrenzten Rahmen des Projekts bedingt, war es meist nur möglich, Tendenzen bzw. grobe Schätzungen darzustellen.
Ergebnisse des Berichts werden der GTZ als Basis dienen, um Empfehlungen für die mögliche Rolle der Deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit in diesem Bereich zu entwickeln.