Economic Opportunities for the German Industry Resulting from a Global Deployment of CSP (Concentrated Solar Power) Technologies

  • Project no.1100
  • Duration 05/2009 - 06/2009

In order to let global warming not exceed an additional 2 °C, which is the aim required by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), a CO2-emissions reduction of globally more than 60 percent by 2050 compared to the level of 1990 is mandatory. Within the current discussion, growing importance is beeing attached to solar thermal power plants as a technology to reach this aim. They bundle solar radiation using concentrating mirrors – therefore this technology is also called Concentrated Solar Power (CSP). CSP technology has been developed to a large extent in Germany, yet direct implementation does not make much sense in Germany due to insufficient direct radiation.

Exporting CSP-technologies to the "sunbelt" regions offers great opportunities for German plant builders. These include Schott Solar, MAN Ferrostaal Group (NRW) and their business segment "Solar Energy", Flagsol (NRW), Solar Power Group, Solar Millenium and Fichtner Solar, who are all involved in CSP. Schott Solar (receiver) and Flagsol (mirrors) are world market leaders. E.ON, RWE and EnBW are increasingly interested in using the technology and leading insurance companies like the "Münchner Rück" consider including CSP as a new business segment.

Against this background, the current study examines the economic opportunities of a worldwide dissemination of CSP-technologies for German companies. It seeks to answer the following relevant questions:

  • Which technology paths does the CSP option include and what is the current state of their development, market introduction and commercialisation?
  • Which countries are key markets and/or pioneers in development, demonstration and commercialisation of CSP-technologies?
  • In which way are German companies involved in the value-added chain of CSP-technologies so far?
  • How are German companies positioned on the market in comparison to leading international companies?
  • How big is the potential apportioned to CSP-technologies in energy scenarios?
  • Which measurable economical effects for German companies (additional value creation and new jobs for instance) result from realising the potentials if German companies succeed in taking advantage of their market position?

Ökonomische Chancen für die deutsche Industrie resultierend auf einer weltweiten Verbreitung von CSP (Concentrated Solar Power) Technologien

  • Projekt-Nr.1100
  • Laufzeit 05/2009 - 06/2009

Um das vom Weltklimarat (IPCC) geforderte Ziel der Begrenzung des Anstiegs der Weltmitteltemperatur auf 2 °C einhalten zu können, ist eine Reduktion der globalen CO2-Emissionen um weltweit mehr als 60 Prozent bis 2050 gegenüber dem Stand von 1990 zwingend notwendig. In der aktuellen Diskussion wird auch solarthermischen Kraftwerken eine immer größere Bedeutung für die Zielerreichung beigemessen. Diese bündeln mit konzentrierenden Spiegeln die Solarstrahlung, weshalb sie auch als Concentrated Solar Power (CSP) bezeichnet werden. Die Technologie der solarthermischen Kraftwerke ist ganz maßgeblich in Deutschland entwickelt worden, obwohl eine direkte Anwendung hierzulande aufgrund unzureichender Direktstrahlungsanteile nicht sinnvoll ist.

Der Export von CSP-Technologien in die "Sunbelt"-Regionen bietet große Chancen für deutsche Anlagenbauer. So sind u. a. Schott Solar, die MAN Ferrostaal Group (NRW) mit ihrem Geschäftssegment "Solar Energy", Flagsol (NRW), die Solar Power Group, Solar Millenium und Fichtner Solar auf dem Gebiet CSP aktiv. Schott Solar (Receiver) und Flagsol (Spiegel) haben eine weltweit führende Marktstellung inne. E.ON, RWE und EnBW zeigen zunehmend Interesse an der Nutzung der Technologie, führende Versicherer wie die Münchner Rück erwägen, CSP als neues Geschäftsfeld aufzunehmen.

In diesem Kontext untersucht die vorliegende Studie die ökonomischen Chancen einer weltweiten Verbreitung von CSP-Technologien für deutsche Unternehmen. Für diese Zielsetzung sind folgende Fragestellungen von Relevanz:

  • Welche Technologiepfade umfasst die Option CSP und wie ist der aktuelle Stand ihrer Entwicklung, Demonstration, Markteinführung und Kommerzialisierung?
  • Welche Länder sind Schlüsselmärkte und/oder Vorreiter in der Entwicklung, Demonstration und Kommerzialisierung von CSP-Technologien?
  • Welche Aktivitäten weisen deutsche Unternehmen entlang der Wertschöpfungskette von CSP-Technologien bislang auf?
  • Wie ist die Marktstellung deutscher Unternehmen im Vergleich zu führenden internationalen Unternehmen zu bewerten?
  • Welches Potenzial wird CSP-Technologien in Energieszenarien zugerechnet?
  • Welche messbaren ökonomischen Effekte für deutsche Unternehmen, z.B. zusätzliche Wertschöpfung und die Schaffung neuer Arbeitsplätze, resultieren aus einer Umsetzung der Potenziale, wenn es den deutschen Unternehmen gelingt, die Marktvorteile auszuschöpfen?