E2Log

Energy Efficiency in Logistics

  • Project no.3136
  • Duration 12/2010 - 11/2013

With regard to climate protection, security of energy supply and competitiveness, energy efficiency in industry plays a key role. Further to production technologies deployed, energy consumption in the manufacturing sector is determined by the entire production system including subsystems like logistics. Logistics concepts may incur repercussions on energy efficiency in internal and external logistics, warehousing and manufacturing via e.g. lot sizes and frequencies of deliveries. Therefore, besides energy-efficient production techniques, such interactions may be important levers for increasing systemic energy efficiency of production networks.

Further to traditional objectives for production and logistics systems, E²Log is designed to achieve systemic increases in energy efficiency in overall production systems of supply chains. The main task of the project is to develop methods and tools that allow assessing and designing the production environment towards system-wide increases in energy efficiency.

In order to achieve this, data on energy consumption in logistics and production will be collected. The data will be made available for planning purposes based on dynamic simulation models. This forms the basis for the derivation of design recommendations to supply chain partners to improve system-wide energy efficiency in production and logistics networks. It will allow production networks and involved manufacturing companies and logistics-service providers to:

  • Analyse the state of individual companies and production networks regarding energy and economic efficiency;
  • Simulate the effects of changes in production networks in terms of energy efficiency; and
  • Assess challenges for production networks resulting from changes in energy markets.

In this regard the Wuppertal Institute analyses the relationship between value added, logistics design options and energy consumption. The main drivers of energy consumption and efficiency as well as options for optimising production and logistics will be identified and assessed. Further to this the Wuppertal Institute will be involved with one of the partners from industry and the platform for small and medium sized companies (SME).


Further project information

Links

E2Log

Energieeffizienz in der Logistik

  • Projekt-Nr.3136
  • Laufzeit 12/2010 - 11/2013

Im Hinblick auf den Klimaschutz, eine sichere Energieversorgung und die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit spielt die Energieeffizienz in Unternehmen eine zentrale Rolle. Im produzierenden Gewerbe wird der Energieverbrauch neben der eigentlichen Produktionstechnik zu einem erheblichen Anteil vom gesamten Produktionsumfeld bestimmt. Hierzu zählt u. a. die Logistik. Dabei können logistische Konzepte z. B. über Liefertakte und Losgrößen Rückwirkungen auf den Energieverbrauch in der internen und externen Logistik, der Lagerhaltung und der Produktion entfalten. Neben dem Einsatz energieeffizienterer Produktionstechniken ist daher die Beachtung solcher Wechselwirkungen für die Steigerung der systemischen Energieeffizienz von Produktionsnetzwerken von zentraler Bedeutung.

Neben klassischen logistischen Zielsetzungen soll im Rahmen von E²Log durch die an Energieeffizienz ausgerichtete Gestaltung von Logistik und Produktionsumfeld eine erhöhte Energieeffizienz von Wertschöpfungsketten erreicht werden. Hauptziel des Projekts ist es, Methoden und Instrumente der Planung und Gestaltung des Produktionsumfelds zur Verbesserung der systemischen Energieeffizienz zu entwickeln.

Dazu werden die Energieverbraucher in Logistik und Produktion erfasst, um sie mittels dynamischer Modelle und Simulation für Planungszwecke nutzbar zu machen. Dies bildet die Basis für Gestaltungsempfehlungen für Unternehmen zur Steigerung der systemischen Energieeffizienz in Produktions- und Logistiknetzwerken. In Produktionsnetzwerke eingebundene Unternehmen und Logistikdienstleister sollen in die Lage versetzt werden:

  • den Status-quo des Unternehmens und des Produktionsnetzwerkes hinsichtlich Wirtschaftlichkeit und Energieeffizienz analysieren zu können,
  • über die Simulation der Auswirkungen von Veränderungen im Produktionsnetzwerk gezielte Verbesserungen zu erreichen und
  • aus der Veränderung der Energiemärkte resultierende Herausforderungen für Unternehmen und Produktionsnetzwerke zu identifizieren und zu bewerten.

Das Wuppertal Institut untersucht in diesem Zusammenhang u. a. die Beziehungen zwischen Wertschöpfung und logistischen Gestaltungsoptionen sowie Energieverbrauch und Energieeffizienz. Es wird analysiert, welche Einflussgrößen wichtige Treiber des Energieverbrauches sind und wie diese zur Steigerung der Energieeffizienz eingesetzt werden können. Zudem betreut das Wuppertal Institut einen Anwendungspartner sowie das Anwenderforum für kleine und mittlere Unternehmen (KMU).


Weitere Projektinformationen

Links