The Role of CDM and Offsets as Part of Future Carbon Markets

  • Project no.2269
  • Duration 10/2011 - 08/2013

While the Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) used to be the global currency for emissions trading, the global carbon market is nowadays increasingly fragmented as several jurisdictions have in recent years developed new market instruments outside the Kyoto system. Prominent examples include Japan's development of a Joint Crediting Mechanism / Bilateral Offset Credit Mechanism (JCM/BOCM) and the development of new project mechanisms in the framework of the emission trading systems (ETS) that are being established by California and Québec. Australia is also developing its own domestic project mechanism.

The design of new systems can, among other aspects, be considered as a reaction to the perceived failings of the CDM and an evaluation of their characteristics may therefore contribute to discussions on how to reform the CDM to help continue its "glue" role in the international carbon market. This project therefore analysed perceived issues with the CDM as reflected in statements on CDM reform from these jurisdictions and the decisions they have made in establishing their own systems.

Key findings from the research are:

In developing their offset systems, Australia, California and Japan all explicitly rejected the project-by-project approach to additionality that the CDM has taken so far. Instead, they all promote an ex-ante additionality assessment approach for entire classes of projects and consider this to be not only more efficient and cost-effective but also to be more "objective", implying a higher degree of environmental integrity. Moving towards greater standardisation of additionality testing and baselines in the CDM might therefore enhance its chances of being allowed to be used for compliance in new systems and continue being allowed to be used in existing systems.

However, while standardisation may lower overall transaction costs in the system, it also frontloads transaction costs and shifts them from project participants to those who develop the standardised metrics. The experience of Australia, California, and Japan underlines this argument. Without substantial support from industrialised countries, standardisation may be beyond the capacity of most developing countries.

Looking at the emerging systems in detail it becomes apparent that their approaches and methodologies often borrow from the CDM. The CDM's bottom-up approach has therefore to a great extent facilitated the primarily top-down development of new systems. However, the centre of innovation is increasingly shifting away from the CDM as other schemes are able to move faster than the multilateral system.

As the CDM fades away and its capacity is lost, given the lack of current market demand, its role as methodology developer and de facto standard setter is also disappearing and the various systems will probably increasingly diverge. The remaining Kyoto parties could slow this trend by investing efforts to maintain the CDM as an instrument, including in particular its methodology development function, until increased mitigation ambition provides new demand for credits. For the interim, this would require public sector funding of new projects and the development of new methodological approaches. One option may be to use the scale-up of climate finance that has been pledged by industrialised countries. The CDM presents a readily available method to achieve measurable, reportable and verifiable results. To count investments in new CDM projects towards climate finance, the generated credits should not simultaneously be counted towards that countries' emission commitments, but would have to be cancelled, otherwise this approach would constitute double counting.



Project team

Co-ordination

Staff

Client/sponsor

Project partner

Cookie Settings

Cookies help us to constantly improve the website for you. By clicking on the "Allow cookies" button, you agree to the use of cookies. For further information on the use of cookies or to change your settings, please click on More about the use and rejection of cookies.

Kohlenstoff-Marktkopplung mit USA über CDM und andere Offsetting-Mechanismen

  • Projekt-Nr.2269
  • Laufzeit 10/2011 - 08/2013

Der Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) war die globale Währung des Emissionshandels. Inzwischen fragmentiert der globale Markt jedoch zusehends, da mehrere Jurisdiktionen in den letzten Jahren neue Marktinstrumente außerhalb des Kyoto-Systems entwickelt haben. Prominente Beispiele dafür sind die Entwicklung des Joint Crediting Mechanism/Bilateral Offset Credit Mechanism (JCM/BOCM) durch Japan und die Entwicklung von Projekt-Mechanismen im Rahmen der Emissionshandelsysteme (EHS), die in Kalifornien und der kanadischen Provinz Québec aufgebaut werden. Auch Australien entwickelt einen eigenen innerstaatlichen Projekt-Mechanismus.

Die Entwicklung neuer Systeme kann als eine Reaktion auf die wahrgenommenen Mängel des CDM ausgelegt werden. Eine Analyse ihrer Ausgestaltung kann daher einen Beitrag zur Reform des CDM leisten, sodass dieser seine Funktion als Bindeglied im internationalen Kohlenstoffmarkt weiterhin ausfüllen kann. Das Projekt reflektierte daher die wahrgenommenen Probleme des CDM anhand der Stellungnahmen zur CDM-Reform dieser Jurisdiktionen sowie anhand der Entscheidungen, die sie in der Entwicklung ihrer eigenen Systeme getroffen haben.

Hauptergebnisse der Untersuchung sind:

Australian, Japan und Kalifornien lehnen alle den Einzelfall-bezogenen Ansatz des CDM hinsichtlich der Zusätzlichkeit von Projekten ausdrücklich ab. Stattdessen befürworten alle eine Ex-ante-Betrachtung der Zusätzlichkeit für ganze Klassen von Projekten. Dies halten sie nicht nur für effizienter und kostengünstiger, sondern auch für objektiver als eine Einzelfallbetrachtung. Eine stärkere Standardisierung des CDM könnte daher möglicherweise seine Chancen der Akzeptanz in den entstehenden Emissionshandelsystemen und im Rahmen bestehender Systeme verbessern.

Standardisierung ist jedoch mit erheblichem Aufwand verbunden. Während Standardisierung die Transaktionskosten im System insgesamt verringert, verschiebt es sie zeitlich nach vorn und verlagert sie von den Projektteilnehmern auf diejenigen, die standardisierte Methoden entwickeln. Die konkreten Erfahrungen aus Australien, Kalifornien und Japan unterstreichen dies. Ohne externe Unterstützung durch die Industrieländer dürfte Standardisierung die Kapazitäten der meisten Entwicklungsländer überfordern.

Die detaillierte Betrachtung der entstehenden Systeme zeigt, dass ihre Ansätze und Methoden oft dem CDM entliehen sind. Der "bottom-up"-Ansatz des CDM hat daher die "top-down"-Entwicklung neuer Systeme stark erleichtert. Das Innovationszentrum verschiebt sich allerdings zunehmend vom CDM weg, da andere Systeme sich schneller entwickeln können als das multilaterale System.

Dadurch, dass der CDM aufgrund des Mangels an Nachfrage zunehmend verschwindet und Kapazitäten verloren gehen, verschwindet auch seine Rolle als Methoden-Entwickler und de facto Standardsetzer, und die verschiedenen Systeme werden sich voraussichtlich immer weiter auseinander entwickeln. Die verbleibenden Kyoto-Staaten könnten diesen Trend verlangsamen, indem sie darin investieren, den CDM als Instrument zu erhalten, insbesondere seine Funktion der Methodenentwicklung, bis neuer Ehrgeiz im Klimaschutz für neue Nachfrage nach Zertifikaten sorgt. In der Zwischenzeit würde dies die Investition öffentlicher Mittel in neue Projekte und die Entwicklung neuer methodischer Ansätze erfordern. Eine Option könnte sein, die Erhöhung der Klimafinanzierung zu verwenden, die von den Industrieländern zugesagt worden ist. Der CDM ist eine sofort verfügbare Methode, messbare, berichtbare und überprüfbare Ergebnisse zu erzielen. Um Investitionen in neue CDM-Projekte auf die Klimafinanzierung anzurechnen, sollten die erzeugten Zertifikate nicht gleichzeitig auf die Emissionsziele des jeweiligen Landes angerechnet, sondern gelöscht werden, andernfalls würde dieser Ansatz zu Doppelzählungen führen.



Projektteam

Projektleitung

Mitarbeiter/-innen

Auftraggeber/Förderer

Projektpartner