Project for Setting Up a Virtual Institute "Transformation - Energy Transition NRW"

  • Project no.103165
  • Duration 10/2013 - 09/2014

Germany's Energy Transition constitutes a massive technological, economic, social and cultural challenge for North Rhine-Westphalia's society and its decision-makers from politics and business. With regard to the technological dimension of the energy transition, integrating renewable energies into the energy system and, at the same time, ensuring a high degree of energy security are among of the most important tasks. Other challenges are compatibility of different technological systems, limiting the costs of the overall process to maintain the international competitiveness of German companies, the need for investments and new infrastructures as well as limited resources. Furthermore, a great variety of different stakeholders, societal groups and political decision-makers need to get involved and bring in innovative impulses.

Being Germany's centre of industrial operations and energy production, the energy transition leads to special challenges for North Rhine-Westphalia. NRW is characterised by a high concentration of energy-intensive industries and accommodates full chains of value creation for numerous industrial branches or products. Furthermore, North Rhine-Westphalia features high spatial heterogenity ("Rheinschiene", "Ruhrgebiet", rural areas etc.). Considering socio-demographic parameters, NRW indicates the highest agglomeration of population in Europe and a high density of population with highly heterogeneous societal patterns. At the same time, North-Rhine Westphalia is home of excellent researchers with a large number of Universities and independent research institutes.

The sustainable transition of the energy supply system of NRW shall be scientifically accompanied and supported by the Virtual Institute (VI) "Transformation - Energy Transition NRW". This project shall prepare the set up of the VI, develop clusters of prioritised research topics and identify relevant research institutes, which could become part of the VI. The focus of the Virtual Institute is on socio-economic implications of the energy transition process under explicit consideration of North Rhine-Westphalia's specific framework conditions.

The project is commonly coordinated by the Wuppertal Institute and the Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities (KWI) of University Duisburg-Essen. The following three research clusters will be at the centre of the project:

  • Industrial Infrastructures (under responsibility of the Wuppertal Institute)
  • Governance and participation (under common responsibility of the Wuppertal Institute and the Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities/KWI)
  • Mentalities and behavioural patterns (under responsibility of the Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities/KWI).

Furthermore, the project team will develop a conceptual framework for realising the Virtual Institute.

After finalisation of the project, the ideas gathered and discussed by the consortium will be used for implementing the VI. This process will most likely start at the end of 2014. The VI will identify research questions with high relevance for the concrete implementation of the energy transition in North Rhine-Westphalia and formulate project ideas against this background. Furthermore, the VI will involve and connect Universities and research institutes in North Rhine Westphalia, which are actively working in this field and, thereby, help to strengthen NRW's research community.

The VI will scientifically accompany the implementation of the energy transition process and make a strong and continuous contribution to its successful realisation and the resulting structural change in NRW. Doing so, the Virtual Institute will produce background information for decision-makers from politics and business based on scientific analyses and knowledge. Furthermore, it will develop concepts for an improved public communication of strategies and targets of the energy transition as well as their impact. Assessments of the energy transition's impact on NRW's industry sector, concepts for communicating the aim and process of the energy transition to the public and approaches for extended public participation shall help decision-makers to derive and develop concrete and specified political measures.

Projekt zur Errichtung eines Virtuellen Instituts "Transformation - Energiewende NRW"

  • Projekt-Nr.103165
  • Laufzeit 10/2013 - 09/2014

Die Energiewende stellt die Gesellschaft, Politik und Wirtschaft in Nordrhein-Westfalen vor große technologische, ökonomische sowie soziale und kulturelle Herausforderungen. Technologisch ist vor allem die Systemintegration erneuerbarer Energien bei einer zeitgleichen Gewährleistung eines hohen Niveaus an Versorgungssicherheit/-qualität eine der zentralen Aufgaben. Weitere Aspekte dieser großen Transformation umfassen Kompatibilität, Investition und Kosten (inkl. Wettbewerbsfähigkeit), Infrastruktur und Ressourcen. Diese Herausforderungen betreffen unterschiedliche Stakeholder und gesellschaftliche Gruppen sowie die politischen Akteure. Generell sind sie ein Gradmesser der Innovationskraft NRWs.

Denn an Nordrhein-Westfalen als dem zentralen Energie- und Industriestandort in Deutschland stellt die Energiewende besondere Anforderungen. NRW zeichnet sich zum Beispiel durch seine industriellen Schwerpunkte, seine energieintensiven Branchen, die Abdeckung der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette industrieller Branchen oder Produkte und durch seine innere räumliche Differenzierung ("Rheinschiene", "Ruhrgebiet", ländliche Räume, etc.) aus. Soziodemographisch findet sich in NRW europaweit die größte Bevölkerungsagglomeration, insgesamt eine hohe Bevölkerungsdichte und eine umfassende Heterogenität der Gesellschaft. Zugleich ist NRW ein exzellentes Forschungsland, wie die Dichte seiner universitären und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen zeigt.

Der nachhaltige Umbau des Energieversorgungssystems in NRW soll zukünftig durch ein Virtuelles Institut (VI) "Transformation- Energiewende NRW" wissenschaftlich begleitet und unterstützt werden. Im vorliegenden Projekt zur Errichtung eines solchen Instituts sollen zum einen wichtige Themencluster und Forschungseinrichtungen erfasst werden, dabei liegt der Schwerpunkt auf den sozio-ökonomischen Implikationen der Energiewende unter Berücksichtigung der spezifischen nordrhein-westfälischen Rahmenbedingungen.

Das Projekt wird durch das Wuppertal Institut und das Kulturwissenschaftliche Institut (KWI) der Universität Duisburg-Essen koordiniert. Folgende drei Forschungscluster stehen dabei im Mittelpunkt:

  • Industrielle Infrastrukturen (Verantwortung liegt beim Wuppertal Institut)
  • Governance und Partizipation (gemeinsame Verantwortung des Wuppertal Instituts und des Kulturwissenschaftlichen Instituts)
  • Mentalitäten und Verhaltensmuster (Verantwortung liegt beim Kulturwissenschaftlichen Institut).

Zum anderen werden mögliche konzeptionelle Rahmenbedingungen für ein solches Institut aufgestellt.

Nach Abschluss des Projektes sollen die Ideen in die Umsetzung des Virtuellen Instituts einfließen, dieser Prozess wird voraussichtlich Ende 2014 starten. Das Virtuelle Institut soll dann zentrale Forschungsfragen identifizieren bezüglich der konkreten Umsetzung der Energiewende in Nordrhein-Westfalen und entsprechende Projektideen formulieren. Es wird in diesem Bereich tätige Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen des Landes NRW bündeln und vernetzen und damit zur Stärkung der Forschungslandschaft in NRW beitragen.

Das Virtuelle Institut

  • begleitet die Umsetzung der Energiewende wissenschaftlich und trägt somit im Sinne eines transformativen Forschungsansatzes einen wesentlichen und fortwährenden Beitrag zur erfolgreichen Gestaltung des Transformationsprozesses im Energiesystem und dem damit verbundenen Strukturwandel in NRW bei;
  • leistet aktive Impulse für Entscheidungsträger in Politik und Wirtschaft und stellt ihnen auf wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen basierende Hintergrundinformationen zur Verfügung;
  • entwickelt überdiesKonzepte für eine verbesserte öffentliche Kommunikation über die Strategien und Ziele der Energiewende sowie die mit der Umsetzung verbundenen Effekte. Die Untersuchung der Auswirkungen der Energietransformation auf nordrhein-westfälische Industriestrukturen, die Erarbeitung von Ansätzen zur gesellschaftlichen Vermittlung der Energiewende sowie der Möglichkeiten für eine stärkere gesellschaftliche Beteiligung helfen den Entscheidungsträgern bei der Ableitung und Entwicklung konkreter und zeitlich angepasster Maßnahmen.