EVIDENCE

EVIDENCE of the Proven Economic Benefits of Sustainable Transport Initiatives to Facilitate Effective Integration in Urban Mobility Plans

  • Project no.250037
  • Duration 03/2014 - 02/2017

The EVIDENCE project examined the notion that sustainable transport initiatives do not compete with "traditional" transport infrastructure in terms of delivering economic benefit.
One consequence of this perception is that potentially fewer of these initiatives or interventions are being made in cities, and consequently the implementation of Sustainable Urban Mobility Plans (SUMP) is less effective. In response, EVIDENCE set out to address three objectives:

  • To demonstrate that sustainable mobility interventions can offer good value, and do not compare poorly in comparison to infrastructure schemes (such as new roads).
  • To evidence how investments in sustainable mobility can foster economic activity.
  • To provide greater confidence in more sustainable solutions, and facilitate the communication of their benefits in appropriate language to allow cities to engage successfully with funders.

To help achieve these objectives, EVIDENCE collected, sifted and reviewed almost 1,000 items of source material for 22 categories of measure typically found in a SUMP. The extensive review and analysis found economic benefits across all 22 categories of sustainable mobility intervention, and extensive economy-relevant evidence for around a third of these. It is notable that, in around half of the cases, these economic benefits focussed around reduced use of private cars, and the indirect benefits such a reduction created in terms of reduced road congestion for other travellers, particularly those continuing to use private cars.

Armed with the "evidence", the project has engaged directly with member states who joined the EU post 2004, to ensure that these countries in particular are able to benefit from this work when promoting SUMPs to their cities. Engagement activities included workshops and round-table discussions with combinations of transport ministry representatives, transport planners and practitioners in each of the eleven new member states.

EVIDENCE

Faktensammlung zu den tatsächlichen ökonomischen Nutzen nachhaltiger Verkehrsmaßnahmen, um deren effektive Integration in Verkehrsentwicklungspläne zu erleichtern

  • Projekt-Nr.250037
  • Laufzeit 03/2014 - 02/2017

EVIDENCE hat sich mit der weitverbreiteten Ansicht befasst, dass nachhaltige Verkehrsmaßnahmen weniger ökonomischen Nutzen als "traditionelle" Infrastrukturprojekte mit sich bringen.    
Als Konsequenz dieser Wahrnehmung werden Städte nämlich möglicherweise weniger dieser nachhaltigen Initiativen umsetzen und infolgedessen sind ihre Verkehrsentwicklungspläne (Sustainable Urban Mobility Plans, SUMPs) weniger effektiv. EVIDENCE hatte daher drei Ziele:

  • Darzustellen, dass nachhaltige Mobilitätsinterventionen einen hohen ökonomischen Wert haben und im Vergleich zu Infrastruktur- bzw. Straßenbauprojekten nicht schlechter zu bewerten sind.
  • Aufzuzeigen, wie Investitionen in nachhaltige Mobilität ökonomische Aktivität befördern.
  • Für mehr Zuversicht zur Umsetzung nachhaltiger Lösungen zu sorgen und deren Nutzen Städten leicht vermittelbar zu machen, sodass diese besser auf die Wünsche von Geldgebern eingehen können.

Um diese Ziele zu erreichen, hat EVIDENCE fast 1.000 Quellen für Maßnahmen aus 22 Kategorien gesammelt, gesichtet und überprüft, die typischerweise in einem SUMP enthalten sind. Die umfassende Analyse ergab für alle 22 Kategorien nachhaltiger Mobilitätsinterventionen wirtschaftlichen Nutzen und für rund ein Drittel dieser Fälle sogar sehr großen. Es ist bemerkenswert, dass sich dieser Nutzen in etwa der Hälfte der Fälle durch die geringere Nutzung von privaten Pkw ergab und diese Reduzierung auch indirekten Nutzen in Form weniger Staus mit sich brachte, insbesondere für Autofahrer.

Bewaffnet mit diesem "Beweismaterial" hat sich das Projekt mit den neuen Mitgliedsstaaten der Europäischen Union (EU) auseinander gesetzt – also denjenigen, die der EU nach 2004 beigetreten sind. EVIDENCE stellte damit sicher, dass die Städte dieser Länder von der EU-Förderung von SUMPs profitieren können. Zu den Aktivitäten des Projektteams gehörten Workshops und Runde Tische mit Vertreterinnen und Vertretern des Verkehrsministeriums, sowie Verkehrsplanerinnen und Verkehrsplanern sowie anderen Praktikern in jedem der elf neuen Mitgliedstaaten.