ClimAccount

ACRP6 - Human Rights Accountability of the EU and Austria for Climate policies in Third Countries and their possible Effects on Migration

  • Project no.250064
  • Duration 03/2014 - 07/2016

Measures to address climate change can result in human rights violations when the rights of affected populations are not taken into consideration. Climate change projects in so-called "developing" countries are often financed and/or also implemented by industrialised countries. The project focused on the accountability of the EU and its Member States with regard to negative impacts of climate change measures they are involved in on human rights in third countries.

The core of the research study were three case studies of projects in the Kyoto Protocol's Clean Development Mechanism. Previous research had concluded that many host countries do not thoroughly investigate projects and that stakeholder consultations are often deficient. These points are borne out by the cases analysed in the project, two hydro power projects in Barro Blanco, Panama, and Bujagali, Uganda, and one geothermal energy project in Olkaria, Kenya. All three cases involve conflicts around resettlement and the consequent impairment of livelihoods as well as deficiencies in stakeholder consultations and impact assessments.

The question of holding the European Union (EU) and its member states accountable for human rights violations in this context is a particularly challenging one. Although the case for extraterritorial human rights obligations in this context is very hard to make, they play an important role in determining the expected conduct by states. This concerns in particular the obligation to refrain from conduct, which impairs the enjoyment of human rights outside of their territory.

To prevent negative impacts in future projects, international climate mechanisms should require all projects to undergo a human rights impact assessment with clear procedural requirements for stakeholder consultations. Moreover, projects should be required to monitor socio-economic impacts throughout their lifetime. In addition, the climate regime should establish an institutional grievance mechanism at the international level as well as require the establishment of a project-level grievance mechanism in high-risk projects.

ClimAccount

ACRP6 - Human Rights Accountability of the EU and Austria for Climate policies in Third Countries and their possible Effects on Migration

  • Projekt-Nr.250064
  • Laufzeit 03/2014 - 07/2016

Klimapolitische Maßnahmen können Menschenrechtsverletzungen zur Folge haben, wenn die Rechte der betroffenen Bevölkerung nicht berücksichtigt werden. Klimaschutzprojekte in den sogenannten Entwicklungsländern werden oft von Industrieländern finanziert und/oder umgesetzt. Das Projekt untersuchte die Verantwortung der Europäischen Union (EU) und ihrer Mitgliedsländer in Bezug auf negative Folgen von Klimaschutzmaßnahmen in Drittländern, an denen sie beteiligt sind.

Kern der Studie waren drei Fallstudien zu Projekten im Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) des Kyoto-Protokolls. Vorangegangene Studien kamen zum Ergebnis, dass die meisten Gastgeberstaaten Projekte nicht eingehend prüfen und die Einbeziehung der lokalen Bevölkerung oft mangelhaft ist. Diese Punkte werden von den Fällen unterstrichen, die in diesem Projekt untersucht wurden, zwei Wasserkraftprojekte in Barro Planco, Panama, und Bujagali, Uganda, sowie ein Geothermieprojekt in Olkaria, Kenia. In allen drei Fällen bestehen Konflikte zu Umsiedlungen und daraus folgenden Beeinträchtigungen der Lebensumstände sowie Defizite in der Einbeziehung der lokalen Bevölkerung und in der Folgenabschätzung.

Die Frage der Verantwortlichkeit der EU und ihrer Mitgliedstaaten für Menschenrechtsverletzungen in diesem Kontext ist besonders herausfordernd. Zwar ist in diesem Zusammenhang schwer zu argumentieren, dass extraterritoriale Staatenpflichten vorliegen, diese spielen jedoch eine wichtige Rolle, um festzulegen, welches Verhalten von Staaten erwartet wird. Dies betrifft insbesondere die Verpflichtung, von Verhalten abzusehen, das den Genuss der Menschenrechte außerhalb ihres Territoriums beeinträchtigt.

Um negative Folgen zukünftiger Projekte zu verhindern, sollten internationale Klimaschutzmechanismen alle Projekte einer Menschenrechtsverträglichkeitsprüfung unterziehen und klare Vorgaben für die Einbeziehung der lokalen Bevölkerung berücksichtigen. Während der gesamten Projektlaufzeit sollten auch die sozio-ökonomischen Auswirkungen überwacht werden. Darüber hinaus sollte das Klimaregime einen institutionellen Beschwerdemechanismus auf internationaler Ebene einrichten und zudem von besonders risikoreichen Projekten verlangen, ein Beschwerdeverfahren auf Projektebene einzurichten.