Development of an Energy Guideline for the German-Speaking Community of Belgium

  • Project no.1287
  • Duration 07/2012 - 04/2014

On behalf of the German-speaking community of Belgium, the Wuppertal Institute has created an energy guideline that focuses on the following aspects:

  • an energy - and CO2 balance,
  • a potential analysis of CO2 reduction as well as
  • a possible mission and vision statement, and
  • financing proposals

The energy guideline shows a feasible way for the region to make the start into a sustainable energy future until the year 2025. The energy guideline includes over 40 measures, which indicate the individual steps of implementation that are required by the stakeholders and persons in charge in order to achieve a restructuring of energy supplies as well as a modification of mobility, both in terms of climate and resource protection.
For this the following five fields of action are taken into account:

  • organisational and structural measures,
  • motivation and advice,
  • production of electricity and heat,
  • financing and funding, as well as
  • traffic.

Within the framework of an energy- and carbon footprint analysis, the Wuppertal Institute first estimated the present situation in the German speaking community. Already, 37% of the community's energy is being provided from renewable energies and from combined heat and power plants with low specific CO2 emissions. With an annual total energy consumption of 2,243 gigawatt hours, CO2 emissions in 2010 amount to a total of 608.200 tonnes, which is equivalent to approximately 8 tonnes CO2 emissions per capita. Thus, the emission level of the German speaking community today is already approximately 24% lower than the Belgian average.

The realisation of the addition as suggested by the Wuppertal Institute and the BET in their Climate++ scenario would measure up to a total of 45% of the electricity requirement of the German speaking community in Belgium in 2012 that originates in renewable energies or cogeneration. That means a reduction of emissions by 23% compared to 2010. Especially public buildings have been the focus of research on saving potentials. Results show that more than half of the current consumption in the heat sector can be saved. For the power sector, the saving potential is up to almost 70%. All in all, the study shows that the goal of a "balanced energy-self-sufficiency" cannot be reached without immense efforts. The experts come to the conclusion that it is unlikely to be achieved by 2025. Yet the effort to achieve it five or ten years later is still worthwhile.

Erstellung eines Energieleitbildes für die Deutschsprachige Gemeinschaft Belgiens

  • Projekt-Nr.1287
  • Laufzeit 07/2012 - 04/2014

Im Auftrag der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft Belgiens hat das Wuppertal Institut ein Energieleitbild erstellt, welches die folgenden Aspekte behandelt:

  • eine Energie- und CO2-Bilanz,
  • eine Potenzialanalyse zur CO2-Minderung sowie
  • ein mögliches Mission- und Visionstatement und
  • Finanzierungsvorschläge

Das Energieleitbild zeigt einen gangbaren Weg, wie die Region bis zum Jahr 2025 den Start in eine nachhaltige Energiezukunft schaffen kann.
Das Energieleitbild beinhaltet über 40 konkrete Maßnahmenvorschläge, die aufzeigen, welche einzelnen Umsetzungsschritte von den Akteuren und Handlungsträgern erforderlich sind, um eine Umstrukturierung der Energieversorgung und eine veränderte Mobilität im Sinne des Klima- und Ressourcenschutzes erreichen zu können. Dabei werden folgende fünf Handlungsfelder berücksichtigt:

  • organisatorische und strukturelle Maßnahmen,
  • Motivation und Beratung,
  • Erzeugung von Strom und Wärme,
  • Finanzieren und Fördern sowie
  • Verkehr.

Das Wuppertal Institut berechnete zunächst im Rahmen einer Energie- und CO2-Bilanz die Ist-Situation in der DG. Bereits 37 Prozent des Stroms in der DG werden durch erneuerbare Energien und die CO2-arme Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung bereitgestellt. Mit einem Energieverbrauch von jährlich insgesamt 2.243 Gigawattstunden beträgt der CO2-Ausstoß im Jahr 2010 insgesamt 608.200 Tonnen, was einer pro Kopf-CO2-Emission von rund 8 Tonnen entspricht. Damit liegt das Emissionsniveau der DG bereits heute rund 24 Prozent unter dem belgischen Durchschnitt.

Die Umsetzung des Zubaus gemäß dem vom Wuppertal Institut und dem BET erstellten Klima++-Szenario entspräche 45% der Menge des Strombedarfs der Deutschsprachigen Gemeinschaft Belgiens in 2012, die aus erneuerbaren Energien bzw. KWK gedeckt würden. Die Emissionsminderung beläuft sich in diesem Fall auf 23% im Vergleich zu 2010. Hinsichtlich der Einsparpotenziale wurden besonders die öffentlichen Gebäude untersucht. Hierbei ergaben die Berechnungen des Wuppertal Instituts, dass im Wärmebereich ein Einsparpotenzial von mehr als der Hälfte des bisherigen Verbrauchs vorhanden ist. Im Strombereich liegt das Einsparpotenzial sogar bei knapp 70%. Insgesamt kommt die Untersuchung zu dem Ergebnis, dass das Ziel der "bilanziellen Energieautarkie" nicht ohne erhebliche Anstrengungen erreichbar ist. Bis 2025 wird es nach Einschätzung der Gutachter wahrscheinlich nicht erreicht werden können. Doch alle Anstrengungen, das Ziel fünf bis zehn Jahre später zu erreichen, sind die Mühe Wert.


Weitere Projektinformationen

Links