8th Annual Meeting of the LCS-RNet

Organisation of the LCS-RNet's 8th Annual Meeting in Wuppertal

BMUB sponsored
  • Project no. 150658
  • Duration 11/2015 - 02/2017

On the 6th and 7th of September 2016, the 8th Annual Meeting of the LCS-RNet (Low Carbon Society Research Network) takes place in Wuppertal. The network was established in 2008 by the G8 Conference of Environmental Ministers and comprises independent scientific institutions, whereby Germany is represented by the Wuppertal Institute. The network aims at generating recommendations for the development towards a low-carbon society as well as supporting the exchange between industrial and emerging countries.

In the framework of this project (funding code 03KE0026), the LCS-RNet's Annual Meeting in Wuppertal should be organised adequately and promisingly. The Wuppertal Institute as Germany's scientific representative together with the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (BMUB) as the government tie to the network play an important role for the content-related design of the Meeting.

The content of the LCS-RNet's Annual Meeting 2016 is mainly determined by the international agreement reached at the COP 21 in Paris in December 2015, as the international debate has shifted to the question of how to implement the agreement.

  • As the industrialised countries strive for greenhouse gas neutrality by around 2050, the main focus is on objectives, plans and roadmaps for deep decarbonisation.
  • The emerging countries have to develop concepts for decarbonisation and use the opportunity for "leap frogging" as well since they also strive for greenhouse gas neutrality (albeit in a more distant future).
  • Decarbonisation pathways for international air and maritime traffic could be discussed, as these sectors should also function in a GHG neutral way.
  • Financial instruments should be developed and implemented which redirect capital flows into supporting the decarbonisation of the energy system.
  • The Meeting is supposed to generate useful impulses for German climate politics and should contribute to a beneficial framework for a global energy transition.

8. LCS-RNet Jahreskonferenz

Inhaltliche Ausgestaltung und Vorbereitung der 8. Jahreskonferenz des LCS-RNet in Wuppertal

BMUB gefördert
  • Projekt-Nr.150658
  • Laufzeit 11/2015 - 02/2017

Am 6./7. September 2016 findet die 8. Jahreskonferenz des LCS-RNet (Low Carbon Society Research Network) in Wuppertal statt. Das Netzwerk wurde 2008 auf der G8-Umweltministerkonferenz beschlossen und setzt sich aus unabhängigen wissenschaftlichen Instituten zusammen, wobei das Wuppertal Institut aus Deutschland vertreten ist. Ziel des Netzwerkes ist es, Empfehlungen für die Entwicklung einer klimafreundlichen Gesellschaft zu generieren und den Erfahrungsaustausch zwischen Industrie- und Schwellenländern zu fördern.

Im Rahmen dieses Projekts (Förderkennzeichen 03KE0026 beim BMUB) soll die Jahreskonferenz in Wuppertal sinnvoll und erfolgversprechend ausgestaltet werden. Das Wuppertal Institut als wissenschaftlicher Vertreter spielt gemeinsam mit dem BMUB als Regierungskontakt zum Netzwerk eine wichtige Rolle in der inhaltlichen Ausgestaltung der Konferenz.

Inhaltlich wird die LCS-RNet Jahreskonferenz 2016 vor allem durch den Abschluss der internationalen Vereinbarung im Rahmen der COP 21 in Paris 2015 geprägt, da nun weltweit die Frage der Umsetzung der getroffenen Vereinbarungen diskutiert wird.

  • Da die Industriestaaten nun Treibhausgasneutralität bis ca. 2050 anstreben, liegt der Fokus auf Zielen, Plänen und Aktionsprogrammen zur weitgehenden nationalen Dekarbonisierung.
  • Da auch die Schwellenländer Treibhausgasneutralität anstreben (wenngleich später), müssen diese ebenfalls Dekarbonisierungskonzepte entwickeln und die Möglichkeiten des "Leap-frogging" nutzen.
  • Dekarbonisierungspfade des internationalen Flug- und Seeverkehrs könnten diskutiert werden, da diese Sektoren treibhausgasneutral funktionieren sollen.
  • Es sollen Finanzinstrumente entwickelt und umgesetzt werden, die Kapital in die Dekarbonisierung der Energiesysteme lenken.
  • Die Konferenz soll wichtige Impulse für die deutsche Klimapolitik generieren und dazu beitragen, auch international einen förderlichen Rahmen der Energiewende zu schaffen.