Book Project "Sustainable Energy Strategy for Iran"

  • Project no. 150126
  • Duration 06/2014 - 12/2015

Iran is a country endowed with rich natural resources, including high amounts of fossil and renewable energies and a young and growing population. If properly utilised and appreciated, these are key assets for a bright future. However, due to low energy prices, subsidised energy consumption and other factors today Iran has a high per-capita energy consumption and very low economic output per unit of energy consumed. Furthermore, low energy prices and subsidies constitute a major hurdle to innovation and economic development, have a negative impact on the public budget and foster environmental pollution.

The book shows that the implementation of a sustainable energy strategy in Iran provides the opportunity for further economic and social development. In this context, the aim of the book is to provide some of the analyses needed to rethink the country's energy strategy and to grasp the chances. The authors hope to make a contribution to the emerging and rapidly growing discussion within Iran as well as between Iran and other countries such as Germany on better energy alternatives and the respective opportunities for investment, innovation and modernisation. The work presented in the book should provide ideas for such opportunities and create a vision of how this could contribute towards developing a more sustainable, efficient and prosperous future energy system for Iran.

The book is based on long-term academic cooperation between Iranian researchers from several universities and the Iranian Energy Association and German researchers from the Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy, Büro Ö-quadrat and the University of Osnabrück. The initiative started in 2003 to assemble acquired knowledge on strategies regarding sustainable energy and make the most recent and up-to-date research accessible to Iran and its scientific and political institutions. The book in hand is an important result of the collaboration. So its publication lends itself to taking stock of these twelve years of continued cooperation.

Buchprojekt "Sustainable Energy Strategy for Iran"

  • Projekt-Nr.150126
  • Laufzeit 06/2014 - 12/2015

Iran ist reich an natürlichen Ressourcen wie fossilen Energieträgern und Quellen erneuerbarer Energie. Zudem hat das Land eine junge, wachsende Bevölkerung. Intelligent genutzt sind dies die Faktoren für eine positive Zukunft in Hinblick auf die Energieversorgung. Entwicklungen der verganenen Jahre stellen das Land jedoch vor Herausforderun­gen: Der Energieverbrauch sowie die Energieintensität sind stark gestiegen und führen z. B. zu Umweltverschmutzung; niedrige Energiepreise hemmen Innovationen und wirtschaftliche Entwicklung und belasten das Staatsbudget.

Das Buch "Sustainable Energy Strategy for Iran" zeigt auf, dass die Umsetzung einer nachhaltigen Energiestrategie in Iran die Chance auf wirtschaftliche und soziale Wei­terentwicklung bietet. Auf Basis der im Buch durchgeführten Analysen soll es möglich sein, die landesspezifische Energiestrategie zu hinterfragen und mit Blick auf die dargestellten Lösungsvorschläge zu überdenken. Das Buch kann einen Beitrag zur zunehmenden Diskussion über alternative Energien und damit verbundene Möglichkeiten in den Bereichen Investition, Innovation und Modernisierung leisten, die innerhalb Irans sowie zwischen Iran und weiteren Ländern, wie z. B. Deutschland, geführt wird. Das Buch versucht eine Vision zu entwerfen, wie eine veränderte energiepolitische Strategie zur Entwicklung eines nachhaltigeren, effizienteren und erfolgreichen zukünftigen iranischen Energysystems beitragen kann.

Das Buch basiert auf einer langjährigen Zusam­menarbeit zwischen iranischen Wissenschaf­tler(inne)n verschiedener Universitäten und der Iranian Energy Association sowie deutschen Wissenschaftler(inne)n vom Wupper­tal Institut, dem Büro Ö-quadrat und der Universität Osnabrück. Die Initiative wurde 2003 ins Leben gerufen, um vorhandenes Wissen zu Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien zu sammeln und Iran und seinen wissenschaftlichen und politischen Institutionen zugängig zu machen. Dieses Buch stellt ein wichtiges Ergebnis und eine Zusammenfassung der Arbeiten der zwölfjährigen Kooperation dar.