EGCA Expert Panel for the European Green Capital Award

  • Project no.651108
  • Duration 12/2016 - 11/2017

Since 2010, the European Commission recognises and rewards environmentally friendly cities within the competition "European Green Capital Award". The title is given each year to a city that is leading the way in environmentally friendly urban living and can act as a role-model to inspire other cities. In the competition, cities present their environmental performance in 12 indicators. Eligable to particpate were cities of at least 200,000 inhabitants and since 2016 cities of at least 100,000 inhabitants. The European Green Capitals to date are: Stockholm (2010), Hamburg (2011), Vitoria-Gasteiz (2012), Nantes (2013), Kopenhagen (2014), Bristol (2015), Ljubljana (2016), Essen (2017) und Nijmegen (2018).

Since 2015, the additional competition "European Green Leaf" recognises small cities (20,000-100,000 inhabitants) for their environmental performances. Applying cities present their environmental performance in six topic areas. European Green Leaves to date are: Mollet del Vallès and Torres Vedras (both 2016) and Galway (2017).

The competition consists of a two-tier evaluation process. First, an expert panel assesses the information supplied by each city and selects the shortlisted finalists. Next, the shortlisted cities present their action plans and communication strategies to a jury that selects the winners.

Since 2013, Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick is a member of the expert panel to evaluate the city applications in the indicator "Energy Performance" for the European Green Capital Award and since 2015 additionally the topic area "Climate Change and Energy Performance" for the European Green Leaf.


Further project information

Links


Project team

Staff

Client/sponsor

Cookie Settings

Cookies help us to constantly improve the website for you. By clicking on the "Allow cookies" button, you agree to the use of cookies. For further information on the use of cookies or to change your settings, please click on More about the use and rejection of cookies.

EGCA Expert Panel for the European Green Capital Award

  • Projekt-Nr.651108
  • Laufzeit 12/2016 - 11/2017

Seit 2010 zeichnet die Europäische Kommission jedes Jahr im Rahmen eines europaweiten Wettbewerbs eine Stadt mit dem "European Green Capital Award" aus. Der Preis wird an Städte vergeben, die hohe Umweltstandards erfüllen, sich ambitionierte Ziele für zukünftige Verbesserungen setzen und damit eine Vorbildfunktion für andere Städte einnehmen ("best practices"). In dem Wettbewerb stellen die teilnehmenden Städte ihre umweltorientierte Stadtentwicklung in zwölf Themenfeldern dar. Teilnahmeberechtigt waren seit dem Jahr 2010 Städte mit mehr als 200.000 Einwohnern und seit 2016 Städte mit mehr als 100.000 Einwohnern. Die bisherigen Preisträger sind Stockholm (2010), Hamburg (2011), Vitoria-Gasteiz (2012), Nantes (2013), Kopenhagen (2014), Bristol (2015), Ljubljana (2016), Essen (2017) und Nijmegen (2018).

Parallel dazu wird seit 2015 der Wettbewerb "European Green Leaf" für Kleinstädte (20.000-100.000 Einwohner) durchgeführt. Die Kleinstädte stellen ihre umweltorientierte Stadtentwicklung in sechs Themenfeldern dar. Die bisherigen Preisträger sind Mollet del Vallès und Torres Vedras (beide 2016) und Galway (2017).

Der Wettbewerb wird in einem zweistufigen Verfahren durchgeführt: Zunächst evaluiert ein zwölfköpfiges Expertengremium die Wettbewerbsunterlagen der Bewerberstädte und wählt die Finalisten aus. Aus der Finalistengruppe kürt eine Jury die "European Green Capital" und die "European Green Leaves".

Seit 2013 ist Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick, Vizepräsident des Wuppertal Instituts, Mitglied im Expertengremium zur Bewertung der Städtebewerbungen im Themenfeld "Energy Performance" für den European Green Capital Award. Seit 2015 ist er zusätzlich im Gremium für das Themenfeld "Climate Change and Energy Performance" für den European Green Leaf Award.


Weitere Projektinformationen

Links


Projektteam

Projektleitung

Mitarbeiter/-innen

Auftraggeber/Förderer