FlexTherm

Thermal Flexibility of Aluminium-Electrolysis

Logos
  • Project no.151193
  • Duration 08/2017 - 10/2020

In the sustainable energy system of the future, power generation will be provided by renewable energy sources, with the predominant part being provided by fluctuating energy sources such as wind and solar energy. It must therefore be expected that fluctuations in power generation will increase significantly in the future. In order to stabilise the electricity system, all conceivable balancing options will have to be used, i. e. in addition to the direct storage of electricity and improved transport through grid expansion, indirect storage (keyword: Power-to-X), but also the adaptation of electricity demand to supply.

Large-scale consumers of electricity, such as those in the energy-intensive industry, will no longer purchase electricity just according to their needs, but should, if possible, be prepared for at least partially flexible electricity purchases.

Such preparation is done for a location of the aluminium industry in Essen, where one of three aluminium electrolysis plants from TRIMET Aluminium SE will be made more flexible by retrofitting the existing plant. The performance of the plant can then be varied by approx. 25 per cent; the storage potential provided is expected to reach a volume of around 1,000 MWh (approximately the same size as a medium-sized pumped storage power plant).

The modification is supported by three chairs (automation technology/computer science; materials engineering; fluid mechanics) of the Bergische Universität Wuppertal and the Light Metals Reseach Centre of the University of Auckland. The Research Group Future Energy and Mobility Structures at the Wuppertal Institute provides the framework by the accompanying scientific research:

  • How big will the actual demand for flexibility in the electricity system of the future be?
  • Which of the various balancing options (grid expansion, direct and indirect storage of electricity, flexibility) is the most cost-effective at which point in time?
  • How big is the flexibility potential of the energy-intensive industry as a whole and of the aluminium industry as a subset? How does this potential change under the boundary conditions of the German Energiewende (energy transition)? (keyword: decarbonisation of industry)?
  • How must the framework conditions be designed so that the flexibility potential of industrial processes can actually be used?
  • What possible repercussions must be taken into account for industrial processes, such as losses in efficiency?

In order to answer these and similar questions, the Wuppertal Institute's comprehensive instrumentation for modelling future energy and electricity systems will be used, or the existing models will be extended and expanded, respectively.

In addition to these energy system studies, the effects of making the energy system more flexible on important products of the energy-intensive raw materials industry will be examined. Furthermore, findings on the entrepreneurial decision on investment measures with regard to measures for realising flexibility are collected, which provide information on possible and necessary policy instruments for the management and structuring of flexibility markets. It is always taken into account that Germany as an industrial location should be preserved as such (no carbon leakage abroad), but should be based on sustainable material flows.

The project is funded by the European Regional Development Fund (EFRE) for a total of almost EUR 400,000 over a three-year period.

FlexTherm

Thermische Flexibilisierung der Aluminium-Elektrolyse

Logos
  • Projekt-Nr.151193
  • Laufzeit 08/2017 - 10/2020

Im nachhaltigen Energiesystem der Zukunft wird die Stromerzeugung regenerativ, und zwar zum überwiegenden Teil durch fluktuierende Energieträger wie Wind und Sonne bereitgestellt werden. Es muss daher damit gerechnet werden, dass die Schwankungen in der Stromerzeugung zukünftig deutlich zunehmen. Um das Stromsystem zu stabilisieren, werden alle denkbaren Ausgleichsoptionen eingesetzt werden müssen, also neben der direkten Speicherung von Strom und dem verbesserten Transport durch Netzausbau auch die indirekte Speicherung (Stichwort: Power-to-X), aber eben auch die Anpassung der Stromnachfrage an das Angebot.

Großverbraucher von Strom wie in der energieintensiven Industrie werden Strom nicht mehr nur entsprechend ihres Bedarfs beziehen, sondern sollten sich, wenn möglich, auf einen zumindest teil-flexibilisierten Strombezug einstellen.

Eine solche Vorbereitung geschieht für einen Standort der Aluminium-Industrie in Essen, wo eine von drei Aluminium-Elektrolysen der Firma TRIMET Aluminium SE durch Umrüstung der bestehenden Anlage flexibilisiert wird. Die Leistung der Anlage kann dann um ca. 25 Prozent variiert werden; das entsprechend bereitgestellte Speicherpotenzial soll einen Umfang von rund 1.000 MWh erreichen (in etwa die Größenordnung eines mittelgroßen Pumpspeicherkraftwerkes).

Die Umrüstung wird von drei Lehrstühlen (Automatisierungstechnik/Informatik; Werkstofftechnik; Strömungsmechanik) der Bergischen Universität Wuppertal sowie dem Light Metals Reseach Centre der Universität Auckland messtechnisch unterstützt. Die Forschungsgruppe Zukunftsfähige Energie- und Mobilitätsstrukturen des Wuppertal Instituts gibt mit der wissenschaftlichen Begleitforschung den Rahmen:

  • Wie hoch wird der tatsächliche Bedarf an Flexibilität im Stromsystem der Zukunft ausfallen?
  • Welche der verschiedenen Ausgleichsoptionen (Netzausbau, direkte und indirekte Speicherung von Strom, Flexibilität) ist zu welchem Zeitpunkt die günstigste?
  • Wie hoch ist das Flexibilitäts-Potenzial der energieintensiven Industrie insgesamt und der Aluminium-Industrie als Teilmenge? Wie ändert sich dieses Potenzial unter den Randbedingungen der Energiewende (Stichwort: Dekarbonisierung der Industrie)?
  • Wie müssen die Rahmenbedingungen gestaltet werden, damit das Flexibilitätspotenzial industrieller Prozesse auch gehoben werden kann?
  • Welche eventuellen Rückwirkungen sind auf die industriellen Prozesse zu berücksichtigen; etwa Einbußen in der Effizienz?

Zur Beantwortung dieser und ähnlicher Fragestellungen wird unter anderem auf das umfangreiche Instrumentarium des Wuppertal Instituts zur Modellierung zukünftiger Energie- und Stromsysteme zugegriffen bzw. werden die bestehenden Modelle erweitert und ausgebaut.

Neben diesen energiesystemischen Untersuchungen werden die Auswirkungen der Flexibilisierung des Energiesystems auf wichtige Produkte der energieintensiven Grundstoffindustrie betrachtet. Zudem werden Erkenntnisse bezüglich der unternehmerischen Entscheidung zu Investitionsmaßnahmen im Hinblick auf Maßnahmen zur Realisierung von Flexibilität gesammelt, die Aufschlüsse über mögliche und notwendige Politikinstrumente zur Steuerung und Ausgestaltung von Flexibilitätsmärkten geben. Dabei wird stets bedacht, dass der Industriestandort Deutschland als solcher erhalten bleiben soll (kein Carbon-Leakage ins Ausland), aber auf nachhaltigen Stoffströmen basieren soll.

Das Vorhaben wird in Höhe von insgesamt knapp 400.000 Euro durch den Europäischen Fond für Regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) über eine Laufzeit von drei Jahren gefördert.