EnerDigit

Energy Transition and Digitalisation between Decentralisation and Centralisation: Regional and Corporate Cultural Perspectives

  • Project no.451242
  • Duration 01/2018 - 06/2019

The infrastructure of the energy transition does not only consist of the expansion of renewable energies by means of high-voltage lines, substations, storage power stations, etc. Successful (transition) design requires intelligent networking and control of the numerous decentralised producers and consumers. Accordingly, the energy system of the so-called "Energy Transition 2.0" is to be understood as a socio-technical energy system that can only be implemented by supporting information technologies, complex control and distribution systems and integrated communication and monitoring applications – so called smart grids. An intelligent, decentralised, flexible networking of energy systems with production and distribution systems, as discussed as "Industry 4.0", is therefore obvious. Digitalisation and the energy transition must therefore be considered together.

The research and concept project EnerDigit focuses on the digitalisation of the energy transition 2.0 with a focus on the aspects of decentralization and centrality. The overriding concern is to contribute to the success of a digital and energy transformation of industry in North Rhine-Westphalia (NRW). The focal points of the investigation are:

  •  the analysis of the decentralised and central elements that emerge in the networking and control of industrial production processes through digitalisation and energy transition 2.0
  •  to gain an in-depth insight into digitalisation processes in the context of the energy transition from a company perspective/perspective of value creation networks (based on case studies of selected companies) and to understand their effects on the operational actors
  •   to develop (action) approaches for an intelligently controlled but decentralised, participative transformation of the industrial sector and the energy sector

EnerDigit is a joint project of the Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy, the Essen Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities and the Institute for Work and Technology within the Virtual Institute "Transformation - Energiewende NRW". The work of the Wuppertal Institute focuses in particular on carrying out case studies to empirically examine digitalisation and the energy transition from the perspective of companies and value creation networks (WP 3) and on drawing conclusions and developing approaches (WP 4).

The project is funded by the Ministry of Economics, Innovation, Digitalisation and Energy of North Rhine-Westphalia.

EnerDigit

Energiewende und Digitalisierung zwischen Dezentralität und Zentralität: Regionale und unternehmenskulturelle Perspektiven

  • Projekt-Nr.451242
  • Laufzeit 01/2018 - 06/2019

Die Infrastruktur der Energiewende besteht nicht nur aus dem Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien mittels Hochspannungsleitungen, Umspannstationen, Speicherkraftwerken und dergleichen. Um sie erfolgreich zu gestalten gilt es, eine intelligente Vernetzung und Steuerung der zahlreichen dezentralen Produzenten und Verbraucher zu erzielen. Das Energiesystem der sogenannten "Energiewende 2.0" ist dementsprechend als ein sozio-technisches Energiesystem zu verstehen, das  nur mittels Unterstützung von Informationstechnologien, komplexen Steuerungs- und Verteilsystemen sowie integrierter Kommunikations- und Überwachungsanwendungen – auch Smart Grids genannt – realisierbar ist. Eine intelligente, dezentrale und flexible Vernetzung der Energiesysteme mit den Produktions- und Distributionssystemen, wie sie als "Industrie 4.0" diskutiert wird, liegt auf der Hand. Digitaltisierung und Energiewende müssen daher gemeinsam betrachetet werden.

Im Rahmen des Forschungs- und Konzeptionsprojekts EnerDigit wird die Digitalisierung der Energiewende 2.0 mit einem Fokus auf Dezentralität und Zentralität beleuchtet. Das übergeordnete Anliegen ist es, einen Beitrag zum Gelingen einer digitalen und energetischen Transformation der Industrie in Nordrhein-Westfalen zu leisten. Schwerpunkte der Untersuchung sind:

  • die Analyse der dezentralen und zentralen Elemente, die sich in der Vernetzung und Steuerung industrieller Produktionsprozesse durch Digitalisierung und Energiewende 2.0 abzeichnen,
  • vertiefenden Einblick in Digitalisierungsprozesse im Kontext der Energiewende aus Unternehmensperspektive / Perspektive von Wertschöpfungsnetzwerken zu gewinnen (anhand von Fallstudien ausgewählter Unternehmen) und deren Auswirkungen auf die betrieblichen Akteure zu verstehen und
  •  einen (Handlungs-)Ansätze einer intelligent gesteuerten und dennoch dezentralen, partizipativ angelegten Transformation des Industriesektors und des Energiesektors zu entwickeln.

EnerDigit ist ein gemeinsames Projekt des Wuppertal Instituts, des Kulturwissenschaftlichen Instituts Essen und des Instituts Arbeit und Technik im Rahmen des Virtuellen Instituts "Transformation – Energiewende NRW". Die Arbeiten des Wuppertal Instituts sind insbesondere darauf ausgerichtet Fallstudien durchzuführen, um Digitalisierung und Energiewende aus der Perspektive von Unternehmen und Wertschöpfungsnetzwerken empirisch zu untersuchen (AP 3) sowie an der Erarbeitung von Schlussfolgerungen und Handlungsansätzen (AP 4) beteiligt.

Das Projekt wird durch das Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen gefördert.