PuR

Precycling for Increased Resource Efficiency: Systemic Solutions to Reduce Packaging

  • Project no.351743
  • Duration 05/2019 - 04/2024

No European country produces more packaging waste than Germany – in 2016 the amount reached a peak of 18.6 million tonnes. The quantity of plastic packaging waste alone has almost doubled since 1995. The level and increase in the volume of sales packaging reflect changes in consumption patterns. They are related to the trend to assign more and more functions such as marketing, logistics and portioning to packaging. The stakeholder constellations and the associated interests are correspondingly complex. To overcome existing path dependencies, a systemic view of packaging prevention and communication between the various stakeholders is needed.

This is where the junior research group "PuR" sets in: it integrates various disciplinary perspectives on the topic to identify approaches for practices requiring little or no packaging. These should lead to the conservation of natural resources. The research project analyses the interplay between individual factors, socio-technical dependencies, political framework conditions, economic conditions and cultural consumption patterns based on three case studies from the food and drugstore sectors.

The junior research group "PuR" consists of two habilitation projects and four doctoral projects. The group is a cooperative project of the Wuppertal Institute and the TU Berlin. It is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) within the framework programme "Research for Sustainable Development" (FONA).


Supported by BMBF
Social-Ecological Research
PUR

Further project information

Links

PuR

Mit PreCycling zu mehr Ressourceneffizienz: Systemische Lösungen der Verpackungsvermeidung

  • Projekt-Nr.351743
  • Laufzeit 05/2019 - 04/2024

Kein Land in Europa verursacht mehr Verpackungsabfall als Deutschland – im Jahr 2016 erreichte das Aufkommen einen Spitzenwert von 18,6 Millionen Tonnen. Die Menge an Verpackungsmüll hat sich allein bei Kunststoffverpackungen gegenüber dem Jahr 1995 fast verdoppelt. Die Höhe und die Zunahme des Aufkommens von Verkaufsverpackungen sind Ausdruck veränderter Konsummuster. Das hängt damit zusammen, dass Verpackungen heute immer mehr Funktionen zugewiesen werden, wie etwa Marketing, Logistik und Portionierung. Entsprechend komplex sind die Akteurskonstellationen und die einhergehenden Interessen. Um bestehende Pfadabhängigkeiten zu überwinden, braucht es daher einen systemischen Blick auf Verpackungsvermeidung und eine Vermittlung zwischen den verschiedenen Akteurinnen und Akteuren.

Hier setzt die Nachwuchsgruppe PuR an: Sie integriert verschiedene disziplinäre Perspektiven auf das Thema, um Ansatzpunkte für die Etablierung verpackungsarmer bzw. verpackungsfreier Praktiken zu identifizieren. Diese sollen letztendlich zur Einsparung natürlicher Ressourcen führen. Das Forschungsprojekt analysiert das Wechselspiel zwischen individuellen Faktoren, sozio-technischen Abhängigkeiten, politischen Rahmenbedingungen, ökonomischen Bedingungen und kulturellen Konsummustern anhand von drei Fallbeispielen aus dem Lebensmittel- und Drogeriesektor.

Die PuR-Nachwuchsgruppe setzt sich aus zwei Habilitations- und vier Promotionsvorhaben zusammen. Sie ist ein Kooperationsprojekt des Wuppertal Instituts und der Technischen Universität Berlin. Gefördert wird sie durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) innerhalb des Rahmenprogramms "Forschung für Nachhaltige Entwicklungen" (FONA).

 


Gefördert von BMBF
Sozial-Ökologische Forschung
PUR