NaKESt

Sustainable Municipal Development in Structural Change

  • Project no.152008
  • Duration 10/2019 - 10/2021

While structural transition poses considerable challenges for German lignite regions, it also offers opportunities to create long-term economically, ecologically and socially sustainable change. For some years now, the issue of structural change in coal regions has been linked more closely with the development of climate protection strategies. The aim is to combine structural change in the economic system with ambitious climate policy as well as social participation and social justice.
Following the EU's New Green Deal and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), outlined in the Agenda 2030, the project aims to promote the integration of structural and sustainability policy at the municipal level in four German coal regions: Lausitz, Rheinisches Revier, Mitteldeutsches Revier und Helmstedter Revier.

Based on content and stakeholder analyses, workshops with stakeholders and qualitative interviews, the following central questions will be answered:
How can we ensure that regional development supported by structural funding not only focuses on economic stabilisation, but also addresses synergies with ecological and social sustainability goals? What conditions must be created in order to achieve this? Which actors need to be mobilised? How can conflicts of aims be resolved?

A group of experts, including key stakeholders from the economic, social and political sectors will accompany the project. As part of the research project, recommendations for federal, state and local authorities will be developed, and technical brochures on sustainable structural change will be produced.

The project consortium is led by the Wuppertal Institute and consists of the ifo Institute, Dresden and the Institute for Transformation, Housing and Socio-Spatial Development at the University of Applied Sciences Zittau/Görlitz (TRAWOS).

NaKESt

Nachhaltige KommunalEntwicklung im Strukturwandel

  • Projekt-Nr.152008
  • Laufzeit 10/2019 - 10/2021

Der Strukturwandel stellt die deutschen Braunkohleregionen vor erhebliche Herausforderungen, bietet aber zugleich auch die Chance, den Wandel ökonomisch, ökologisch und sozial nachhaltig zu gestalten. Seit einigen Jahren wird das Thema Strukturwandel in Kohleregionen stärker mit der Entwicklung von Klimaschutzstrategien verknüpft. Die Zielsetzung ist es, den Strukturwandel im Wirtschaftssystem mit ambitionierter Klimapolitik sowie gesellschaftlicher Partizipation und sozialer Gerechtigkeit zusammenzudenken.
Das Projekt NaKESt – Nachhaltige KommunalEntwicklung im Strukturwandel zielt darauf ab, die Struktur- und Nachhaltigkeitspolitik in den vier deutschen Braunkohleregionen Lausitz, Rheinisches Revier, Mitteldeutsches Revier und Helmstedter Revier auf kommunaler Ebene voranzutreiben und miteinander zu verknüpfen. Orientierung hierfür liefern der EU New Green Deal und die in der Agenda 2030 festgeschriebenen Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Die Forschenden setzen Inhalts- und Akteursanalysen, Workshops mit Stakeholdern sowie qualitative Interviews ein. Dabei geht es um die Klärung folgender zentraler Fragen:
Wie kann es gelingen, dass die mit Strukturförderung unterstützte Regionalentwicklung nicht nur die ökonomische Stabilisierung der Regionen in den Blick nimmt, sondern auch Synergien mit ökologischen und sozialen Nachhaltigkeitszielen schafft und nutzt? Welche Rahmenbedingungen müssen dafür geschaffen werden? Welche Akteure lassen sich gewinnen? Wie können Zielkonflikte aufgelöst werden?

Ein Kreis aus Expertinnen und Experten aus wirtschaftlichen, gesellschaftlichen und politischen Prozessen begleitet die Arbeiten des Projekts. Die Forschenden entwickeln Empfehlungen für Bund, Länder und Kommunen und erstellen Fachbroschüren zum nachhaltigen Strukturwandel.

Das Wuppertal Institut leitet das Projektkonsortium, zu dem auch das ifo – Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung e. V., Dresden und das Institut für Transformation, Wohnen und soziale Raumentwicklung der Hochschule Zittau/Görlitz (TRAWOS) gehören.