SINTEG-SYN

Comprehensive Synthesis of Results for the Support Programme "Smart Energy Showcase – Digital Agenda for the Energy Transition" (SINTEG)

  • Project no.251950
  • Duration 11/2019 - 09/2022

How can Germany be supplied with renewable energies nationwide, and how can a reliable and economic energy supply be ensured? Answers to these questions are sought by the five model regions which are funded by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy's "Smart Energy Showcase – Digital Agenda for the Energy Transition" (SINTEG) programme.

A project team, which includes researchers of the Wuppertal Institute, is now synthesising the results of SINTEG. The aim of SINTEG-SYN ("Comprehensive synthesis of results for the funding programme 'Smart Energy Showcase – Digital Agenda for the Energy Transition'" (SINTEG), Project 026/19 on behalf of the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy) is to document the knowledge gained by the SINTEG model regions, to identify, synthesize and interpret the results and to communicate them to the main stakeholders from the business, public and political sector as well as to the interested public.

The synthesis of results is categorised into five subject areas:

  • potential for flexibility/coupling of sectors
  • network-related flexibility mechanisms
  • digitalisation
  • pioneer for real-world laboratories
  • participation and acceptance

In cooperation with IFOK, the Wuppertal Institute works on the subject area "participation and acceptance". The importance of this topic becomes apparent when reminding oneself that without the inclusion of society, energy transition cannot succeed. For energy transition in Germany to be successful, public acceptance of related technologies, digital systems and business models is crucial. In order to increase acceptance, the added value of energy transition for the public must be clearly and comprehensively demonstrated and communicated. In addition, the participation of the public "at eye level" is a key aspect to foster public acceptance of energy transition.

SINTEG-SYN

Übergreifende Ergebnissynthese zum Förderprogramm "Schaufenster intelligente Energie – Digitale Agenda für die Energiewende (SINTEG)"

  • Projekt-Nr.251950
  • Laufzeit 11/2019 - 09/2022

Wie kann Deutschland flächendeckend mit erneuerbaren Energien versorgt werden und dabei eine verlässliche und wirtschaftliche Energieversorgung sicherstellen? Um die Beantwortung dieser Fragen geht es in den fünf Modellregionen des Förderprogramms "Schaufenster intelligente Energie – Digitale Agenda für die Energiewende" (SINTEG) des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi).

Ein Projektteam unter Beteiligung von Forschenden des Wuppertal Instituts nimmt innerhalb des Vorhabens "Übergreifende Ergebnissynthese zum Förderprogramm 'Schaufenster intelligente Energie – Digitale Agenda für die Energiewende (SINTEG)'" (Projekt 026/19 im Auftrag des BMWi) eine Synthese der abschließenden Ergebnisse der Ende 2020 auslaufenden SINTEG-Schaufensterprojekte vor. Ziel ist es, die Erkenntnisse aus den Modellregionen zu sichern und die Resultate für die wichtigsten Zielgruppen Wirtschaft, öffentlicher Sektor, Politik und interessierte Öffentlichkeit zu identifizieren, zusammenzuführen, zu interpretieren und zu kommunizieren.

Die Ergebnissynthese findet dabei in fünf verschiedenen Themenfeldern statt:

  • Flexibilitätspotentiale/Sektorenkopplung
  • Netzdienliche Flexibilitätsmechanismen
  • Digitalisierung
  • Pionier für Reallabore
  • Partizipation und Akzeptanz

Zusammen mit IFOK bearbeitet das Wuppertal Institut das Synthesefeld "Partizipation und Akzeptanz". Die Relevanz dieses Synthesefelds wird deutlich, wenn man sich vor Augen führt, dass ohne die Beteiligung der Gesellschaft eine Energiewende nicht gelingen kann. Um sie in Deutschland erfolgreich umzusetzen, ist eine grundsätzliche Akzeptanz der damit verbundenen Technologien, digitalen Systeme und Geschäftsmodelle notwendig. Dafür muss der Mehrwert der Energiewende für die Bevölkerung klar und nachvollziehbar illustriert werden. Außerdem ist die aktive Einbindung der Öffentlichkeit "auf Augenhöhe" ein zentraler Baustein dafür, dass die Bevölkerung die Energiewende mitträgt.