PEFABRA

Technical Support for the Preparation of Environmental Economic Accounts for Brazil

  • Project no.151627
  • Duration 06/2018 - 05/2019

Within the regional-local TEEB project, a Brazilian-German cooperation project, the Wuppertal Institute was commissioned by the consulting firm GITEC and the Brazilian Institute of Geography and Statistics (IBGE) to provide expert advice on a specific component of the "System of Environmental and Economic Accounting" (SEEA). The technical advice supported local actors in the implementation of national physical energy flow accounts and energy-related emission accounts as part of Brazil´s environmental economic accounts for energy (SEEA-Energy).

With this technical expertise on SEEA-Energy, the Wuppertal Institute made an important contribution to the achievement of one of the main objectives of the TEEB project (Conserving biodiversity by integrating ecosystem services into public policy and business action). Such main objective focuses on the technical support of national experts in the Brazilian Ministry of the Environment and other institutions for the implementation of concepts and methods for the assessment of the monetary value of services provided by natural capital to the economy. In addition, the focus was also on integration into national development strategies and decision-making processes of public and private actors in Brazil.

From a holistic perspective, not only the economic value of the ecosystem services, such as CO2 storage into biomass, for example, must be assessed, but it must also be integrated into the system of national accounts. To this end, the United Nations developed the system of environmental-economic accounts. Since 2012, this has been the international standard for representing and accounting the interaction between the economy and the environment. As a comprehensive information system, the SEEA also provides the necessary data to generate important parameters for monitoring socio-economic transformations in society, such as the so-called "Footprint Indicators" or SDG indicators.

PEFABRA

Unterstützung für die Erstellung von umweltökonomischen Gesamtrechnungen für Brasilien

  • Projekt-Nr.151627
  • Laufzeit 06/2018 - 05/2019

Innerhalb des regional-lokalen Projekts "Conserving biodiversity by integrating ecosystem services into public policy and business action" – kurz TEEB – einem brasilianisch-deutschen Kooperationsprojekt, übernahm das Wuppertal Institut im Auftrag der Consultingfirma GITEC und dem Brasilianischen Institut für Geographie und Statistik (Brazilian Institute of Geography and Statistics, IBGE) die fachliche Beratung zur Implementierung einer bestimmten Komponente des "Umweltökonomischen Gesamtrechnungssystems" – auch System of Environmental and Economic Accounting, SEEA, genannt. Die fachliche Beratung unterstützte Akteure vor Ort beim Aufbau von nationalen physischen Energieflusskonten und energiebedingte Emissionskonten für Brasil (Bestandteil der SEEA-Energie).

Mit der fachlichen SEEA-Energie-Expertise leistete das Wuppertal Institut einen wichtigen Beitrag, um eines der Hauptziele des TEEB-Projekts zu erreichen. Im Fokus stand dabei die fachliche Unterstützung nationaler Expertinnen und Experten des brasilianischen Umweltministeriums und weiteren Institutionen zur Umsetzung von Konzepten und Methoden für die Erfassung des monetären Wertes von Dienstleistungen, die das Naturkapital der Wirtschaft erbringt. Darüber hinaus stand die Integration in nationale Entwicklungsstrategien und in Entscheidungsprozesse öffentlicher und privater Akteure in Brasilien im Vordergrund.

Aus einer ganzheitlichen Perspektive ist zu diesem Zweck nicht nur der ökonomische Wert der Ökosystemdienstleistungen zu berücksichtigen, wozu beispielsweise die CO2-Speicherung zählt, sondern er muss in das System der volkswirtschaftlichen Gesamtrechnungen integriert werden. Hierfür entwickelten die Vereinten Nationen das System der Umweltökonomischen Gesamtrechnungen. Dieses gilt seit 2012 als internationaler Standard für die Abbildung der Wechselwirkungen zwischen Wirtschaft und Umwelt. Als umfassendes Informationssystem ermöglich das SEEA außerdem von den erforderlichen Daten zu verfügen, damit wichtige Parameter für die Überwachung der sozioökonomischen Transformationen in der Gesellschaft, wie die sogenannte "Fußabdruck-Indikatoren" oder die SDG-Kennziffern, ermittelt werden können.