IndustryEU

Climate Neutral Basic Industries EU

  • Project no.152368

Industry is accountable for about 20 per cent of the EU's annual net CO2 emissions. In the 2020s, a large proportion of European industrial installations are facing major reinvestment decisions. As these are investments in very durable capital assets, the EU must use this window of opportunity to move into climate-friendly production technologies in order to become climate-neutral by 2050.

The study "Klimaneutrale Industrie – Schlüsseltechnologien und Politikoptionen für Stahl, Chemie und Zement," jointly prepared by Agora Energiewende and the Wuppertal Institute in 2019, identified and characterised – initially with a view to Germany – key technologies for climate-neutral industrial production in the steel, chemicals and cement sectors. These key technologies can also play a central role at the European level in the transformation to a climate-neutral basic industry.

Within the project "Climate Neutral Basic Industries EU," the Wuppertal Institute supported Agora Energiewende in transferring the findings on industrial key technologies to the European level by identifying, providing, and analysing core data for the steel, chemical and cement sectors at the European level. In addition to basic statistical data (employees, production volumes, import and export volumes, CO2 emissions), this included in particular data on sites and their production capacities as well as reinvestment requirements.



Project team

Co-ordination

Staff

Client/sponsor

Cookie Settings

Cookies help us to constantly improve the website for you. By clicking on the "Allow cookies" button, you agree to the use of cookies. For further information on the use of cookies or to change your settings, please click on More about the use and rejection of cookies.

IndustryEU

Klimaneutrale Grundstoffindustrie EU

  • Projekt-Nr.152368
  • Laufzeit 07/2020 - 10/2020

Die Industrie ist für etwa 20 Prozent der jährlichen Netto-CO2-Emissionen der EU verantwortlich. In den 2020er Jahren steht ein großer Teil der europäischen Industrieanlagen vor großen Reinvestitionsentscheidungen. Da es sich dabei um Investitionen in sehr langlebige Kapitalanlagen handelt, muss die EU dieses Zeitfenster für einen Einstieg in klimafreundliche Produktionstechnologien nutzen, um bis 2050 klimaneutral zu werden.

Die im Jahr 2019 gemeinsam von Agora Energiewende und Wuppertal Institut erstellte Studie "Klimaneutrale Industrie – Schlüsseltechnologien und Politikoptionen für Stahl, Chemie und Zement" identifizierte und charakterisierte – zunächst mit dem Blick auf Deutschland – Schlüsseltechnologien für eine klimaneutrale Industrieproduktion in den Sektoren Stahl, Chemie und Zement. Diese Schlüsseltechnologien können auch auf europäischer Ebene eine zentrale Rolle bei der Transformation zu einer klimaneutralen Grundstoffindustrie spielen.

Innerhalb des Projekts "Klimaneutrale Grundstoffindustrie EU" unterstützte das Wuppertal Institut Agora Energiewende bei der Übertragung der Erkenntnisse zu industriellen Schlüsseltechnologien auf die europäische Ebene durch Ermittlung, Bereitstellung und Analyse von Kerndaten für die Sektoren Stahl, Chemie und Zement auf europäischer Ebene. Dies umfasste neben grundlegenden statistischen Daten, wie etwa Beschäftige, Produktionsmengen, Import- und Exportmengen, CO2-Emissionen,  insbesondere Daten zu Standorten und deren Produktionskapazitäten sowie Reinvestitionsbedarfen.



Projektteam

Projektleitung

Mitarbeiter/-innen

Auftraggeber/Förderer